Canals.UK 4+

Navigate 2000+ miles UK Canals

MARK MANSER

    • 4.5 • 457 Ratings
    • Free
    • Offers In-App Purchases

Screenshots

Description

Canals.UK is a useful companion for anyone who uses the canals; boating or walking!

Navigate the 2,000 miles of UK canals. The App shows locks, bridges, aqueducts, tunnels, mooring and facilities and much more, along our canal network.

The FREE version includes:

• All the UK canals mapped with locks, bridges and facilities.
• Shows: Mile markers, Boatyards, CRT Notices, Fish & Chips, Launderettes, Canal side Pubs, local convenience stores.
• A list of all canals in a useful linear diagram which will show you where you are on a specific canal and update your location if tracking is on.
• Canal & River Trust Notices of any navigation restrictions.
• Useful phone numbers and links to websites.
• My Boat - keep relevant details about your boat.
• Get estimated boat speed, location and sunrise/sunset times.

Upgrade ‘Go Pro’ with in-App purchase includes:

• Nearby: find useful points or interest that are near your current location
• Daily Boat Log to record any diary details to show you are a continuous boater!
• Create your own Points of Interest (POI) and plot them on the map e.g. your favourite mooring spots, where to pick blackberries or favourite pub.
• Canal Rings: shows the major canal rings that you can journey along.
• Route Planner: plan a canal route and get an estimate of how long it will take.
• Boat Tracker - track your boat position even when the App is not running (obviously the iPhone/iPad needs to be on).
• TV Aerial Finder - find the location of the best reception from nearby Freeview TV masts

What’s New

Version 4.6

- Added 200+ diesel fill-up locations
- Added details of fuel boats

If you are enjoying the App then please spread the word ;)

Ratings and Reviews

4.5 out of 5
457 Ratings

457 Ratings

Haydencoffin ,

Good app with lots of potential

Easy to use with good graphics and helpful links to CRT notices. I shall definitely be using it instead of clutching aNicholson. It’s a work in progress so may I respectfully suggest three improvements. (1) could we enter start and end points by name when Route planning instead of entering canal and then scrolling along the canal (2) could we have user adjustable boat speeds and lock operating speeds . You can get these in canalplanac the free website program . And (3) it would be great if, when Route planning , the Route could pick up the relevant CRT notices in particular stoppages and navigation restrictions. Anyway thank you for a great app.

Developer Response ,

Thanks for your review with some very interseting suggestions that will be passed to our development team. We do hope you enjoy the App ;)

If after planning a route you view the route on the map (top right globe button); then you can selected to overlay the current CRT notices, this will allow you to see if any affect your planned route (hope that helps)...

Mandrake079 ,

A Good Idea Poorly Implemented

This app looks potentially useful but despite upgrading from the free version it still feels like a work in progress that doesn’t deliver anything approaching a ‘pro’ experience. For example, the route planner gives only basic distance and estimated time, without the detailed waypoint information provided by the free RCR online route planner, and there is no obvious way to save or export the information. The ability to add POIs sounds helpful but is unintuitive and there is no ‘help’ facility worth the name. Upgrading from the free version opens up the ‘Pro’ modules, but amazingly the menu still flags them as if they are restricted, and continues to display the option to ‘Go Pro’. Overall this is an expensive (£12) but disappointing app which doesn’t merit the ‘pro’ label and is nowhere near being a substitute for a Nicholson guide.

Developer Response ,

Before purchasing the 'Pro' version all functionality was available to try via DEMO parameters if you did NOT feel that the 'Pro' version was not for you, then you should have made the decision NOT to purchase. However, I will pass your concerns across to our development team to consider adding more help and functionality to a future release!

Check out the latest Version 3.6 which now has detailed 'turn by turn' canal route for the planner and the ability to save planned routes for future reference!

AndrewD214 ,

Works well, use it all the time

As an edit, this was resolved almost instantly by the developer, once contacted.

I’m really glad someone has gone to the effort of making this. However I do get very odd distances when planning. Sadly there is no developer contact on the app to report these to. An example is the 5 miles from GU Uxbridge lock to Slough Arm, Hollow Hill being shown as 202 miles. I’m sure it’s a tiny glitch that will get resolved and I’m happy to have paid for the full version. *now all fixed*

Developer Response ,

Hi Andrew, you did contact us about this issue. The new version 2.0 should have a fix for that. When you have checked it out could you update your review, thanks for your review and we hope you continue to enjoy the App!

App Privacy

The developer, MARK MANSER, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary based on, for example, the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

Lifestyle
Entertainment
Lifestyle
Utilities
Food & Drink
Food & Drink

You Might Also Like

Travel
Navigation
Travel
Travel
Travel
Navigation