Screenshots

Description

LIGHTS! COLORS! ACTION!

OnSwitch is the #1 rated companion app for Philips Hue smart lighting systems. Downloaded over 2.3 million times!

OnSwitch for Philips Hue has a beautiful, simple user interface but it's also powerful. Your Hue lights come alive with a single click!

• Holidays
• Party/Disco Lighting
• Sports, Including LIVE game-sync events
• Sunrise alarm and sunset sleep timer
• Fun kids content
• Accent Lighting
• Color flows
• Candle light
• Nature Scenes
• Lightning
• Fireworks

Our Hue app connects to your Philips Hue Bridge, creating immersive animated experiences with your Hue lights!

Get the best Hue App, get OnSwitch!

UNLOCK EVERYTHING
With OnSwitch Premium subscription you can unlock our entire content library and more!
• Unlock ALL albums (300+ animated light scenes)
• Unlimited SIRI Shortcuts
• Access exclusive LIVE events.
• Amazing NEW scenes added regularly.

HERO LIGHTING
Our Hue light scenes have cinematic flair. Music sound tracks set the mood while our an animation engine delivers bursts of light and sound where anything can happen. Santa lands on your house! Zombies attack! You are in a spaceship battle!

Other light scenes transport you to a Lush Forest, Venice or even Deep Space to chill out in the Orion Nebula listening to superb ambient electronic music.

CREATIVE LIGHTING
OnSwitch gives you smarter, clearer ways to control your smart lights. Instead of guessing what Hue's "Light Recipes" mean, our Everyday Lighting album presents gorgeous photos of antique and halogen bulbs or a skylight so it's clear what kind of light you are going to get. Our fluorescent tube even flickers on like the real thing!

Want Color? Other apps make you drag a pin around a color wheel. OnSwitch makes it easy with curated Pastels and Accent colors. Warm and Cool color flows. And "Color Splat!" our exclusive color discovery feature that's always fun and a surprise.

SUNRISE ALARM & SUNSET SLEEP TIMER
Wake up with a beautiful sunrise and your favorite music! Go to sleep with a sunset, optimized for better sleep.

LIGHT GROUPS
Easily create and manage groups of bulbs. Control each group independently. OnSwitch manages groups on your Philips Hue Bridge so it will play nicely with your other apps!

IMPORTANT!
• You will need LIFX smart bulbs or a Philips Hue bridge and light bulbs to use this app.
• OnSwitch requires iOS10 or later to run.

SUBSCRIPTION TERMS
OnSwitch Premium subscription unlocks all of the app's lighting content. You can preview all of the content for 7 days FREE before your subscription starts.

If you choose to subscribe, you will be charged a per month subscription fee according to your country. The subscription fee will be shown in the app before you complete the payment. Your subscription will automatically renew at the end of each subscription term, unless auto-renewal is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the term. Subscription renewals cost the same as the original subscription, and your credit card will be charged through your iTunes account at confirmation of purchase.

You may manage your subscription and turn off auto-renewal at any time after purchase by going to your iTunes Account Settings. Refunds will not be given for any unused portion of the term.

For additional information, please read:
•Terms of Service (https://www.getonswitch.com/terms)
• Privacy Policy (https://www.getonswitch.com/privacy).

What’s New

Version 3.0.18

• Thursday Night Football
• Recent Release: Thanksgiving Album

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
8.1K Ratings

8.1K Ratings

Jean-Cordell ,

Great app. Two complaints.

My personal experience with this app has been wonderful, and I recommend it to anyone who owns hue lights. It really utilizes the full potential of the hue lights, and the different scenes are creative and very unique, unlike ones I’ve seen in the past. But there are two complaints I have. One, there is no mute button. Some times I just want to change the lighting of the different rooms in my house but also have a little peace and quiet. For example, I the kindle app, if I’m reading, the noise would continue to play as I’m reading. I know a simple solution would be to turn off the volume but that feels unnecessary to me when the only scene that I want sound for is the Fourth of July one. My second complaint is that you have to pay for many of the different scenes. I would be fine with paying a one time “premium” fee to get all of the scenes, to support the developers, but as a person on a low budget, having to pay for each scene individually is kind of annoying. I would understand having exclusive scenes for holidays and special events that you would pay for separately, but if I have to pay 40 dollars to get all of the scenes, you can see how I may be slightly irritated. (You should also be able to preview the scenes before you buy them) Overall, this is a great app and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone who owns hue lights. Thanks- Jean-Cordell

