EUmiesaward 4+

Mies van der Rohe

Designed for iPad

    • Free



Find and visit the best architecture in Europe

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe encourages everybody to find and visit the works included in the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award with the EUmiesaward App.
Colours group works by program and stars identify them as nominated, shortlisted, finalists or winners.
Next updates will incorporate works from previous and future editions highlighting the best European architecture since 1988.
More information at and

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award is granted every two years to acknowledge and reward the best architectural production in Europe.
In this way, the Award draws attention to the major contribution by European professionals to the development of new ideas and technologies. The principal objectives are to achieve a thorough understanding of the transformation of Europe’s built environment; to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture (in conceptual and construction terms) and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas, the clients who support them and the citizens that enjoy them.

Initiated in 1987 after an agreement between the European Parliament and the Barcelona City Council, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award has been co-organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the European Commission since 2001.

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was created in 1983 with the aim of reconstructing the German Pavilion that Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created for the 1929 International Exhibition. The foundation fosters debate on and awareness of themes related to contemporary architecture and urban planning, as well as encouraging studies on the work of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and on the Modern Movement.

Creative Europe is the European Commission's framework programme for support to the culture and audiovisual sectors. The cultural and creative sectors embody Europe’s immensely rich and diverse cultural heritage, and contribute to the development of our societies. These sectors play a big role in the European economy and help generate growth and jobs.

A large number of independent experts, the national architecture associations from all the participating countries and the Advisory Committee nominated the projects that will compete for the Prize and the Emerging Architect Prize. The Jury makes a Shortlist and afterwards chooses the Finalists that will be visited to decide the Winner. It is also granted a special mention to the Emerging Architect.
The Granting Ceremony will take place on May 26 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona with the Winners, the Finalists, the Jury members, the clients of the works, authorities from the European Commission and Parliament and the Barcelona City Council and all those people who support an architecture that responds to the needs of our century.

The Prize Winner receives 60.000€ and a sculpture that evokes the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. Professionals starting out on their careers have the opportunity to become an Emerging Architect Winner, and receive the sculpture together with 20.000€.
The prestige of the Prize and the determination to disseminate the knowledge and savoir-faire of European architects is brought forward with a catalogue publication and the organization of exhibitions and debates worldwide, and also with this App bringing architecture nearer to citizens.

What’s New

Version 1.3

This app has been updated by Apple to display the Apple Watch app icon.

Data base updated

App Privacy

The developer, Mies van der Rohe, has not provided details about its privacy practices and handling of data to Apple. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

No Details Provided

The developer will be required to provide privacy details when they submit their next app update.

You Might Also Like