Screenshots

Description

MarineTraffic displays near real-time positions of ships and yachts worldwide.
Using the largest network of land-based AIS receivers, the app covers most major ports and shipping routes.

• View VESSELS ON THE LIVE MAP, search for ships, boats and seaports and see what's near you!
• More than 170,000 VESSELS PER DAY report their positions via MarineTraffic AIS
• View live wind and 48-hour WIND FORECASTS on the map
• ANIMATED PLAYBACK of vessel's track
• PORT ARRIVALS & DEPARTURES live for over 4,000 ports and marinas, current conditions in ports and estimated time of arrival for the boats & ships.
• Manage your list of vessels ("MY FLEET"), shared with all your devices and MarineTraffic.com
• Browse 2.5 MILLION PHOTOS of ships, harbours, lighthouses and more!
• Upload photos to MarineTraffic directly from your device.

• Identify and track vessels sailing beyond the range of land-based AIS receiving stations, using satellite tracking, with ACCESS PLUS 24 (in-app purchase)
• Identify vessels around you at a glance with the AUGMENTED REALITY tool (in-app purchase)
Just point your device's camera to the horizon and get all the information you need about vessels, ports and lighthouses in your area: name, flag, speed, distance from you and a lot more.
• Use the ROUTE PLANNER tool to plan a route on the map, measure distances and calculate ETA (in-app purchase)
• MarineTraffic now offers auto-renewable subscriptions for Nautical Charts, Weather Maps and Advanced Density Maps:

Get access to the marine environment with Nautical Maps
- Pilotage information such as sea bed, sea marks and landmarks
- Port details such as berths, dry docks and terminal location
- Position and characteristics of buoys, lights, lighthouses
- Depths of water and heights of land

Subscription name: Nautical Charts Monthly
Cost: $2.99 (USD)
Duration: 1 month
Renewed every month i.e. you will be charged monthly

Subscription name: Nautical Charts Annual
Cost: $29.49 (USD)
Duration: 1 year
Renewed every year i.e. you will be charged annually


Unlock real-time & forecast weather information with Weather Maps
- Wind contours
- Wind flow & gusts
- Temperature
- Wave metrics
- Clouds and Precipitation
- Ocean currents
- More than 20 key metrics
- 7-days sea meteogram

Subscription name: Weather Maps Layers Monthly
Cost: $8.99 (USD)
Duration: 1 month
Renewed every month i.e. you will be charged monthly

Subscription name: Weather Maps Layers Annual
Cost: $95.99 (USD)
Duration: 1 year
Renewed every year i.e. you will be charged annually


Advanced Density Maps
- Dig into global shipping traffic data, filtering by vessel type and size.

Subscription name: Advanced Density Maps Monthly
Cost: $1.99 (USD)
Duration: 1 month
Renewed every month i.e. you will be charged monthly

Subscription name: Advanced Density Maps Annual
Cost: $17.99 (USD)
Duration: 1 year
Renewed every year i.e. you will be charged annually

For all the above subscriptions:
• Payment will be charged to iTunes Account at confirmation of purchase
• Subscription automatically renews unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24-hours before the end of the current period
• Account will be charged for renewal within 24-hours prior to the end of the current period, and identify the cost of the renewal
• Subscriptions may be managed by the user and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to the user's Account Settings after purchase
• Any unused portion of a free trial period, if offered, will be forfeited when the user purchases a subscription to that publication, where applicable

Terms of Use: https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/p/terms
Privacy Policy: http://www.marinetraffic.com/en/p/privacy-policy

Also, for MarineTraffic subscribers:
• NAUTICAL CHARTS
• SAT-AIS DATA

Join the great MarineTraffic community!


** If you're only interested in a specific area, please confirm coverage on www.marinetraffic.com before purchasing the app **

What’s New

Version 3.9.38

- Area Statistics
- Vessel Events
- Vessel Coverage
- Fixes and improvements

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
13.5K Ratings

13.5K Ratings

Adjdjdjd ,

Warning! 16$ app fee is just the start!

I was excited to pay for and download this app just to find that the 16$ I paid for it doesn’t do much. For example I bought a plane tracker app from a different company and the cost for life was 4.99$ which gave me an unlimited number of favorite planes and allows me to track planes wherever they are anywhere I’m the world. Not with marine tracker. Once a ship leaves a coastal area and moves into satellite range (which I think is about 20 miles off the coast) you have to pay 1$ per ship, per day). So say you want to track 3 ships for a month - 90$. You can pay for a monthly rate but only for each action the app does and those but add up pretty fast. For example to add more than 5 ships to you favorites would cost approximately 100$ a year at their best price of 8$ a month billed annually. What about larger packages. Those will cost you in the hundreds of dollars a year. The “pro” plan costs $1,200 a year. I would strongly suggest looking into what you want out of this app before dropping the initial 16$. Very disappointed in this app. It feels like the devs are just trying to milk every dollar out of me they can.

Developer Response ,

Hello, thank you for your honest review. We understand that you would like to track multiple vessels through our services, but you have faced an issue with our pricing.
First and foremost, please allow us to clarify that our app costs 4.99$. It is a paid as it does not contain ads, and it has been designed to offer certain of our features on the go. We do offer subscriptions on iOS devices that are billed through the App Store, so the 16$ you are referring it could be related to that.
Moreover, our Access Plus 24 is designed for users needing access for a limited period of time, which is the reason it costs 1$ for 24 hours. If you wish to track one, three, or more vessels with satellite AIS, then one of our subscription the SAT Flex would be better suited to this: https://bit.ly/2WV8PNR Note further that all our services are available on monthly billing, and on annual billing with 10% discount.
Lastly, we do have single services, each offering access to different features, but we also offer our New Plans, bundling our new single services together at lower prices, which have replaced our Legacy Plans, such as the the Pro plan.
Lastly, the coverage of our terrestrial stations and the reception of vessel signals depends on multiple factors, including the class of the vessels' AIS transponder.
We hope this helps clarify a few things, but if you still have questions or concerns, please reach out to our Support here https://bit.ly/1QXz92V and one of us will be most glad to assist.

s/v Dawn ,

Indespensible

I just sailed from Chesapeake Bay to NYC. I don't have AIS on my boat, and was concerned about boat traffic in the C&D canal, the Delware river, and Ambrose channel into the Hudson. I DO HAVE cellular service on my Ipad. We remained within 10 miles of the coastline at all times, and this app identified all the freighters, both near us, and I could also look ahead and behind us. I was then able to hail them and discuss course and direction with them. There were a few times we needed to adjust our course a tiny bit, and avoid issues well in advance.

This app was a life saver for our voyage. Even when I upgrade to onboard AIS, I will still use this app to see the freighters that are outside of the VHF line of site range to predict CPA.

Thanks Marine Traffic!!!!

Docrobert2020 ,

Nice when it works

We left Florida to go cruising in the Caribbean and had friends and family that wanted to see where we were. I, unfortunately, suggested this app and they all purchased it. Now it RARELY updates my position. For example we spent 3 days in a marina on Great Exuma and it never updated. It updated once when we were sailing off the north coast of the same island. Now after 4 days anchored 9 miles north we have not updated. Other cruisers in the anchorage are showing up.

Keep in mind that we have brand new Vesper AIS and we show up on other cruisers Navionics and WatchMate consistently.

Only answer I got is maybe we need to upgrade to “satellite version “.

This is the response from tech support, “ The lack of Updated Positions of a vessel can be a result of a number of factors.
Signal strength, functional transponder, local (vessel area) and surrounding (nearby stations) weather conditions, temperatures, traffic and the satellite constellation frequency are some of the most important ones.

After checking on this further, I can see as well that your vessel is equipped with a Class B AIS Transponder.
Please note that the above information is especially true for vessels equipped with a Class B AIS Transponder as their signal may be weaker.

Developer Response ,

Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I can see that you have reached out to our customer support regarding your concern. I am sorry to hear that our answer was not what you were looking for. I would like to explain that indeed, sporadic position updates is common with vessel that has class B AIS Transponder. This is due to the limit of the signal power of the device. Please feel free to reach out to us here:https://bit.ly/2GsHvCe in order for us to help you further. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Information

Seller
Maltenoz Limited
Size
91.4 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility

Requires iOS 9.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
$4.99
In-App Purchases
  1. Augmented Reality $2.99
  2. Route Planner $0.99
  3. Nautical Charts Annual $29.49

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like