iPhone Screenshots

What’s New

Version 2.0.28

New Features:
• Even more Chat performance updates and optimizations!
• Other performance updates and bug improvements throughout the app.

Ratings and Reviews

4.5 out of 5
3.1K Ratings

3.1K Ratings

Rogue Saint Michael ,


I really like this! It’s amazing how many people that are around the world that I can chat with. I believe that it IS completely random! I’ve chatted with people from 14 countries! The time difference is rather annoying, but that’s the way the world works... The app tells ya what local time is so you can gauge when you want to send a note. The only problem I’ve had is some of the messages don’t clear away. I mean the on app notifications don’t go away. For instance, the app will have a red number notification on the top right corner of it that indicates that you have a message when, in fact, you don’t.

Aguazales ,

Cool Concept with Period Errors Forcing Reinstall

I really like the opportunities this app provides and use it often, but I have a recurring issue where the app will get into a state where I can’t use it; every time I open it, the message “TokenExpiredError: jwt error” appears in red at the top of the screen. After a few seconds, it disappeara, but then the app just sits on the loding screen with the spinning blue compass forever. Force closing and restarting the app doesn’t help, so the only way I can get it working again is by deleting and reinstalling the app.

Once I reinstall the app it usually works fine, sometimes for over a month, but then I get the error again and have to reinstall all over. Very annoying. The worst part is that notifications continue to work while the error is being displayed, so I get notified about messages that I can’t actually read until I find the time and energy to reinstall.

If this issue were fixed, the app would be 5 stars for me though. Like I said, cool concept.

Developer Response ,

Hello! Thanks for the feedback. If you send us an email at answers@penpals.app, we’d be happy to help you with your specific issue. Thank you!

Jae Parker ,

Great, with One Exception


I just downloaded this app and so far I love it! However, if I were to make one suggestion I would ask that you alter the initial letter formatting. I tend to type quite a bit, so I was rather disappointed to see that after a certain number of lines you couldn’t see what you were typing because the keyboard was in the way. Even scrolling down wouldn’t allow you to see the very bottom of the message. I ended up becoming frustrated because I dislike being unable to check my writing as I go and wrote it instead in my notes, copying and pasting it into the box when I had finished (and earning myself the “Parrot” achievement in the process, funnily enough). While I’ll continue to use the app, I would like to be able to do so without having to use my notes every time I want to send a message to new potential friends. Other than that, this app is awesome! Keep up the great work 😊

Developer Response ,

Hi Jae! Thanks so much for the nice review and the great feedback. We are actually working on optimizing the Write screen for exactly the reason you mentioned and hope to have it released in a new update very soon. Thanks again and welcome to Pen Pals - we're glad you're here!


Pen Pals Inc.
42.5 MB

Requires iOS 12.1 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.



Age Rating
Rated 12+ for the following:
Infrequent/Mild Mature/Suggestive Themes
Infrequent/Mild Profanity or Crude Humor
Infrequent/Mild Sexual Content and Nudity
© 2018 Pen Pals, Inc. All Rights Reserved.


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like