Screenshots

What’s New

Version 1.22

Now with better handling of network errors.
Make sure the app is allowed and can access the internet during the first start, so that it can download additional data like scenes and terrain.

Ratings and Reviews

2.9 out of 5
10 Ratings

10 Ratings

Hanson24 ,

Overpriced “park your boat” game. Not for sailors.

Unfortunately I paid for a subscription. Although they allow you to test the application to see if it works on your system, they do not allow you to adjust any of the conditions to test the fidelity of the simulation. I am a professional skipper and flight instructor and highly value the use of simulation and training both for myself and my students. The developers claims they spent two years on the physics, yet somehow forgot to model the wind. They truly have no concept that sailing vessels have windage. The boats in this “sim” remain in place unless subjected to gale force winds, and the bow is never blown down as occurs in all sailboat because of the greater windage off the bow. Additionally, there is no rudder/prop effect. Boats behave as if they all have twin rudders not allowing any slow speed turning without reverse.
Graphics are quite nice but you are essentially paying for a ‘park your boat’ game which can be purchased for $.99 or less. Save your money. A much better app is the same developers 2d version which actually simulates wind and has saveable scenarios . How the developer can charge this much money for a sailboat “simulator” that does not even model wind is beyond me. The scenery looks nice but is extremely limited in variety, for example, none of their sceneries even contains “finger jetties” i.e. ‘narrow docks’ for practice, as found in marinas all over the world.
Additionally, all scenarios return to their default state, specifically, you cannot save any changes. Therefore no matter where you position the boat or how you set the wind it will always return to the games(sic) initial position.
Line positions are not controllable, specifically, they will always attach to the point closest to the boat completely eliminating the ability to practice eg. spring-line departures and other situations where lines might need to be attached further from the boat cleat. If you attempt a spring-line departure, even after doubling up fenders, the boat will self-destruct against the dock, restarting the scenario.
If they truly spent two years on the physics, I would suggest they hire someone that has spent at least one hour on an actual sailboat.

Developer Response ,

hi,
interesting report but I think a lot is not very fair not to say wrong. We are sailors and we do know about sailing vessels. Yes, the wind is affecting bow and stern with different forces. You can try this by setting it to 20kts and just let the boat be. Though, every boat behaves differently and we understand that having some buttons to adjust more parameters might be a good idea.
There IS a propwalk effect! The direction and strength can be adjusted in the boat settings as well as the keel length.
We will add more scenes in the future. Please feel free to send us some locations (google maps) or fotos of harbours you would like to see in the app.
Linehandling will be switchable to an in-world handling. In fact, we had this before and most people could not handle that.
It‘s great to have professionals helping us. You could also join the beta program.

Neighbor Steve ,

Way over priced

Does the developer really need $15/year from everyone to share all the features required to make a realistic simulation? I don’t think so. Don’t waste your time even downloading this until the price structure changes!

Developer Response ,

We are a tiny company. The App did not manifest out of thin air by itself. I can give you a teamviewer session taking you through the code and show you how complicated it is to create an app like this.

TYJO2995 ,

Overpriced

This app is limited although decent. But there are bugs. This app should cost $1.99 not $12.99

Information

Seller
sfinx-it GmbH
Size
138.5 MB
Category
Games
Compatibility

Requires iOS 10.1 or later. Compatible with iPhone 5s, iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6S Plus, iPhone SE, iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone 11 Pro Max, iPad Air, iPad Air Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 2, iPad mini 2 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Air 2, iPad Air 2 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 3, iPad mini 3 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 4, iPad mini 4 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9-inch), iPad Pro (12.9-inch) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (9.7‑inch), iPad Pro (9.7-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad (5th generation), iPad (5th generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9‑inch) (2nd generation), iPad Pro (12.9‑inch) (2nd generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (10.5‑inch), iPad Pro (10.5-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad (6th generation), iPad Wi-Fi + Cellular (6th generation), iPad Pro (11-inch), iPad Pro (11-inch) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9-inch) (3rd generation), iPad Pro (12.9-inch) (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini (5th generation), iPad mini (5th generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad Air (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad (7th generation), iPad (7th generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2019 sfinx-it GmbH
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Boat Settings $1.99
  2. Weather $1.99
  3. Thrusters $1.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like