Screenshots

Description

LIGHTS! COLORS! ACTION!

OnSwitch is the #1 rated companion app for Hue and LIFX smart lighting systems. Downloaded over 1.5 million times.

The user interface is beautiful, direct, simple and powerful.
Your smart lights come alive with a single click! Color flows. Strobe lights. Lightning. Fireworks. Candle light. Holidays. Sports. Kids. Relaxing nature scenes. And more!

GET PREMIUM, GET IT ALL
• New albums and scenes added every month.
• Currently more than 40 "Albums" containing over 250 animated and static light scenes. Each scene has rich visual imagery and most include precise HD audio to perfect the experience.
• Sunrise and sunset alarm features—free!

WHAT REVIEWERS ARE SAYING
5/5 "A 'must' if you have Philips Hue lights."
5/5 "This is the app you're looking for."
5/5 "If it wasn't for this app the Philips Hue wouldn't be worth having!"

HERO LIGHTING
Our light scenes have cinematic flair. Music sound tracks set the mood while our an animation engine delivers bursts of light and sound where anything can happen. Santa lands on your house! Zombies attack! You are in a spaceship battle!

Other light scenes transport you to a Lush Forest, Venice or even Deep Space to chill out in the Orion Nebula listening to superb ambient electronic music.

CREATIVE LIGHTING
OnSwitch gives you smarter, clearer ways to control your smart lights. Instead of guessing what Hue's "Light Recipes" mean, our Everyday Lighting album presents gorgeous photos of antique and halogen bulbs or a skylight so it's clear what kind of light you are going to get. Our fluorescent tube even flickers on like the real thing!

Want Color? Other apps make you drag a pin around a color wheel. OnSwitch makes it easy with curated Pastels and Accent colors. Warm and Cool color flows. And "Color Splat!" our exclusive color discovery feature that's always fun and a surprise.

SUNRISE ALARM & SUNSET SLEEP TIMER
Wake up with a beautiful sunrise and your favorite music! Go to sleep with a sunset, optimized for better sleep.

LIGHT GROUPS
Easily create and manage groups of bulbs. Control each group independently. OnSwitch manages groups on your Philips Hue Bridge / LIFX bulbs, so it will play nicely with your other apps!

IMPORTANT!
• You will need LIFX smart bulbs or a Philips Hue bridge and light bulbs to use this app.
• OnSwitch requires iOS10 or later to run.

SUBSCRIPTION TERMS
OnSwitch Premium subscription unlocks all of the app's lighting content. You can preview all of the content for 7 days FREE before your subscription starts.

If you choose to subscribe, you will be charged a per month subscription fee according to your country. The subscription fee will be shown in the app before you complete the payment. Your subscription will automatically renew at the end of each subscription term, unless auto-renewal is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the term. Subscription renewals cost the same as the original subscription, and your credit card will be charged through your iTunes account at confirmation of purchase.

You may manage your subscription and turn off auto-renewal at any time after purchase by going to your iTunes Account Settings. Refunds will not be given for any unused portion of the term.

For additional information, please read our Terms of Service (https://www.getonswitch/terms) and Privacy Policy (https://www.getonswitch.com/privacy).

What’s New

Version 2.2.1

Introducing OnSwitch Artists Series!
• Full-length songs from recording artists set to animated-light.
• Neoclassical pianist, Lori-Ann Speed, is our debut artist!

Enjoy another first from OnSwitch!

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
5.2K Ratings

5.2K Ratings

Jean-Cordell ,

Great app. Two complaints.

