Description

Named by Time.com's @Techland as one of the best weather apps for your iPhone and Apple Watch.

Severe weather alerts for your exact location. Storm Shield gives you storm-based alerts for tornado, hurricane, flood, thunderstorm, winter storms and other life-threatening weather events via voice and push notification.

Storm-based alerts help reduce false alarms by alerting you to severe weather based on your exact location within a county. County-based alerts can result in false alarms, warning you when your location in the county is not within the threatened area.


What people are saying:
• Storm Shield "alerted our family of the Broken Arrow, OK tornado, faster than the TV and tornado sirens." - Robyn

• "I was in Oklahoma City during the tornado... we were right in its path. Your app literally was a life saver." - dcalk12


Benefits:
• Get voice alerts just like a NOAA weather radio via push notification anywhere in the United States.
• With Apple Watch, get a tap on your wrist when alerts are issued for your locations.
• Add Storm Shield's widget to your Today screen to get quick access to active alerts for the first location in your app.
• Touch Storm Shield's app icon on your 3D-Touch enabled iPhone for widget access.
• Hi-Def radar map is your home screen so you can quickly see what's going on at your locations.
• Fully supports Dark Mode in iOS 13.
• Long-tap on the map to get current conditions, hourly and daily forecasts.
• Save additional locations to ensure family members stay safe.

View NOAA severe weather alerts on the map to see where dangerous weather is happening:
• Tap alerts to view info
• Flood watches & warnings
• Tornadoes & Thunderstorms
• Hurricane & Tropical Storm forecast tracks
• Winter storms
• Marine & Coastal alerts
• Radar & Clouds
• Wind Speed
• Snow Fall
• Water Temperatures
• Road Weather
• Premium Weather (purchase required)
• Lightning Alerts and notifications (purchase required)


Enhance your app with auto-renewing monthly subscriptions:

• Buy 'Premium Weather' to unlock these features and see predicted imagery for these map layers:

1) Future Radar
2) Future Clouds
3) Future Clouds & Radar together
4) Future Surface Temperature Land
5) Future Surface Temperature Water
6) Future Surface Temperature Land & Water together
7) Future Wind Speeds Map
8) Storm Tracks: See how fast storms are moving & where they're headed.


• Buy 'Lightning' to unlock these 2 features:

1) Lightning strike push notifications up to 10 miles away.
2) See lightning on the map within 100 miles of a selected location.

Note:
• Payment will be charged to your iTunes Account at confirmation of purchase.
• Subscription automatically renews unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24-hours before the end of the current period.
• Account will be charged for renewal within 24-hours prior to the end of the current period, and identify the cost of the renewal.
• Subscriptions may be managed by the user and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to the user's Account Settings after purchase.
• No cancellation of the current subscription is allowed during active subscription period.
• Privacy Policy: https://www.stormshieldapp.com/privacy_stormshield_wxs.html
• Terms of Use: https://www.stormshieldapp.com/terms_stormshield_wxs.html
• Any unused portion of a free trial period, if offered, will be forfeited when the user purchases a subscription to that publication, where applicable.

Storm Shield is made possible by The E.W. Scripps Company & KNXV Phoenix, WCPO Cincinnati, WEWS Cleveland, WXYZ Detroit, WMAR Baltimore, WFTS Tampa, WPTV West Palm, KSHB Kansas City, KJRH Tulsa, RTV6 Indianapolis, KMGH Denver, KGTV San Diego, KERO Bakersfield, WKBW Buffalo, WTVF Nashville, KMTV Omaha, WSYM Lansing, WFTX Ft. Myers, WTMJ Milwaukee, WGBA Green Bay, KIVI Boise, KTNV Las Vegas, KGUN Tucson, WTXL Tallahassee, KXXV Waco, KRIS Corpus Christi.

Note: Continued use of GPS running in the background can dramatically decrease battery life.

What’s New

Version 4.12

Version 4.12

BUG FIXES:

• We fixed a map rendering bug that caused the map pins to appear to move away from their fixed locations on the map as you zoomed the map out to a broader regional or national map view.

• We fixed a bug that caused the detailed storm information for an active hurricane or tropical storm to not display when you tapped one of the storm's past or forecasted plot points on the map.

• We fixed a bug that would intermittently cause the map view to default to Omaha, Nebraska when you launched the app.

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
47.1K Ratings

47.1K Ratings

Scoot2mtns ,

Ok, so I was wrong

This is an update from my last review. If you know where to look, the features I liked about previous versions are still there. So I up-rated my review to 4 stars. The problem is that finding the forecast stuff isn’t straightforward in this version. In this version there is a fairly large button with the options “Current” and “Future”. Click on Future and basically what you get is a “Pay Up” message. To get the old forecast features, click on the little, tiny “More” in the bottom right, up comes a screen with current data plus sunrise/sunset. There is nothing to indicate that scrolling down will get you the forecast for the week that you were looking for. No slide bar shows until you actually start scrolling.

