Getaround - Instant Car Rental 4+

Rent and unlock with the app

Getaround, Inc.

    • Free

iPhone Screenshots

Description

Getaround makes carsharing easy! Instantly rent and unlock great cars nearby from your phone.

Our car rental platform provides over 5 million users with instant access to car rentals, by the hour or day. Own a car? Make $1,000s to offset the high costs of car ownership by sharing your car on Getaround.

Joining is easy. Just download the app and start renting a wide variety of cars, from a Toyota to a Tesla––no subscription is required. Insurance and roadside assistance are included.

Find and book the perfect car for any occasion for as low as $3 an hour––Getaround is your transportation solution for road trips, errands, commutes, and weekend getaways.

Unlock with your phone, and you’re ready to go. IT’S GO TIME.

What’s New

Version 6.45.0

We are constantly updating our app to make sharing on Getaround easier than ever. Every update includes improvements in performance and reliability.

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
23.2K Ratings

23.2K Ratings

jb renter ,

Nifty Service, so-so App experience

Been a regular user of this service and am a big fan. There are a lot of vehicle options in Chicago area. The ability to access a car at any hour of the day/night is fantastic; much more useful than the traditional car rental service.

Not thrilled with the rental-end-of-trip experience as the App process is very inconsistent. The experience is pretty good when ending your trip early. You get to record your fuel level (handy because recently most of my rentals have not had a full tank at the beginning). When ending your trip at the end of your rental, the App navigation is crap. It doesn’t present the same end-of-trip options. Lastly, the App should let me rate my trip when I end my trip. But, no, it asks me to rate my last trip the next time I use the app—sometimes weeks or months later.

Make the trip end process consistent every time. Let the renter rate the car at that moment. And provide the renter the option to get credit if they actually fill up the car even though the car was not full at the beginning of the trip; this last feature would allow the rental community to improve the experience for everybody, other renters and even the car owners.

mnbvc76513 ,

Raggedy cars

I rented a 2020 Nissan Altima from this app one Saturday afternoon until Monday well the transmission ended up failing 7hrs into the trip I reached out to customer service (there’s not a phone #) for you to call regarding these people cars but I digress. Anyway the transmission went out so I drove it to my house they told me they wanted me to pay to have the car towed back to the owner and once he checked the car out I would maybe probably they weren’t for sure get a refund, My main issue was would I be able to get refunded because the car malfunctioned 7hrs into my trip it’s been a week and I haven’t even so much as received a email from them. I never received any information about this issue I was never refunded nor compensated for the issue regarding the transmission going out on the vehicle 7 hours after my rental started, I submitted pictures they even made me check the oil and send a picture I also risked my life driving the raggedy car back to the owner. I paid to have the car from Saturday until Monday morning but the car transmission failed 7 hours into the rental and NO ONE HAS REACHED OUT TO ME. I will be forwarding all emails between us to the BBB aswell as my attorney regarding this matter. Since this company has not tried to reach out to me. P.s all the cars in Dallas smell like weed

Update, so it’s been well over a week I haven’t heard anything back from Getaround, there is no phone number to call them and they will not respond to your emails.

Developer Response ,

Hi,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take all feedback seriously and use it to better our product and services. We're really sorry that your experience was less than stellar. Please continue to work with the agent assisting you to resolve your issue. We have noted your feedback points and have shared them with our internal team for further review.

The Getaround Team

ButtMunchMcGee ,

DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE

I rented a car and took it about 100 miles to another town for a day trip. I refueled in said town and just as I put my foot on the brake the brake line pops. I call Getaround support (which you can only call them if you have an active reservation) and explain that my brakes no longer worked and she told me it must’ve been me needing brake fluid and that she had to call the owner so I can replace it. This was my 2nd customer service rep. After I inspected further I found brake fluid leaking and knew I had no brakes. Called my 3rd rep to try and repost that I cannot drive the car and she did not listen and said that I have to wait for confirmation to buy brake fluid to refill the car (customer service rep 3). So 4 hours later and 4 reps later I finally get told that they will call a tow truck and that I could go home and that everything will be handled. I waited 4.5 hours in total for help, got useless help from 6 different customer service reps, and they ended up towing the car 5 MINUTES DOWN THE ROAD from where it was broken down so I could’ve taken it there when the issues first started but no they didn’t wanna lose money. Oh yes and now that I’m trying to get a refund since this all happened on the first day of renting the car, it’s only through email you cannot call them if you don’t have a reservation. After I get my money back I will never us this service again and I’ll never recommend them to anyone

Developer Response ,

Hi ButtMunchMcGee,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that the car you reserved suffered a maintenance issue and our customer support inadequately explained the process and next steps. Once the car has completed it's mechanical inspection, our Claims team will follow-up with you regarding your refund request.

Thank you.

App Privacy

The developer, Getaround, Inc., indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Used to Track You

The following data may be used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies:

  • Contact Info
  • Usage Data

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Purchases
  • Financial Info
  • Contact Info
  • Contacts
  • User Content
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data
  • Diagnostics

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Location
  • Diagnostics

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

You Might Also Like

Travel
Travel
Travel
Travel
Travel
Travel