Screenshots

Description

LogTail is an OS X app to view and monitor local and remote log files on linux servers (using SSH), view data over TCP/UDP connections, or any plain text file in a simple, clean and unified interface!

It reads log files and outputs their contents as they change, and can follow or "tail" the file in a way similar to the Unix 'tail' utility (tail -f)

LogTail is helpful in monitoring application and system log files which are updated constantly at runtime.

It allows you to set up filter and highlight rules that can be used to hide or colorize lines with matching search terms. This allows you to focus on the important data in your log files! You can also enable notifications to be alerted when matching text is found in the log file.

In addition you can:
------
* Manage and browse remote SSH server hosts
* Listen to TCP/UDP connections and tail incoming data (act as syslog/rsyslog receiver)
* Bookmark and Search remote log files
* Share local log files as Mail message attachment or Messages instant message (or via AirDrop or add to Notes (Sharing toolbar item))
* Bookmark lines within a file
* Handle log files generated with ANSI color codes
---------
To our dear customers - if you have any feedback / comment / feature request / encounter any issues, please contact us using the 'Email Support' menu under Help. We would love to hear from you!
_______

What’s New

Version 4.3.1

Bug fixes:
* Fix bug in True Filtering feature
* Fix performance issue when loading lines

Ratings and Reviews

2.5 out of 5
14 Ratings

14 Ratings

thom06 ,

Not what's advertised

One, the app hasn't been updated to support Mojava Dark mode which is annoying.

Two, the SSH configuration is strange, why do I need to input a public key file? Any other SSH client I've used only requires the private key. I've attemped to create a public key file based on the AWS public key but it doesn't seem to work, maybe I'm just missing something though.

Three, I was hoping this application could open Windows Event logs, but it doesn't appear to support that feaure.

KWLan ,

Need to get a refund, not working

Took a chance but it's not working in any meaningful way, can't connect to a remote system though I can with any other of 6 tools in use. No messaging useful to troubleshoot issue, pretty much a student project with enough polish in UI choices to present as a more mature tool than it actually is,
Nowhere near any functionality worth $14, and I have no interest in paying $14 and then having to help troubleshoot the product. Apologies if this is a tough message but, the truth is, really need to have something more polished/more robust than this to offer as an actual product. And, as I have paid the $14 plus the several hours trying to get it to work, I'm now in, well over $150 when I could have been working and earning that and more.
So, please provide a refund, and don't take these comments too hard, you're well on your way, just put in some more effort to get it to the point that justifies the price, could be a great tool, if you do.

Developer Response ,

Thanks for your feedback. If you had contacted us for support we could have identified what the issue was and tried to resolve it sooner. The Help has information on how to debug remote connectivity issues. There are many many users who are successfully using this app to view remote server logs so obviously the functionality is not broken.
Please visit https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204084 for information on how to get a refund.

WIllum1034 ,

Fast Dev Response

I sent an issue in the other day and had a response in a matter of hours. Withing a few days they released improvements with in days.

The product is not without its warts, still a bit slow and crashes with big files. Overtime it has gotten worse, not better. I would have given 4 stars about a year ago.

Kudos for the fast response to my issues.

Developer Response ,

Hi, sorry to hear about the issue you were facing. Please upgrade to v4.0+ as there were some improvements and fixes done to make the app more robust. If you are still seeing any issues please send us an email at support@logtailapp.com. Thanks!

App Privacy

The developer, Stratumsoft Technologies Private Limited, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.