The Orchestra 4+

Reimagined for iPad

Amphio Limited

Designed for iPad

    • 4.4 • 21 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • Offers In-App Purchases

iPad Screenshots


A new way to experience classical music. Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts the world-renowned Philharmonia Orchestra, performing extracts from eight works representing three centuries of symphonic music.


• An orchestra at your command: Experience classical music like never before with fascinating features, including video, synchronized score, simplified score and commentary by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

• Expert explanations: World-class musicians explain their role in the orchestra and demonstrate how their instruments work. Use a keyboard to play samples of the instruments, and view each one in glorious detail with 360° rotations.

• Discover the BeatMap: This groundbreaking visualization of the performances shows different sections of the orchestra pulse in time with the music, helping you understand the complexity of each piece. Hold down your finger to hear different sections of the orchestra in isolation.

• Unparalleled access: Watch beautiful multi-camera video of the acclaimed Philharmonia Orchestra, and switch effortlessly between different angles and sections of the orchestra.

• Discover the story: Read insightful text on the pieces, composers and instruments specially written by Mark Swed, music critic of the LA Times.

The Music:

• Haydn: Symphony No 6
• Beethoven: Symphony No 5
• Berlioz: Symphony Fantastique
• Debussy: Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune
• Mahler: Symphony No 6
• Stravinsky: The Firebird
• Lutosławski: Concerto for Orchestra
• Salonen: Violin Concerto

If you enjoy The Orchestra, don’t forget to rate it and leave a review – it really helps!

What’s New

Version 1.4.6

Optimisations for iOS 12

Ratings and Reviews

4.4 out of 5
21 Ratings

21 Ratings

BlindedByScience ,

Really not worth the price

And they ask you to pay more to see the details for the pieces other than the Beethoven. Also, they are not complete. For Beethoven's 5th, they only provide the last movement.

dhth ,

Well executed

There is not a great deal of content here, which is surprising given the 2 gb size. There are extracts from 8 works. The extracts are brief, about 6 minutes each.

But it is impressive. As the piece plays you can turn on and off commentaries and follow the score or choose a camera angle.

The reviewer who complained about the in app purchase was unfair. The play alone feature is not essential to the app and besides it only costs a buck to unlock all.

The down side to the app is it makes you want so much more. I want a full piece of music done the way of the excerpt. That is now available for Beethoven's ninth by the same developer.

grubbynougat ,

Not worth it

At CAD13.00 I expect more.

In-App Purchases

Solo Audio
Hear sections of the orchestra in isolation

App Privacy

The developer, Amphio Limited, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer's privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

You Might Also Like