Original review - Title: Last update turned a winner into a loser

Great app but it’s really not free. With the last update it will only show you what’s happening right now. I can open the door for that. To get any forecast data (i.e., what’s going to happen), you have to buy a subscription. And it’s not clear that will even get you an ad free experience.

Developer Response ,

The features that were in the previous version of the app are still here at no additional charge, which include severe weather alerting for your current and saved locations, ability to view current conditions, daily and hourly forecasts for each of your locations, and view radar and alert polygons on the map.

In addition, there are several NEW features you get for FREE that were not available in the old app: view Clouds and Radar together on the map; Wind Speed; Snow Cover; Temperature Map; Water Temperature Map; Road Weather; Earthquakes; and the ability to view multiple severe weather layers on the map at the same time.

Also, two NEW optional paid features, Future Weather (which unlocks Future Radar, Storm Tracks, Future Temperature Map) and Lightning Strikes (which unlocks Lightning Notifications and Lightning strikes on the map), are NEW additions to the app. These are subscription-based and optional.

If you feel there is something missing that was in the previous version and is not free in this version, please let us know by filing a Support ticket from within your Storm Shield App and we’ll be happy to look into it.

kRashkin81107 ,

Subscription features

I’ve read a lot of reviews that have the same complaint I’m about to make, and I’ve also read the developer responses to the reviews.
I previously paid for this app years ago. And I get that the new version has all the same features as the previous version plus a few extra features. But the new features that require an additional monthly subscription, I don’t think it’s something that you should even be asking for an additional monthly charge for. Just have one flat fee of a few bucks to either upgrade to those features or raise the price of the initial cost of the app by a buck or two. I think the monthly charge to see future radar and lightning strikes is ridiculous. I would love to see future radar (could care less about lightning strikes), but I’m not paying .99 a month for it and I don’t think it’s fair to charge a monthly fee to see that. It doesn’t seem worth $12 a year, but I really would love to just have that feature if I could pay a couple dollars to add it if it’s that important to make a profit off of the future radar feature (lame).
Otherwise I enjoy the app. Just think the extra subscription is ridiculous.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for letting us know how you feel about the optional monthly subscriptions, and that you enjoy the app.

Rev Jude ,

A Crappy and garbage app

I am a weather observer and when I first purchased this app I thought was pretty good. I contacted them and they got back to me in reference to my questions about the radar and also hurricane tracking? Now my son they are the speakers on and they want to charge you for them. I said something to them and they didn’t like it because I feel this way when we purchased these apps we can automatically get what is the add to it. All the other apps that I have do the same thing they give it to you accept with them. This app is very in accurate and also very horrible. It doesn’t tell forecast for nothing. I depend on it from my job and also packed a storm chase in this app is horrible. I do not recommend this app anyone. Do not practice is it a waste your time it’s garbage and very crappy. I wish I never purchased this app from them because it’s horrible. They only care about making money not a good app. I recommend AccuWeather even the weather bug is very good. Also any of the NOAA radar My radar apps are very good as well compared to this crappy app. I will add one more thing I do storm chasing and that was why I decide to get this app. I am a lesson learned from this garbage. Now are use other apps that a much superior to this crap.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for providing your comments. We're sorry to hear that you're not pleased with the latest version of Storm Shield App.

Based on your comment, it sounds as if you're upset with the differences between the old v3.x app versus the new v4.x app. We'd like to clarify the differences between the two app versions.

You do not have to pay again to continue using the features in the version 4 app that you had in the old version 3 app.

In the new version 4 app, just like you had in the old version 3 app, you can still: receive severe weather alerts for your locations; see past radar imagery; view alerts on the radar map; view details of active alerts; save multiple locations; view current conditions; view hourly and daily detailed forecasts; view local TV station content (if a local media provider exists in your market).

There are several NEW features you get for FREE that were not available in the old version 3 app: view Clouds and Radar together on the map; view Wind Speed map layer; view Snow Cover map layer; view Temperature map layer; view Water Temperature map layer; view Road Weather map layer; view Earthquakes map later; view multiple severe weather layers on the map at the same time (which version 3 could not do); add more than 5 saved locations (which version 3 could not do).

Lastly, in the version 4 release, two NEW features, which are new additions to the app that did not exist in the version 3 app, are paid features which are subscription-based, and optional. These include: Premium Weather (which unlocks Future Radar, Storm Tracks, Future Temperature Map); and Lightning Strikes (which unlocks Lightning Notifications and Lightning strikes on the map).

Information

Seller
E.W. Scripps Company
Size
83.4 MB
Category
Weather
Compatibility

Requires iOS 11.0 and watchOS 2.2 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, Spanish

Age Rating
4+
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Premium Weather $0.99
  2. Lightning Strikes $0.99
  3. 30-Day Limited Offer Upgrade $1.49

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like