Give Us The Floor 12+

Supportive Group Chat

Give Us The Floor

Designed for iPhone

    • 4.1 • 56 Ratings
    • Free

iPhone Screenshots

Description

Peer support for US teens experiencing challenges. Supportive Group Chats are safe, anonymous, adult-free online spaces where teens support each other without fear of stigma, taboo or shame. Members share daily life struggles, insights and accomplishments, encourage each other and provide non-judgmental feedback. Each group chat consists of 12 -15 teens, with 1 or 2 trained as facilitators.

When you sign-up, you will be able to choose between 3 main group focuses: Mental health, LGBTQIA+ and Life Challenges.

88% of the participants report the group chats helped with their struggles and 79% reported that the group chat helped them feel less lonely. 98% report they feel safe sharing their personal challenges in their group chat.

Becoming a facilitator
If you’re interested in becoming a facilitator and earn up to 5 hrs of community service per month, you first need to be an active participant for a minimum of 2 weeks before being eligible to train.

Some testimonials amongst thousands:
“It's kinda like having a net there when you fall or are falling to stop the fall or at least slow it down.”

“It's like, if the weight of the world has been lifted off of your shoulders because you have people to share the burden with you now.”

“It feels like you have a place where people will understand you and not judge you for being yourself.”

“It feels comfortable to talk about your problems knowing no one will tell anyone else.”

“I know I'm not alone.”

What’s New

Version 1.1.1

Performance enhancements.

Ratings and Reviews

4.1 out of 5
56 Ratings

56 Ratings

Javana Foster ,

Highly Recommend

This app is an incredible way for youth to express thoughts, emotions, questions, or even just a way to communicate in a non judgmental environment. With youth running the group chats and adult supervisors there for assistance when needed. It gives the youth and opportunity to share and learn from each other in a safe environment! It also provides a way for individuals to earn service hours by becoming a chat facilitator. I would highly recommend referring this app to someone who would benefit from it along with trying it out yourself!

curiousbraincell ,

Its really bad not made well

So I downloaded this app to possibly make new friends and join groups. And while i did end up in a group you are only allowed to be in just that one they assigned you. The people in my group were rude and hateful and it was obvious it was just not a good fit. It made me sad because i had waited almost a month for them to assign me to this room when they said it should take no more than 10 days. And when I contacted support about being assigned a new group they basically said i was stuck with the one i had. Then i tried to report someone who was extremely mean to me when i was put in the room and then they continued to insult me and they were racist and homophobic against me even though this app is supposed to be lgbtqia+ friendly. Support did nothing about this and said it was my fault fir angering the other person when i had done nothing but introduced my self and told them my sexuality and pronouns. So basically if your lgbt and are thinking of getting this app dont waste your time its really set up bad and does not have a good system to group people.

Developer Response ,

Hi there, we’re so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience! We do ask our participants to stay in their groups for at least seven days (unless there is a serious issue) to give the group a chance to bond before we regroup a new member, but we definitely regroup folks upon request! GUTF does not tolerate racism, homophobia, transphobia, or any kind of bullying behavior in our group chats, and we keep records of all communication between our staff and our members. We were unable to locate any records indicating the conversation you reported in your review, but we would certainly love to hear more specifics about what transpired so that we can address it. If you change your mind and would like to try another group, or to tell us more about your experience, we encourage you to send us an email at info@giveusthefloor.org.

Iphone guy4729 ,

Ehhhh

A few months ago I decided to download this app because of a AD on Instagram.
So, I go through the steps and make a account.
Eventually, it says that I have to wait to be put in a group. That’s fine however, I don’t like the idea of being CONFINED to one group. I would appreciate the fact that there would be the possibility of being in more than one group. That would make the service better.
I also dislike app/texting layout and it looks like it needs some improvement. It’s a really great start but bad execution.
Then I was basically pinned on the fact that I needed to do a survey for the app, I was annoyed that I got a “reminder” to do it.
But then I got three texts in a row regarding on becoming a filclator and “reminders” about it. So I’m like you know what, I don’t like them texting me so I text “STOP” then, I’m told that if I confirm my stop, I get removed from my group. So then I said no. And keep in mind the organization can message through the app it’s self. My inbox was empty.
Then my biggest pet peeve, which made me uninstall the app was the fact that I was getting texts regarding I need to do my part and text be active in my group. Like i get that but I don’t need a reminder for it. But something about the texts I’ve been getting make me uncomfortable. It’s almost like I’m getting punished for not partispaibgg in my group.
Overall it’s an okay app, but really wouldn’t recommend.😑

Developer Response ,

Thanks for this feedback! A couple things to keep in mind about how our service works: it is accurate that we only allow members to be in one group at a time due to space limitations, but we definitely allow regrouping if you find that your group is just not a fit. We provide our supportive group chats as a free service, but our ability to do this is contingent on donor dollars, so we ask our members to participate in anonymous surveys which provide us with valuable metrics that we can share with our donors so that we can keep providing this service. For our participants, this is optional. We were experiencing issues sending out DMs in our app shortly after launch, but this has since been resolved. Finally, we do ask that members who sign up remain active in their groups. That’s one of our hard and fast rules, because if you aren’t actively participating in the group, there are others who will participate and who really need your spot. It’s not meant as a punitive measure but it helps us keep the groups alive and prevents people from “lurking.” You’re more than welcome to sign up again if you find that you have more time to really make use of the group chats and plan to be more active in them. Shoot us an email at info@giveusthefloor.org and we’re happy to get you restarted!

App Privacy

The developer, Give Us The Floor, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info
  • User Content
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data
  • Sensitive Info
  • Diagnostics
  • Other Data

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

You Might Also Like

Social Networking
Social Networking
Social Networking
Social Networking
Social Networking
Social Networking