Express Scribe Pro Transcription Software is a professional audio player software for Mac OS X designed to assist with the transcription of audio recordings.

Install Express Scribe for OS X and control audio playback using a transcription foot pedal or keyboard with "hot keys". This transcripton software also includes important features for typists including variable speed playback, multi-channel control, playing video, file management, and much more.

Express Scribe Pro features:

* Variable speed playback (constant pitch)
* Supports audio and video playback
* Plays most formats including encrypted dictation files.
* Supports professional USB foot pedals to control playback.
* Uses 'hotkeys' to control playback when transcribing into other software (e.g., Word)
* Dock both analog and digital portable voice recorders to load recordings
* Works with all major word-processors
* Automatically receives and loads files by internet (FTP), email or over a local computer network
* Automatically sends typing to those who dictated the work
*Supports the DSS file type

Express Scribe Pro for Mac OS X is the perfect software for helping professionals improve their transcription productivity.

What’s New

Version 8.20

Added support for DSS files
Minor bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

3.3 out of 5
8 Ratings

8 Ratings

TruthwChrist ,

I can now recommend this application after developer assisted

The problem turned out to be that my foot controller had to be plugged into my Mac Pro USB port itself. It would and will not work from an external USB Hub, even a powered USB external hub, nor will it work from a splitter off my Mac Pro USB port. This is similiar to the external CD writer Apple sells which ONLY works plugged into the Mac USB itself. The strange thing is this foot pedal works just fine w a program called “f5” made in Europe. So I do not think iyt is a footpedal issue needing more power… but the Application itself designed to only work plugged into the port on the Mac computer. This is difficult as one must unplug something else to use this App/Footpedal.

As far as the performance, now that I can get the app to work, I will have to rank it 3-4 stars - gave the benefit and made it 4. The Foot control mapping does not always do what you map it to do. For example, if I map both left and right switches to jup back or forward 5 seconds… the right one will work but the left just rewinds as long as you hold the switch (left pedal switch) down… even though you mapped it for a 5 sec jump. This is a bug and needs to be fixed.

If the App is updated to allow pedals to run off powered hubs and the mapping is fixed for my “Infinity” pedal, I could give this a 5 star… let’s hope so as this is a good App now and could be a great App!

Developer Response ,

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into all of these issues that you mentioned. The free version of Express Scribe will not work with the Infinity foot pedal, but the paid version does. We apologize that you had these problems and hope you can reach out to our support team who would be happy to find a solution for you here:
-NCH Software Team

islander-whidbey ,


I thought I was purchasing a speech-to-text app in the same vein as "Dragon Dictation" or "Notes", or whatever coding supports this function when I dictate a SMS into my phone, but I was just buying a slow-downer. CAPO 3, a free app I had download a few minutes prior, isolates phrases very well already, allowing for a human transcriber to type away as it goes over the speech in a loop pattern. I am frustrated by the APP store's automatic denial, will try to get in touch with the developper to explain my issue. I think it revolves around misleading representation. I hope the Develloper hears my plea with sympathy, I really just have one document I'm working on, and if empathetic, I will upgrade my review to Five Stars, as it's likely a great tool, if you have the slow down pedal and work as a scribe already.

Developer Response ,

We are very sorry for the confusion. While our app does have a speech-to-text function, the primary function of it is to improve manual transcription work, especially with pedals as you mentioned. Please open a ticket here so that we can try to resolve this issue for you:
We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to hear from you soon.
-NCH Software Team

bskcase ,

Awful Customer Support

Paid $50 and the app quit loading my wav files on my mac. I have contacted support multiple times. Waste of money.

Developer Response ,

Hello there,
we are sorry to hear you are having issues with your software. Our Support Team strives to respond to all Support Requests by email within 48 hours during the business week. Our Support Team will reply to your Support Request by email as soon as possible. If you use an email provider with a strong spam filter, you may need to check your 'junk' or 'spam' folder in order to locate the response from Support. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
-NCH Software Team


NCH Software
7.7 MB

OS X 10.7.3 or later, 64-bit processor



Age Rating


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer