Preply: Learning any Language 4+

Learn & Speak with Teacher

Preply Inc.

Designed for iPad

    • 4.8 • 14.6K Ratings
    • Free



Ready to learn languages? Preply is a language app where you learn real skills by taking private lessons with online tutors.

EXCLUSIVE IN THE APP - Get 20% Off on Your First Lesson!
Use code APP20.

• Start by choosing an online tutor you’ll enjoy learning from.
Preply has thousands of native speakers and expert language tutors, ready to teach adults and kids at every level from beginner to advanced.

• Narrow your search by setting your budget and availability.
Preply makes online tutoring affordable by allowing tutors to set their own prices. Because our tutors live all over the world, you’ll find a tutor who can teach language lessons anytime you want to learn.

• Get to know your top matches by watching short video introductions, reading tutor profile information and checking student reviews.
You can also message tutors online through the app before you book your first lesson.

• After you find a tutor you like, book a trial lesson and get ready to learn!
We recommend taking a placement test to check your level, or at least sending your tutor a quick message about what you want to study in your language classes.

• Take your lesson anywhere via video call in the app or Preply website.
During your lesson, think about whether this tutor can help you reach your long term goals. If you don’t love your tutor, we’ll give you a lesson with another tutor free or your money back, no questions asked!

If you like your tutor, buy more lessons to continue learning with them. If you need to switch tutors, you can easily transfer your paid credits at any time.

Want to learn English online? Preply has activities and materials for you to use inside and outside of your lessons. Choose a popular course like Business English, Speaking practice, Life abroad, Test preparation, or Kids’ English, and get fun activities to do as homework. Or study vocabulary on the go with bite-sized practice exercises.

Today is the perfect day to start learning languages! Download the Preply app and prepare to speak confidently.

If you're a Preply tutor, you can use the Preply app to message students and manage your schedule on the go. To access all features for tutors, please visit using your web browser.

What’s New

Version 5.13.3

Preply just got even better! Our latest updates are designed to give you the best possible learning experience.

Ratings and Reviews

4.8 out of 5
14.6K Ratings

14.6K Ratings

Rivhard E. ,

Review for Georgia Kiritsaki

I have been studying under Georgia as a beginner for several months now. I have studied other languages for the US Foreign Service and am fluent in Arabic, Spanish and French to a certain extent. I am writing to commend Georgia for her teaching techniques and style. Even with only one lesson each week, or sometimes two per week when I can, I can feel the progress I am making. Georgia keeps her focus clearly on the areas I need to command to move beyond beginner status and ensures that I keep working to achieve those goals. She is also very supportive of the varied ideas I have to fit the program to my interests, and, finally, she is such a pleasure to spend time with each week. We both laugh at my mistakes (of which she is always 100 per cent supportive and is laughing with me, not at me, always). I finish each class having made clear progress, with a complete understanding of the next steps, and fired up with the excitement of continuing to learn under Georgia’s guidance. She is a real asset to your programs.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for your detailed feedback, Rivhard. We are happy to know that you are growing in your language level with Georgia's lessons! You may also leave feedback on your tutor's account, so the other Preply students would know more about your experience. We are sure, Georgia would be delighted to get such feedback. Happy learning!

gloria3009 ,

Do not use this app

We’ve had a terrible experience. We started with an amazing tutor that within a few weeks told us he was going to another app because preply does not treat their tutors well or supply enough students for them. My son was very disappointed but we were told to get another tutor which we did then he quit as well and went to another app and then a third tutor. Each of the tutors was wonderful but didn’t want to stay on Preply.I have politely asked numerous times to have a refund since this is not acceptable that we’ve had to change 3 tutors within two months. My son was excited to take Spanish but now after having to be bumped around so many times he has lost interest. Now I’m still stuck with Preply having my money and not giving me a refund. They kept advertising us to buy one of their packages which I bought their best and biggest package spending a lot of money. We started with another language app called a italkie and we’ve had the same tutor for the past month and he’s wonderful and told us that many of the tutors he knows don’t work with Preply because they don’t provide students for their tutors and don’t have a good system for the tutors. It’s frustrating because it’s not our fault so we should get a refund stay away from this app. They sucked me in by enticing me with a price deal if I bought a big package which I did and now I’m stuck with them having my money.

Drummer4uva72894 ,

Disappointed as a teacher

I’ve taught with Preply for nearly three years. I think the platform is great and customer service is usually quite helpful…They take a percentage from teachers because they of course help you find students and need to pay for running the company. So I totally get that…For my first two years there were no fees when withdrawing funds from my account but over the summer fees were introduced and this has been devastating. Fees seem to run from about 5-10% depending on which option you choose. So essentially it’s a been a fat pay cut for teachers…In the past I would send former students of mine from China to Preply when they wanted to continue their lessons after I left China, and I didn’t mind giving Preply a percentage because of the convenience. But now with the added fees to withdrawal, it’s not worth it for me…So I will continue to teach my students on Preply, but when I have a former student contact me to resume classes I won’t send them to Preply. I will arrange the classes on my own, because the fees are too high…You would think there’s a way Preply could help out the teachers a little more. Maybe a direct deposit to our bank to avoid the fees? Something…I hope they can find a way to resolve this. Otherwise they’re losing potential students because I will no longer send students I have taught in person to Preply.

Developer Response ,

We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We understand that Preply used to cover transaction fee for transfer as a whole however we will no longer cover withdrawal fees for tutors, charged by the payment processors.
Preply is constantly in negotiations with the service providers to ensure that tutors get the best possible deal.

Thank you


App Privacy

The developer, Preply Inc., indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Used to Track You

The following data may be used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies:

  • Purchases
  • Contact Info
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Purchases
  • Contact Info
  • User Content
  • Search History
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Diagnostics

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More


  • Wallet

    Get all of your passes, tickets, cards, and more in one place.

You Might Also Like