Developer Response ,

Jean, thank you for this review. It gives others a perspective on the app and most importantly it gives us insight into how our product experience was for YOU. We will soon roll out a way to preview everything in the app for an extended period and—if you
choose—unlock all the content using a different pricing model. It may not be exactly what you’ve laid out above but we hope it’s super close! Cheers and thanks for using OnSwitch!

Mark36 ,

Great

Updated review. I love this app. But I one-stared this app in an earlier review after almost a year, when the developer rolled out version 2 that crashed instantly on startup, with no clear solution, instantly transforming the app from great to utterly useless.

Developer fixed the problem and the app is back to its old greatness. I will be more reluctant to upgrade though; having been a software developer for a decade in a previous life, rolling out defective software like that was inexcusable; in my day someone would have been fired over a wide release so poorly executed. I hope these guys aren’t writing self-driving car software! Going forward, I’ll wait until a few days go by before upgrading this app; I won’t just auto upgrade it as I did in the past.

It gets five stars because it’s a great app. Just make sure any upgrade is stable before downloading; in my case OnSwitch had become my sole way to control nearly two dozen Hue and LIFX bulbs in my home, it’s that good. But when the app crashed, I lost the ability to control them (some don’t even have mechanical switches anymore) and was at the mercy of the developer to fix it. Not fun.

Developer Response ,

Hey Mark! Yep. Nasty crash. We have an update that fixes it.

Since you mentioned our testing and it's a fair point, a little more detail for you: The crash happens because a fraction of users have stored data that we weren't expecting and the app wasn't handling that properly. Since we didn't see that in our Alpha and Beta tests, we overlooked this terrible issue. A larger Beta group than we ran was required to hit that statistical occurrence. We're working on that for our next release.

As for right now, download 2.0.2, you should be up and running. Check our our new UI. If you feel the app is improved over last release, update your review to match what you think it deserves. Thank you for your patience with us. All the best!

Krl11 ,

Best ever!!!!!

UPDATE: I love this app so much I’ve tried rating it 5 stars 3 times now. I used to love ability to buy extra light options, but now they want you to subscribe instead of just paying for the one individual one you want. I used to recommend this app to anyone who has the hue because I loved the alternating color scenes. But now it’s really reaching for more money from users on a subscription model and I’m not such a fan anymore. Sure I could buy 9 of them for 4.99 but I just want one of those 9.

I also received a response from the developer, and the target of their response was focused on the price of the album. However I have used OnSwitch for a number of years now and I have previously purchased sets of one album, and now find that new items are added to the album but the app wants me to purchase the entire album all over again for the additional colors. My complaint is now three parts, when you purchase an album but then new colors are added and you are asked to purchase it all over again, and the fact that you have purchased items but now the developer asks you to subscribe, but there’s no discount for previously purchasing albums (I existed as a customer years before subscriptions existed) and there’s no way to get the integration of Siri or the favorites without subscribing. So I’m dropping an additional star.

Developer Response ,

Hi Krl11, thank you for being a longtime fan of the app. We DO appreciate that. It seems you are referring to the previously in-development "Smoldering Colors" scenes which were released as the LAVA LAMP album. They were in our EXPERIMENTAL album. We put them there as a free-preview of work in progress. We know people get disappointed when free-previews end but feel it's a benefit to our users to let them test drive future Albums. We can more clearly label them as limited free previews to clarify they are there for a limited time before they go onsale. But yes the choice is to buy the LAVA LAMP album or subscribe to unlock everything for about $3/month.

Information

Seller
Buzzhaus, LLC
Size
349.7 MB
Category
Lifestyle
Compatibility

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, French

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. OnSwitch Premium $5.99
  2. Lightning $1.99
  3. Fireplace $1.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like