Kaal: Freshbooks Timekeeper 4+


    • 3.0 • 14 Ratings
    • $39.99



Kaal is your friendly, neighborhood, full-featured MacOS desktop timer for Freshbooks. Got lots of clients? With Kaal, you can keep track of all of them utilizing multiple timers, on different projects. Don’t lose a second of your hard work!

- Customizable hotkeys
- See multiple timers in your menu bar simultaneously
- Hotkeys to start and stop individual timers
- The power of Freshbooks with the convenience of a desktop app
- Better User Experience, with a simplified design
- Syncs with the Freshbooks app
- Time entry history
- Idle time detection
- Anti-procrastination reminders
- Save between days, even if your machine is turned off
- App support for bug fixes

What’s New

Version 1.2.3

Bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

3.0 out of 5
14 Ratings

14 Ratings

Silverwolff ,

Necessary, but a rip-off and no support

It's exactly like Chronomate, which I'd already paid for, and now I have to pay again for this new app, and $40 is quite a lot. Plus, there is NO SUPPORT. Every support link and help link in the app itself and in the app store links to their homepage, which only has a link to "get kaal" in the app store. No email, no helpdesk, no nothing. Abruptly, today, the app stopped syncing with Freshbooks. It just shows a spinning wheel, but won't pull or push. Normally, I'd email support for an app, rather than posting a 2-star review, but what other choice do I have? None. Please fix the app and please create some kind of support access.

LaneSplitPersonality ,

A travesty at $40: massive flaws, no response to support requests

First, is it ridiculous to pay $40 for what is essentially non-browser front-end for Freshbooks? Absolutely. But the new Freshbooks interface is so clunky and inefficient I was desperate for options before giving up and migrating to another platform, since I've been tracking and billing in Freshbooks for about ten years.

The primary issue is that Kaal duplicates instances of services/items for each client where the item is present. So if you have ten clients each with ten services they can be billed for, you have a *massive* dropdown to contend with when setting up a timer or tracking time. It manages to be *worse* than the Freshbooks web interface, if you can imagine that.

I've done the usual troubleshooting: disconnecting and reconnecting to Freshbooks, reinstalling the app, screwing around with the settings at great length. Nothing works. There's no support link in the app or on the Kaal site, the FAQ link in the app is broken, and emails to the developer detailing the issue and requesting support have gone unanswered.

I've requested a refund from the Apple App Store and recommend avoiding this app.

Developer Response ,

Sorry about that -- for support, please email us at hello@kaal.app.

We've fixed the dropdown bug in our latest release.

Southwo8 ,


We were heavy users of the old Chronomate app, and when that was discontinued we were concerned since our team used that a lot. I'm glad someone picked up the torch with Kaal, we use it everyday and it works pretty well. UI is basically identical to Chronomate, which our team is used to, but if you never used Chronomate I can see how it might take some getting used to.

Kaal has a few quirks but overall works well and I am glad it exists!

App Privacy

The developer, ACG V&E, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More


  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members can use this app with Family Sharing enabled.