Use Goban to play the game of go.

Play with people on the Internet go servers or your local network or against your computer (free plug-in required). Observe live pro and amateur games on IGS, the Internet Go Server.

Review and analyze games. Browse through joseki or fuseki libraries...

Goban is a powerful, simple, fast and elegant go board.

What’s New

Version 4.10

This version adopts Big Sur look for toolbars and also fixes problems saving games, editing toolbars and koma setting.

Ratings and Reviews

2.2 out of 5
15 Ratings

15 Ratings

The Original GoCat ,

Not worth it

I tried this, just so I could doublte-click a SGF file and have it open (KGS/CGoban doesn't do that.) This app is way too basic for SGF editiing. Doesn't seem to allow branching of moves (variations) in a game. Which means it's really not useful as a study tool.

I wish the developer allowed a trial version, or something, so I wouldn't have spent money on it.

Developer Response ,

Sorry to hear that you have trouble adding variations.

Contact us by email so we can pin down the problem.

boardsurfr ,

Worse than the free version

I had used older versions of Goban years ago, so I bought the app for $9.99. That was a big mistake! The free version (3.2) is still available for downloading, and works better than the purchased version. For example, the free version has help that works; the purchased version just goes to a web site that has absolutely NO information. Worse, the purchased version is completely useless for game analysis. In the free version, you can add variations and marks, which is great; in the purchased version, those items are permanently disabled.

The only thing that the purchased version has which is not in the free version is another computer go engine, named “Pachi” (the old version only has GnuGo). Pachi is stronger than GnuGo, so it can be more interesting for stronger players. However, Pachi is _not_ included in the purchase, because it is open source. You need to download and install a (free) extension package to use it.

This was a very disappointing purchase. Why did the developers not even bother to put the help files from the old version on their web site? Save your money and get the download the old, free version instead - it works better!

mcsandberg ,

Old problems have been fixed!

Don't pay any attention to the old reviews. Goban and gnugo work fine now!

The only thing not really obvious is that you have to undo back to YOUR move, of course.

All in all a good Go experience.

Note to Apple - the search for Go Game really doesn't work well.

App Privacy

The developer, Senten Sàrl, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer