▻ Do you want to learn or improve at chess?
▻ Do you want to master the most prestigious, the classiest game ever, while having fun?
It's EASY, and you can start right now!

How does it work? It's really simple: you just play! The coach shows you the moves a Grandmaster would pick. Not just one move, but the 4 best moves.

Sounds silly? Well think about it... How did you learn to talk when you were a child? Did you take grammar and spelling lessons? Of course not. You just went with the flow, because that's the most effective way to learn!

Chess Tiger allows you to do just that, AND IT WORKS!

In two minutes you start learning effortlessly. You start having fun immediately, and notice after just a few games that the right moves come to your mind naturally, as if they were obvious.

If it still sounds incredible, please read the reviews. Chess Tiger has one of the highest customer satisfaction of the App Store!

Also, Chess Tiger is the only chess app that analyzes your games to show you how to improve, and is also one of the MOST COMPLETE apps for players of all levels.

This app doesn't display any banner ad.

What’s New

Version 2019.06.1

- We have improved the variety of the games played. It should now be quite infrequent to play twice the same game opening, and this will be further improved in the next version.
- You can now choose how the moves will be separated in the analysis lines, for better readability.
- The white panel, in the "Analyze my game" mode, appears or disappears at more opportune times.
- We have fixed the "board only" mode: the coordinates (letters and digits) were not displayed correctly during this mode on iPad, and after exiting the mode on iPhone.
- We have fixed a problem that could render the "Game" menu unresponsive on iPad.
- This version includes a number of other minor improvements and fixes.

Version 2019.06.1 fixes a problem introduced by version 2019.06 (a white rectangle with no text appeared sometimes).

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
25.5K Ratings

25.5K Ratings

Writekpark ,

Bare bones.

This is a bad program.

First of all, I wasn't going to write a review even though this chess app is terrible. But EVERY SINGLE TIME I would turn on the app to play, I would get a pop up telling me about either, reviewing, or asking me to buy. And the pop-up was hilariously stupid on top of it. Each time, it would say that there was only a limited time to buy the app for a certain price. But I play this app every day sometimes and having this pop up saying they have this limited price every single day is annoying if not dumb.

Now, mind you, there is an option to choose"never" when the pop up asks you to rate the app. Does it work? Noooo. You click on never, and it keeps coming back consistently, annoyingly.

But onto the app itself. Download it for yourself. Play it for yourself. The game has very predictable moves that make growing as a chessplayer impossible with this app. I play it when I want to turn my brain off and to amuse myself sometimes but overall it is not the app to actually grow and learn from.

Improve the algorithm for moves on your stupid game, stop with the pop ups every single time someone wants to play, and when you have an option for the player to turn off pop-ups stick to your guns and give them that option.

(Review written via voice transcription)

RenoTribeFan ,

Very disappointing update

When going to settings and clicking on the link saying I have zero free games left, the developer says something like, “Let’s be honest, we offer the free version in hopes that you will purchase the paid version”.

Unfortunately, your paid version is $10 (which is from your a “limited time” offer of 50% off - haha). Not many people are paying $10 for a chess app. I would pay a few bucks, but that’s all. I think many people are like me in this regard. Obviously, the developer is overvaluing the price of this app and thinks that eliminating the free version will drive people to purchase the overpriced pro version. That won’t happen, but hey, that’s his right.

So instead of having a reasonably priced game which many people would buy (because it’s a great app), they make the free version useless and alienate all of the loyal players who would’ve paid if it was priced reasonably. Now it’s on to searching for another chess’s not like there aren’t a million others to choose from. Sure seems like a poor decision on their part. Five people paying $3 for the app (and recommending to their friends) is better than one person paying $10. Just sayin’.

Developer Response ,

Good news: you do not need to purchase anything! For most players, this free app DOES NOT EXPIRE and provides a real challenge! You can learn chess and work your way thru the first 15 levels of difficulty FOR FREE! After this, you are stronger than most of the chess players out there! Yes, for free.

It's sad that you missed how much we have improved this app recently.

It comments your game while you are playing and gives you positive feedback. You can turn this off, but most reviewers note that it is a very useful feature. And it's free.

After the game, it shows you both your good moves and your bad ones. This is an invaluable tool. This feature mimics a Grandmaster analyzing your game and flagging the most interesting positions. It took us one full year of hard work, and a lot of love, to fine-tune this. It is the most advanced chess analysis tool available for iOS, and you can use it for free! By focusing on your strong and weak points, you will improve your game very quickly.

If you are an advanced player or you really are into chess, you can purchase one of our other chess apps. We sell one for $3.99 and the most advanced one is currently $4.99!

111chess111 ,

Download another game-Disappointed with the Update

I downloaded this game in the Summer of 2018 and loved it. You could work your way from lower to higher level Computer Opponents to improve your skills. Each time you met the requirement you got a token to use a pro-feature like setup position, analysis, playing a game with your friend. It gave you a taste of the Pro-version that would convince anyone to buy it because it was a good app. But then they updated it.

With the update they cut the features I used to use. You will have 10 free credits to play some good games and higher level opponents but then it’ll water the game down more and you will have minimal features. Can you even really get into the apps features with 10 games? Or will you spend it trying out the features only for it shut those off when you run out. All the new info says “we just want you to buy the pro version” instead of what they offered before. I get you made the app to make $ but I know people who bought it because of the quality of the lit-version. It didn’t feel like a bait and switch before but now I’m disappointed.

Developer Response ,

Many people disliked the token system you are talking about , so we felt we had to remove it. Reading your review, it's obvious that you can't make everyone happy...

You should try our latest update. We have changed how it works.

App Privacy

The developer, Christophe Théron, has not provided details about its privacy practices and handling of data to Apple. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

No Details Provided

The developer will be required to provide privacy details when they submit their next app update.


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like