iPhone Screenshots

Description

No algorithms. No fake reviews. Just the absolute favorite spots of real locals in 77 cities. Each 100% offline city guide costs a few $/€/£, with free updates forever.

1. UP TO DATE TIPS BY REAL LOCALS
We take "local" and "up to date" very seriously. Our Spotters live in the city they write about, speak the local language and write only about their favorite spots. Spotters love promoting quirky and locally owned spots and keep their tips up to date. Founders Sanne & Bart meet all Spotters in person since our launch in 2008.

Our community of Spotters (all volunteers) is amazing - there are many real life meetings. Check our website to learn more, or to join us!

2. OFFLINE, FASTER & BETTER THAN OUR WEBSITE
Our app works 100% offline. You can turn wifi & data off and enjoy a break from social media & the internet while you use our app! 

On our detailed maps you can see which spots are near you and navigate there (offline). You can bookmark your favorites, and add a pin for any address to the map (like your hotel maybe?).

Whenever it's convenient for you to go online, you can choose to download updates for current spots and the latest newest discoveries in a city.

3. HELP MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE
We believe cultural misunderstandings are the source of most conflicts in the world. We hope to create a little change by encouraging travelers to experience cities from a local's perspective and learn about different cultures.

We are increasingly worried about overtourism. Since 2018 we have only expanded to cities that need MORE tourism and where tourist dollars can have a strong positive impact for local entrepreneurs. We strongly encourage you to browse through our list of cities and choose a city you haven't considered yet :).

4. YES, THIS IS A PAID APP (WHY?)
Most apps make money by collecting and selling information about you. We do not - to us you are anonymous. We charge a few $/€/£ for a faster, 100% offline experience and other features our (free) website doesn't have.

By purchasing a city guide you'll make it possible for us to continue our mission and expand to new cities where we can make a difference. Thanks so much for your support!

What the travel press is saying:
• "Steers you toward hidden gems” - NY Times
• "Authentically local, on-the-ground advice” - The Guardian
• "Local tips rarely found in the guidebook" - The Times

Please contact co-founder Bart at bart@spottedbylocals.com if you have any feedback at all!

What’s New

Version 6.6

Finally (yes, about time with 77 cities as of today) we added a much requested "search cities" to quickly find the city you are looking for. Also, we launched 5 cool new cities since our last update: Beirut, Cairo, Malmö, Rijeka & The Hague!

If our locals' tips have made your trip more meaningful, our locals would love it if you can leave a short review and tell us which city you visited!

Ratings and Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80 Ratings

80 Ratings

Call Me Ted ,

South Seattle Doesn’t Exist

Imagine my disappointment, $3.99 for an App that reviews less than half of Seattle. If it’s South of I-90, there’s virtually no reviews. Undoubtedly the Northern half is the easy pickings for reviewers, but what about the rest of the city? There’s all sorts of great & quirky places around Seatac, Georgetown and Black Diamond, to name a few. Nearby small towns like Enumclaw-a mini Telluride- go completely ignored.
It’s lazy reporting, and it’s dishonest to charge for an App that is only focused on one small part of the city. There’s a lot more to Seattle than what’s in Spotted By.

Developer Response ,

Dear Ted, you're absolutely right and we're sorry about this. Our locals write about their favorite spots, and probably most of them are located in the North. 2 new Spotters in Seattle just started - we will make sure they will cover South Seattle too. Georgetown could use more tips for sure! Our Spotters only write about the *city of Seattle*, so Seatac, Black Diamond and the other towns and cities you mentioned that are not in Seattle will never be included.

Thanks for your comment. Bart - Co-founder Spottted by Locals

The handsome olive ,

Perfect way to explore a city

I first heard about SpottedbyLocals when I was studying abroad in Paris in 2009. I usually like to collect recommendations from friends before visiting a new city but in this day and age with social media, people end up seeing certain places on Instagram and Facebook and then just go where they see their friends go. This works sometimes but the problem is that you end up being directed to the same place that all the other people are going to which in effect ends up being touristy. If you’re like me and want to explore a city as someone who lives there would, then this is the app for you. The app itself is nothing special. Basic map with some highlighted spots but the content and curation is what is so key. We went to at least 10 of the recommended places in Mexico City and they were all spot on. You can’t get fair assessments of where to go on sites like Yelp and TripAdvisor anymore because their ranking systems have become biased towards the places that pay them. SpottedByLocals is a neutral assessment of amazing places in cities by the people who are proudest to live in them.

Roroirene ,

*UPDATED* annoyed

I wrote a review about a month ago about this app and how it didn’t work while I was on vacation. Their response team sent me back an email with a handful of excuses how it was my fault because I downloaded it wrong and asked if I would remove my review. I asked for a refund and he told me the only way I could get a refund was if I had PayPal. I received a total of SIX EMAILS from this guy asking me to remove my review. Not once did he take ownership for the app not working or gave me any other resolution other than to re-download it again (pay for it) and hope it works on my next vacation. He continually blamed me for downloading it incorrectly. By the last email this morning, it felt like harassment and I am so annoyed with this guy I could scream.

Don’t download this app unless you are fully confident in your skills to DOWNLOAD AN APP or have the extreme patience and extra time to deal write emails back and forth for over a month about a $4 product and a bad review.

Developer Response ,

We do not understand why this customer is so angry. It truly saddens us we have not been able to reach our goal to make an unhappy customer into a happy one! The customer asked for a refund and wrote they would "consider removing my review after I received a refund". We recommended trying re-installing the app - in 99.6% of the cases the issue such as described by our customer is a connection issue, resolved by a reinstallation. The App Store does not offer us (or any publisher) the option to refund directly, so we refunded via Paypal. We asked her to try our resolution (re-install) and offered free access to customer's next city trip, to which customer did not respond. We have still not heard if the resolution was successful - we think it would have been. We also asked them in a nice way if they would consider removing their review as mentioned in customer's email. Obviously, we triggered something that made our customer very angry, which we still don't understand. We are truly sorry about this - it's the last thing we wanted. What we realise in hindsight is that sending 3 emails after a customer has not replied is too much even though our only goal was to help and check if the issue was resolved and if our email has not ended up in a spam folder or so. We apologized a few times in our emails, before receiving this final angry review. We still hope our customer can forgive us for this, and we hope for a permanent peace agreement and all the very best in life for our customer! Bart van Poll - Co-founder Spotted by Locals

Subscriptions

Amsterdam travel guide
Local Amsterdam tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Antwerp travel guide by locals
Local Antwerp tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Athens travel guide by locals
Local Athens tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Barcelona travel guide
Local Barcelona tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Belgrade travel guide
Local Belgrade tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Budapest travel guide
Local Budapest tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99

In-App Purchases

Amsterdam travel guide
Local Amsterdam tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Athens travel guide by locals
Local Athens tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Belgrade travel guide
Local Belgrade tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Antwerp travel guide by locals
Local Antwerp tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99
Barcelona travel guide
Local Barcelona tips, not tourist highlights
$3.99

Information

Seller
Spotted by Locals
Size
76.5 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 12+ for the following:
Infrequent/Mild Alcohol, Tobacco, or Drug Use or References
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2008-2018 Spotted by Locals
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Stockholm city guide by locals $3.99
  2. Amsterdam travel guide $3.99
  3. Athens travel guide by locals $3.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like