Merlin Project Express is the slickest project management app for the Mac – optimized for home and semi-professional users.

Do you only work on projects occasionally? Then subscribing to Merlin Project Express is precisely for you. Only pay when you actually use the app, and once you’ve tried it out in your own time.

• Annual or monthly subscription required to create & work on projects
• No subscription required to open and view existing Merlin Project documents
• 14 days free trial included

Are you a project professional? Then take a look at our main product "Merlin Project", which is also available here in the App Store.

Prices vary depending on geographical location. Subscriptions are billed via your credit card or iTunes account. Your subscription will renew automatically unless canceled within 24 hours prior to the end of the current subscription period. You will not be able to cancel the subscription once activated. You may cancel automatic renewal by selecting Manage App Subscriptions in your iTunes Account settings and selecting the subscription you want to modify.

Privacy policy:
Terms of use:
Visit our website to learn more:

What’s New

Version 6.4.0

Fixed issues:
- Improved general stability.
- Some templates created with Merlin Project could not be opened.
- Table cells did not show some Arabic texts.
- When using displays with 10-bit color depth, resizing a window was very slow.
- When entering work on activities with material resources, a wrong error message could appear.

Do you love Merlin Project as much as we do? Then simply rate us here in the App Store or write a short review. Thanks a lot!

Ratings and Reviews

4.0 out of 5
39 Ratings

39 Ratings

CHRISmanWeb ,

Love or Hate

I've been using this app for a couple of years already and while lately the developers have improved the UI and made some meaningful changes, I still run into extremely frustrating situation. Either resource assignments don't calculate correctly or you get conflict warnings without any explanation or simply basic controls are burried and takes forever to do simple operation. That's why I love it and a hate it at the same time!

Developer Response ,

Thank you CHRISmanWeb for your review. Feel free to contact our support when ever need to, we'll be happy to help you:

Steve Goppert ,

Decent Tool

First, allow me to qualify myself - I am a Project Management Professional with 30 years experience in project management and have been teaching project management, including MS Project, for the past 18 years. My first impression is that it is fairly decent tool and pretty easy to use if you know the best practices in scheduling. Note: I have not explored the muti-user, complex functions of the SW.

I have only used the sheduling portion of the SW. That’s OK becauese I have found the rescorce planning and loading in all scheduling tools to be require a so much investment in time to set up and maintain as to be cost prohibitive. That said, in the several days I have taken to explore Merlin, I suggest the following improvements:

1. Incude all the task relatonships. Only FS and SS are included. FF in particular is missing and most useful. SF should be included for completeness.
2. There is no network diagram view. While this view to look at the overall projct is generally imposssible to fit on one screen in a useful way, the network view is most useful in finding “hangers” and to check that all the necessary predecessors are defined and there are no incorrect ones.
3. The calendar assumes a 40 hour 5 day workweek. It does not allow a 7 day workweek unless you schedule 24 hours a day and 168 hour workweek.
4. The user manual documentaton found in the trial version of “Help” is merely a description of the each screen. If does not provide detailed informtion on how to use the functions of the SW. For example, there is not listing of supported predecessor relationships or how the calendar variables interact.

Allow me to qualify myself so you can validte the veracity of my comments - I am a Project Management Professional with 30 years experience in project management and have been teaching project management, including MS Project, for the past 18 years.

I rated it 4 stars because it does comply in large measure with best practices, is reasonabley intuitive and is available at a reasonable cost.

Developer Response ,

Thank you very much Steve for your positive review and your suggestions on how to improve Merlin Project Express and its documentation. We really appreciate your thoughts and forwarded them to the responsible colleagues. We already replied to you in a direct email, so just to make sure other users don't get the wrong impression: - Express includes all four dependency types - You can change the default calendar having 40 hours for 5 days per week to what ever actual calendar you need. For more information please contact the Merlin support by email. Thanks again.

bachIO3401 ,

Doesn’t Let me Subscribe

I actually like this app, but it doesn’t let me subscribe to extend my service. Wish I could use it. Reaching out to the developer, but may need to look for another app.

Developer Response ,

Subscriptions are managed by Apple's App Store. To view, cancel or manage them you should follow the directions offered by Apple. If starting a subscription isn't working for you, your have most likely issues accessing the App Store server and trying again later, helps. Please contact us, in case you hadn't done so already, to keep us in the loop and for further investigations. Thanks.


ProjectWizards GmbH
25.3 MB

macOS 10.12 or later, 64-bit processor


English, French, German, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Spanish

Age Rating
In-App Purchases
  1. Monthly Subscription $3.99
  2. Annual Subscription $39.99


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer