Screenshots

Description

Air Display 3 turns your iOS screen into a wireless (or wired) display for your Mac.

Increase your productivity with extra screen real estate, or mirror your Mac computer display to your iOS device. (Sorry Windows users, Air Display is just for Macs.)

“You have a bunch of different options to turn your iPad into a second display, but we prefer Air Display as the easiest option.” — Lifehacker

For best results, connect via USB for buttery smooth graphics performance.

Air Display has two components: this iOS app and a separate free host app that you install on your Mac.

KEY FEATURES

USB Connection — For even faster, more reliable performance, you can connect your iOS device and Mac via the USB charging cable.
Pressure Sensitivity — Use an Apple Pencil, a third-party pressure-sensitive pen, or even your finger to draw or paint into pressure-aware Mac apps like Photoshop and Motion.
Pinch Zoom — Zoom in to magnify the screen. This is especially useful when drawing or painting details.
Multiple Monitors — Air Display 3 connects up to 4 iPads simultaneously for powerful multi-monitor configurations.
HiDPI — Choose Normal, Retina, or HiDPI resolution to suit your taste.
Keyboard — Type using Air Display's built-in keyboard or any Bluetooth keyboard.
Touch Gestures — You can control your Mac with intuitive iOS gestures: tap or drag to operate the mouse or tap with two fingers to right-click.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

• Host: Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) and above
• Windows is not supported
• For wired connection: USB-to-Lightning charging cable
• For wireless connection: both Mac and iOS device(s) must be on the same Wi-Fi network

RAVING PRESS

— 7 Must-Have Productivity Apps for iPad, ZDNet
— 50 Must-Have iPad Apps, TIME
— App of the Week, Accounting Today
— 100 Best iPad Apps, PCMag.com

What’s New

Version 3.2

• Air Display now fully supports macOS Mojave. Please update the Air Display Host software on your Mac! (Click the Air Display menubar icon, click the little gear icon, and select Check for Updates.)

• We’ve added new resolutions to support the latest iPhones and iPads.

• As always, we found and fixed some bugs.

We love hearing from you. If you like Air Display, please leave an App Store review for each update. Your comments really do make a difference. Have questions? Please visit avatron.com/support.

By the way, we will have something really exciting to announce in a couple of months. Please consider signing up for the Avatron newsletter at the bottom of the avatron.com home page.

Ratings and Reviews

2.8 out of 5
423 Ratings

423 Ratings

chorriado ,

Problems

Using Sierra with Air Display version 3.0.3. I've held off on giving this app a review to see if updates would fix issues but to no avail. I had version 1 a few years ago and was forced to purchase it again at version 3 for some reason. Quits after initial launch every time so have to re-launch. On the second launch it doesn't quit but there is serious lag. It's usable to reference something on another screen but I wouldn't count on being able to actually work with the documents opened on the secondary monitors using Air Display due to its lag. Haven't seen any updates in the many months I've been using it. And to top it off, it is rather pricey for a less than mediocre experience.

jday7757 ,

Very Poor With Retina iMac

I bought Air Display 3 for the sole purpose of being able to use my iPad Air 2 as a wireless mirrored display for my Retina iMac. I was hoping to be able to run many of my MacOS apps using the iPad display. The result is absolutely terrible. Despite extremely fast wi-fi many apps would even open completely when using the app. They will start to open and then the spinning color wheel just spins until I eventually have to go to my iMac and force quit the app. Also, for some reason the top menu bar on the mirrored iPad display is all black (I assume it is showing black text on a black bar which is not what my iMac displays). If I move the cursor on the iPad to the location on the black bar where a menu item should be (i.e., the Apple icon, File, Edit, etc) and select I will get the dropdown menu, but it is trial and error trying to find the right icon (since it is obviously black text on black background). Even the aspects of the app that do work have extreme lag, again making this app virtually unusable. I really wanted this app to be as good as some of the reviews state, but for me it will be deleted. I just wish I could get back the wasted $9.99 I just spent on it. It might work in other instances for people with different Apple computers and/or different needs, but for me it was a waste.

AppleGirlSam ,

Please don’t waste your precious time or money!!!!!!

I bought this app because my MacBook Air is having screen issues. I was hoping to use this so I wouldn’t have to hdmi to my tv with each use. I followed every step perfectly and once everything was installed it totally messed up my screen settings. After a frustratingly 45 min I finally got those fixed and tried to use it and I couldn’t even get it to connect to my MacBook!! I even tried the IP option with no luck. I tried using it on my iPad and iPhone as well and it wouldn’t connect to either of those! I looked up videos and watched their tutorials and tried every trouble shooting method I could find. After another good two hours of my life, I finally called it quits and removed it from every device I had. I tried emailing them for my money back and waited two or three business days for a response like the app said to do and I have yet to hear anything back. If I could have rated this lower than one star believe me I would have! No customer service at all for a product that is ten dollars too much! I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone! I’m so mad about throwing ten dollars I could have spent on food or gas, on something this pathetic!! You are literally robbing people for a faulty app! PLEASE DO NOT BUY!!!

Developer Response ,

Hi AppleGirlSam. I'm really sorry you had a bad experience with Air Display. I don't think we got any support emails from you, but if you want to give it another try, please contact me at support@avatron.com. I can help. Sometimes people get the wrong components, for example getting both the iPad client and the macOS client, rather than the iPad client and the free macOS host software. And sometimes people have connectivity issues because of firewalls, Wi-Fi routers that need a reboot, or a few other things. But I can help with that. —Pip

Information

Seller
Avatron LLC
Size
56.4 MB
Category
Utilities
Compatibility

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Spanish

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
$9.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like