Handy is the easiest way to book top-rated home cleaners and handymen, covering over 20 cities in North America, Canada, and the UK. Just tell us what you need and when you need it, then pay securely right from your phone. Manage your bookings on the go, check the progress of your bookings, and rate to help us maintain quality service.
• Top-rated professionals. Handy professionals are experienced, friendly, background-checked, and insured.
• Next-day availability. Appointments are available 7 days per week.
• The Handy Happiness Guarantee. Your happiness is our goal. If you’re not happy, we’ll work to make it right.
• 24/7 customer service.
Let Handy take care of your home service needs so you can get back to the things you love most!
Handy professionals provide the following services:
• Home cleaning and office cleaning
• Handyman services including hanging pictures and shelves, installing air conditioners, moving help, mounting TVs, interior painting, installing window treatments, and installing knobs and locks
• Plumbing services including drains, faucets, toilets, and garbage disposals
• Electrical services including light fixtures, fans, and outlets
Minor patches and bug fixes to keep your app stable, speedy, and secure. We always recommend keeping your app updated!
Ratings and Reviews
Good Concept - TERRIBLE Customer Service
I randomly had a house cleaner show up at my home at 7:00am. I didn’t schedule it, but looked on the app and it was charging me for her. I didn’t know what to do, and Handy DOESN’T EVEN HAVE A PHONE NUMBER you can call for support. So, I stood with this lady in my kitchen while we both sent emails to them (it said for urgent matters they would respond ASAP). They didn’t respond for 9 hours!!!! Plus, they won’t refund my money, will only give me a credit.
Other issue is that I had a very skeptical girl come clean my house. She showed up 1.5 hours late telling me it’s because she “had a bad dream”. She acted like she was on drugs and made me feel very uncomfortable. She sat in my kitchen eating her lunch for a while, and kept giving me her business cards and telling me Handy rips her off, etc. I was too nervous to leave a bad rating and review since this girl knows where I live. I emailed Handy and told them I would rather give them my experience over the phone instead. They never called me! Then, to make matters worse, I requested a different person the next time, and guess who they switched it to? Yep, she came back. Same sorry...late, odd behavior, etc.
If you find a good one, they aren’t around for long because Handy takes too big of a cut.
Developer Response ,
We're sorry you couldn't get matched with your top pro. Bookings don't get created randomly, if a booking is scheduled it's because you have an active Cleaning Plan, you can email our support team if you need help cancelling. As for the other pro you mention in this review, it is extremely important that customers rate honestly and let us know when situations like this occur so we can handle them accordingly. If you rate the pro high they will be able to see your bookings and can continue to add them to their schedule.
I put in a request for some yard work. I was provided one person and from his description i gathered he was not a lawn care person but more of a tile/carpentry guy. I decided to just go ahead and book him as my job was weeding and didn’t require an expert although it led me to believe this organization doesn’t have many pros to pick from. Then 5 minutes before his Friday morning scheduled arrival time he cancelled and Handy sent me a notice that they could have someone there on Monday. And then there was a ‘cancel booking’ button. I decided I would just weed the yard myself over the weekend. I thought that was the end of it until Sunday night I noticed I had a notification that a different pro was scheduled to show up Monday. Since I had cancelled the booking I was like “what the hell?” So again there was a cancel button on the app. So again I clicked “cancel booking”. Again I didn’t think anymore of it until some dude shows up at my house Monday morning to pull weeds. I had already done the work and cancelled the booking so I told him to leave that I was sorry and that I had cancelled the booking and he should have been notified. Bottom line: handy charged my credit card $83 and told me sorry there was a misunderstanding and that I could have a $10 credit on my next booking. Sorry Handy, there won’t be a next booking and I’m going to fight this. I strongly urge you to not use this app or their services.
Developer Response ,
We'd like to look further into this, could you please follow up with us at firstname.lastname@example.org? When you click cancel booking it should be completing the task, we're sorry if the booking was still confirmed.
Complete Fraud!! No one shows up, but you still have to pay to cancel.
So far in the 6 weeks I have used Handy, not a single scheduled appointment has shown up for the actual booking date. They magically ALL have had an emergency 30 minutes before the scheduled time and cancel. (Please know, more than one week there were 2 cancellations in the SAME week) Then the service rescheduled to another day only to have that person cancel as well. Or reschedule for 2 days before the next scheduled cleaning. When someone finally showed, he spoke zero English. (Was a good worker and very nice, could only communicate through google translate)
There is ZERO support. You can only Email, and they do not call you back. After being incredibly frustrated week after week, i asked why there was no phone support, they said they didn’t offer it. They will however, charge $99 to cancel a service that they have yet to provide. I’m more frustrated with the amount of time I’ve spent planning a day to be home only for no one to show up. They told me today, that everyone is an independent contractor, they can cancel anytime they want. There is no way to tell if someone is actually in my area on the day I book it, or even if they live near here. Meaning if they pick up 2 jobs on the other side of town this one gets cancelled. I have no idea how this company has been allowed to take advantage of customers like this.
Developer Response ,
We want to help you out! Let us look into why your bookings have been rescheduled. We'd like to help you get matched with a top pro. Feel free to reach out to us via email@example.com and we'll get to the bottom of this.
Ariel, Customer Experience Team
With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.