My personal experience with this app has been wonderful, and I recommend it to anyone who owns hue lights. It really utilizes the full potential of the hue lights, and the different scenes are creative and very unique, unlike ones I’ve seen in the past. But there are two complaints I have. One, there is no mute button. Some times I just want to change the lighting of the different rooms in my house but also have a little peace and quiet. For example, I the kindle app, if I’m reading, the noise would continue to play as I’m reading. I know a simple solution would be to turn off the volume but that feels unnecessary to me when the only scene that I want sound for is the Fourth of July one. My second complaint is that you have to pay for many of the different scenes. I would be fine with paying a one time “premium” fee to get all of the scenes, to support the developers, but as a person on a low budget, having to pay for each scene individually is kind of annoying. I would understand having exclusive scenes for holidays and special events that you would pay for separately, but if I have to pay 40 dollars to get all of the scenes, you can see how I may be slightly irritated. (You should also be able to preview the scenes before you buy them) Overall, this is a great app and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone who owns hue lights. Thanks- Jean-Cordell

Developer Response ,

Jean, thank you for this review. It gives others a perspective on the app and most importantly it gives us insight into how our product experience was for YOU. We will soon roll out a way to preview everything in the app for an extended period and—if you
choose—unlock all the content using a different pricing model. It may not be exactly what you’ve laid out above but we hope it’s super close! Cheers and thanks for using OnSwitch!

Mark36 ,

Great

Updated review. I love this app. But I one-stared this app in an earlier review after almost a year, when the developer rolled out version 2 that crashed instantly on startup, with no clear solution, instantly transforming the app from great to utterly useless.

Developer fixed the problem and the app is back to its old greatness. I will be more reluctant to upgrade though; having been a software developer for a decade in a previous life, rolling out defective software like that was inexcusable; in my day someone would have been fired over a wide release so poorly executed. I hope these guys aren’t writing self-driving car software! Going forward, I’ll wait until a few days go by before upgrading this app; I won’t just auto upgrade it as I did in the past.

It gets five stars because it’s a great app. Just make sure any upgrade is stable before downloading; in my case OnSwitch had become my sole way to control nearly two dozen Hue and LIFX bulbs in my home, it’s that good. But when the app crashed, I lost the ability to control them (some don’t even have mechanical switches anymore) and was at the mercy of the developer to fix it. Not fun.

Developer Response ,

Hey Mark! Yep. Nasty crash. We have an update that fixes it.

Since you mentioned our testing and it's a fair point, a little more detail for you: The crash happens because a fraction of users have stored data that we weren't expecting and the app wasn't handling that properly. Since we didn't see that in our Alpha and Beta tests, we overlooked this terrible issue. A larger Beta group than we ran was required to hit that statistical occurrence. We're working on that for our next release.

As for right now, download 2.0.2, you should be up and running. Check our our new UI. If you feel the app is improved over last release, update your review to match what you think it deserves. Thank you for your patience with us. All the best!

Everry other name is taken! ,

Great lights but unethical purchase model

Here’s the scoop: the scenes and/or albums for purchase are subject to be removed from the app in the name of the variety. Save for a recent disclaimer on the new holiday scenes, there is no transparency as to if/when this will happen to other purchases. Once the scene/album is removed, there goes your $.99-$3.99 purchase. This would be fine if there was full disclosure that your purchase is actually a rental, but again, there’s no transparency. You could purchase a scene and be none the wiser that it will be removed in a week. This was found out by users after their money was taken when previous albums were removed. I wish I had known this before I purchased scenes. I’m glad they made the disclaimer for the holiday scenes (probably because of users getting the word out in the forums), but I won’t make any additional purchases until the “keep your purchase” policy applies to all scenes. Or at least until it’s made clear which purchase is a rental. In sum, buyer beware.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for this feedback! OnSwitch never eliminates purchases but I think in one case, Halloween, we confused a lot of people. We, in fact, "upgraded" the old Halloween album to Halloween Pro. So the album image changed. And we "upgraded" 2 purchased effects to better effects (Haunted Mansion --> Haunted! & Throbbing Heart --> Running Scared!). The original effects were based on old tech where lights and sound didn't stay sync'd so they were not retained. So, even though your purchases are still there under new similar effects, from your view point, they disappeared. That's totally on us we weren't clear about the changes/upgrades. Contact us at support@getonswitch.com and we'll absolutely make it right for you. Thank you for being a great OnSwitch customer!

Information

Seller
Buzzhaus, LLC
Size
330.9 MB
Category
Lifestyle
Compatibility

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, French, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2018 Buzzhaus, LLC (Howard Cooperstein)
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Lightning $1.99
  2. Fireplace $1.99
  3. OnSwitch Premium $4.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like