Screenshots

Description

Reinvent your kitchen with Smarter! Control the new generation of Smarter products from wherever you are in, and out, of the home via the Smarter app.

Beautifully designed from the ground up, the Smarter app connects and allows full control of the latest editions of the iKettle and Smarter Coffee and FridgeCam.

Now also introducing the latest in Smarter's product recognition technology "SmarterAssist", the FridgeCam now has the ability to recognise and track items in your fridge.

Smarter app’s all-new innovative features include industry-leading BlinkUp from Electric Imp, allowing simple and secure device pairing to Smarter products in just seconds.

Use the Smarter app to also setup an IFTTT account to connect you to other smart home devices.

What’s New

Version 1.2.40

- bug fixes.

Ratings and Reviews

3.0 out of 5
89 Ratings

89 Ratings

Paul Bepey ,

Generally accessible, but, needs some improvements.

Iam registered blind, so, am generally up for any kind of smart app/device which automate processes / tasks within my home.
The setup process for the IKettle is doable with no vision, as instructions are provided throughout the installation process, however , if the Light could flash for Longer, that may assist those of us with no/little vision.

Generally, the app is hugely accessible when using Voice ove,, so, many thanks for that, it's nice to come across accessible apps by design.
Timers, temp settings etc. all appear to work as expected, Simple, Well labelled, and, easy to use.

My main frustration however is with the Alexa skill;
I purchased my device on 29th Dec 2017 and was successfully asking Alexa to boil my Kettle until around early afternoon on 31 December, when Alexa started telling me that the Kettle was not responding.
I attempted to reset both Alexa, and, also my Kettle but this made no difference.
I disabled the skill, but, have since not been able to reenable it due to what is being described as a Server error.
All in all, nice product, shame about the flaky Alexa skill.

Also, possibly rather geeky, but, any plans for an Apple Watch app?

Developer Response ,

Hello Paul,

Thank you very much for your review and suggestions!

Amazon did have issues with their server over the festive period, which has since been resolved.

Apple watch app has been requested with the development team. :)

If you have any questions or feedback please get in touch with us at support@smarter.am. We would love to hear what you think!

Best wishes,

Smarter Support

Aclifto ,

Not keeping up

Since the last update, all is working fine with regards to the app and kettle. I have updated my review to 3 stars. I am still a bit disappointed that it took so long (since iOS 12 was released up to mid November) for a fix. I’m assuming the update of iOS is what killed home mode. This is disappointing as the SDK’s are available before official release to developers and beta iOS is available as well. Getting ahead of issues like this would be a top priority for my business. I am also disappointed that there is no support for widgets on iOS (which have been available for years) instead I have to use IFTTT (a 3rd part app) for this and there is also no support for Siri Suggestions. I have been contacted by the support team and told that they are working towards this, however I cannot imagine it would be that difficult for an experienced developer. It’s a shame when a smart product falls behind in advances that make it smarter with simple software or firmware updates.

**finally Siri Shortcuts becomes available, yet the option in settings crashes the app and creates a bad Siri Shortcut that does nothing. When trying to create one manually, Smarter doesn’t come up as an available app. More disappointment from an otherwise great product with lots of potential**

Developer Response ,

*Update 5th Dec*

Sorry to hear you are having issues with Siri shortcuts, we are aware of a bug that is causing a small number of users this issue, some users have had the issue resolved by deleting and reinstalling the app and trying again, we are going to be rolling out a more permanent fix for this bug at the end of the week, if you have any other feedback please email support@smarter.am

I am writing to you with good news - our development team have now located the cause of the home mode issue you have been experiencing and established a solution!

The issue was caused by an IOS update which interfered with the Smarter app's location settings.

In order to remedy this we have developed an update which went live last week.

The update will ask you to select what location access you want to authorise within the app, please select 'ALLWAYS' if you wish to use home mode.

If you have not received this update yet please uninstall and then reinstall your Smarter app to receive it.

Thank you so much for the patience you have shown to us whilst we have been working to resolve this issue.

If you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to ask.

Brizzopoop ,

App too buggy

As a straight forward app this app works fairly well. On/off functions works well pretty much all of the time. The notification works as expected too so no complaints there. Where I do encounter issues is with the timer setting. If set to boil the kettle the following morning, the app doesn’t appear to work very well. Most of the time the alarm will activate but the auto boil seldom activates. This seems to coincide with if the phone has been left idle all night, in which case the auto boil function will not work. One of the other annoying bugs is when you try and edit a boil time or alarm, the app won’t remember the new time and settings and time. It simply defaults to whatever it was first set at. I’ve had occasions when I’ve tried repeatedly to alter and save the alarm and ended up with 10 alarms all set for one time.

Update:
Now the notifications have stopped working. So basically I can boil the water and that is it. Still waiting for the support team to reply, they’re really slow and getting back to you. I had bought a second iKettle as a Christmas gift, but at this rate I’ll be sending both back.

Developer Response ,

Hello,
We are sorry to hear you are having these issues with your iKettle!
These issues have been raised with the development team and they are working to resolve them in the next few days.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.
We are on the case!
Any questions, please email us at support@smarter.am.
Best wishes,
Smarter Support

Information

Provider
Smarter Applications Limited
Size
292.7 MB
Compatibility

Requires iOS 12.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Languages

English, German

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
Free

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like