Screenshots

Description

Play the official LITE Games version of the popular board game Othello now for free on your iPhone and iPad with offline and online multiplayer mode.

Othello is a strategy board game for two players. The goal is to have the majority of disks reversed to display your own color at the end of the game.

This well known classic holds up to his original claim on mobile devices:
“A MINUTE TO LEARN… A LIFETIME TO MASTER™” and as such this free app offers something for everyone.

Features:
- Play for free without limitations
- Play online against opponents from all over the world
- Climb to the top of the online highscore leaderboard
- Unlock amazing achievements
- Train against the computer with adjustable difficulty
- Challenge your friends and family on the same device
- Officially licensed app and rule set

How to play:
Both players take turns placing disks on the board with their assigned color facing up. Any disk of the opponent’s color that is in a straight line between the disk you just placed and another disk of yours on the field will be turned over to match your own color. The players proceed to strategically reverse the disks in their favor until both players have no more legal moves to make.

What the app offers:
Learn the game, work on your tactics and unlock amazing achievements. Experience thrilling matches through the global online matchmaking or hone your skills versus the computer. Challenge your friends and family offline or online regardless of what phone or operating system they use through our great multiplayer modes – as long as the game is available on their phone you can play together!

With the right strategy, tactics and observation skills you will eventually find yourself amongst the top players of the LITE Games community and earn yourself a spot in the global leaderboards. Can you make it?

Play the official Othello™ game now for free!

The official Othello™ board game is offered in high quality localization in the following languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Turkish, Chinese, Korean, Thai and Indonesian.

The game is perfect for fans of iTurnStones, Checkers, Backgammon, Solitaire or Mills and offers a strategic challenge for beginners as well as experienced veterans.

Join in and get yourself a top spot in our player community. The 10 best players will be proudly displayed each week on https://www.lite.games/games/Othello/
The Top 3 of the month will also appear on the dedicated Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/LGOthelloCommunity/

TM&©Othello,Co. and MegaHouse.

Othello is an advertiser funded app, i.e. ads are presented within the app. If you prefer to use the app without ads we do offer a "no ads" setting as auto-renewable subscription. You have the choice between the following options:

- 1 month for $0.99 or equivalent (subscription renews after 1 month)
- 3 months for $1.99 or equivalent (subscription renews after 3 months)
- 1 year for $4.49 or equivalent (subscription renews after 1 year)

Payment will be charged to your iTunes account at confirmation of purchase. The subscription automatically renews unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24-hours before the end of the current period.
The account will be charged for renewal within 24-hours prior to the end of the current period with the amount the selected option costs. Subscriptions may be managed by the user and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to the user's Account Settings after purchase.

You can find our general terms and conditions here: http://tc.lite.games
...and our privacy policy here: http://privacy.lite.games

Visit us for more free iPhone and iPad games:
https://www.lite.games
https://www.facebook.com/LiteGames

Or give us your app feedback here:
support@lite.games

Thanks for playing!

What’s New

Version 4.4.3

- another fix for the banner placement on certain devices

Ratings and Reviews

4.4 out of 5
1.9K Ratings

1.9K Ratings

ryotama2000 ,

Love playing this

Love playing this Othello. It has connection issue like others are saying but very playable I think. I usually play this on my iPad but I install it on my new iPhone XR and ad is covering the actual Othello board it’s impossible to play on my phone. Please fix this issue!!!!

Also It needs better rating system. Right now person who is ok with Othello who has time can be on the top.

But thank you for working hard so we can play this!!!

Update April 2019: newest update has same ad covering the Othello board issue on my iPhone XR again. Please fix this. Thank you!!!

Developer Response ,

Hi ryotama2000! Thanks for your feedback. I forwarded this issue to the developers and I hope we can fix this problem soon. / Edit 20 December 2018: The issue with the iPhone XR should be fixed in the latest update 4.3.8, please let us know if there are still problems regarding the ads. / Edit 17 April 2019: Hi ryotama2000! The last update was supposed to fix this issue but we see that it apparently didn't work out as planned. Our main problem here is that the way the ads are integrated, we have to wait for our ad mediation partner to fix this problem on their end and can't really do much ourselves. We are currently thinking about a temporary workaround until we get this issue solved.

SailTX ,

Dropped connections

Enjoyed the game, especially the ability to play others, but found the incredible number of lost connections and the obnoxious ads that continually launch the App Store without permission (and interrupt the game or cause lost connections) very frustrating. It happened extensively on WiFi and seemed to be linked to the ads. So I began playing exclusively in cell service. That helped, but lost connections and rogue ads were still a problem. It got so bad that to play, I would restrict my phone to prevent the App Store from launching. This helped, but same issues persisted. After months of this, I’ve grow tired of having the same issues and the company not addressing this so I am deleting the app for good.

Developer Response ,

Hi SailTX! Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the first issue - if you have turned on the auto-update function in your device settings, updates will be installed automatically which will happen for all apps that you have. The game indeed is different, mainly because it is using a new game engine. In terms of looks you could customize it through the settings to make it look similar to the old version by choosing the wooden board and pebbles as play stones. As far as the crashes go - we are investigating the issues. About 10% of the users are experiencing crashes and we are actively working on fixing the ones that appear the most. For now, the only thing you can try to do is closing some apps in the background for better stability. We are sorry for the inconvenience and your bad experience with the game. / Update: First of all let me thank your for your rating adjustment. The servers are still being updated to improve stability (but only small updates at a time) but it's still very interesting that you seem to have less problems when not using wifi. It might also have to do with the ads -
we only offer ad spaces for networks so we don't serve the ads ourselves but I know that some ads will only be shown on wi-fi (because they are heavier or the advertiser chose to do so for other reasons). We have little to no control over the ads but faulty ads can happen and while they will usually be taken care of within a few days they will still cause crashes for some people. We'll definitely keep looking into it with our developers and got some new ideas from your review so thanks again! / Update 22 January 2019: Thanks for your feedback. This should be fixed now as there were some issues with our multiplayer service for a while. Sorry for the inconvenience.

fjhshdbsybs ,

One issue away from 5 stars

Issue: This game used to work fine, but the past few days it has lost connection multiple times, whether on WiFi or LTE, both with strong connections. Half of the time this manifests in the other players piece appearing on top of mine before failing, otherwise just a brief pause after clicking my piece and a “you lost” message saying I lost connection.
Another thing: you really should implement a better platform for competition. If you showed relative skills in game (% of games won, # of wins) and had more obvious messages about how the player compares, this would drive people to play your game more and increase profit significantly. You’re welcome.

Developer Response ,

Hi fjhshdbsybs! Thanks for your feedback. This should be fixed now as there were some issues with our multiplayer service for a while. Sorry for the inconvenience. As for the competition, there are a few things we have planned for the future in terms of making it more competitive and fair in terms of skill level online but as of now, the online mode will stay as it is. I will forward your suggestion about the display of % games won or # of wins though.

Information

Seller
LITE Games GmbH
Size
350.4 MB
Category
Games
Compatibility

Requires iOS 8.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, Dutch, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Thai, Turkish

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© LITE Games
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. No Ads 1 Month $0.99
  2. No Ads 1 Year $4.49
  3. No Ads 3 Months $1.99

Supports

  • Game Center

    Challenge friends and check leaderboards and achievements.

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like