Screenshots

Description

A minimal and clean design note –
The world is full of stories. The most precious story among them is your story. Everything about you is a story. There are countless stories about you such as daily life, travel, childcare, hobbies, thoughts, memos, novels, and so on. Put all of this in Pencake. Pencake offers a minimal UI so you can focus on your story. So you can keep all your stories neat and beautiful. Record your story with Pencake as if you were recording your moments in life with pictures and videos. And keep it and reminisce about it.

Pencake is composed of stories and articles. Multiple articles come together and become one story. In Pencake you can create multiple stories by topic. Write and keep your various stories in Pencake.

Pencake is constantly evolving. Your feedback is important to be a better app. Particularly praise is a great help to development. Please leave a lot of reviews. And please share Pencake with your friends. Hope you enjoy Pencake! :-)

(You will be writing something again and again.)

[Features]
- Clean and minimal UI
- High readability
- Convenient folder
- Adding photos
- Inserting photos into body
- Sync with iCloud and Google Drive
- Auto sync (Premium)
- Night mode (Premium)
- Face ID / Touch ID (Premium)
- Passcode
- No lag even in a long article
- Font size
- Setting font types (Serif + Sans Serif)
- Trash can
- Version history and restoring a previous article
- Diary for past
- Sorting articles
- Backup / restore
- Export as txt and zip
- Landscape mode
- Word count (+ character count)
- Alignment: left, center, justified
- Extended keyboard (tool bar)
- enter a pair of quotation marks and parentheses
- enter the time, an ellipsis, and a bullet
- navigate paragraphs
- insert a photo
- preview

Some features are available in Premium.

---

Please help translate into your language!
https://crowdin.com/project/pencake

Check the UPDATE PLAN and VOTE what you want.
https://trello.com/b/KXfxtUhl

Follow us on Instagram for update and event news.
https://www.instagram.com/pencake.app/

What’s New

Version 3.1.1

■ Improved sync stability of Google Drive.
■ Fixed some bugs related to the sync.

Ratings and Reviews

4.3 out of 5
55 Ratings

55 Ratings

noalarms ,

Lovely

What a lovely little journaling app! I wrote one article and then purchased premium. It’s that good. I also own a very popular journaling app that has become a bit too busy and cluttered over the years. PenCake hits a nice balance of features and simplicity. My only gripe is the “Tap to edit Story title” not disappearing or able to be turned off. It’s a bit of an eyesore. I hope there’s a Mac or web app in the works as well. Great job!

Developer Response ,

Hello! Thank you your kind feedback! :) And, thanks for the suggestions! :) In fact, there are many features that are still lacking. Really sorry for this. We will continue to make the app better. The "Tap to edit Story title" is actually the subtitle of the story. You can edit it at the title editing page. We will add an option to turn it off in the future. For the time being, please edit it to just a simple symbol such as dot(.) if you don't like the subtitle. We also plan to develop a desktop app. Perhaps we will develop it after auto-sync, search, and text styling features, so it will take quite a long time. Sorry for this. We will try to make them available as soon as possible. We are doing our best to improve the app. If you have any other suggestions or have any inconvenience, please feel free to tell us. Thanks! Please enjoy Pencake! :)

must have coffee ,

Beautiful App

This journaling app is a minimalist’s dream. Thoughtful in design and execution, it’s well worth the few bucks to upgrade to Premium. Updates have been slow in coming but meaningful. Replaces Vesper for me, another first-rate notetaker that had become increasingly unstable under the latest iterations of iOS and eventually was dropped by its developer. Pencake is free to try. Give it a test drive—you’ll likely be glad you did.

UPDATE
I’ve dropped one star from this rating due to developer’s unresponsiveness. Eight months since the last update with basic features such as text formatting still unavailable. The developer also has failed to reply to a follow-up request in over a week. This is a pattern. In a previous exchange (see below), the developer apologizes profusely for failing to provide timely feature updates—“really really sorry”—but apologies without corrective action are insincere and worthless. Not responding promptly to an email support request is even worse. After waiting five months the last time for features that were promised to arrive “soon” and eight months this time, I’m ready to shop for an alternative app. The one suffers from irresponsible developer syndrome.

Developer Response ,

UPDATE
Hi, sincerely apologize for the late replay. As we said on the email we sent, the development of an auto-sync feature has been taking too much more time than we expected. Because of this, we couldn't release any new updates for five months. Really really apologize for this. We will do our best to release a new update including getting rid of annoying force-justify. Please wait for it. Thanks for understanding, really appreciate it. Thank you! :)

PREVIOUS REPLY
Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review! :) It is also a great honor to use Pencake instead of another app. :) I have a sense of responsibility to make improvements in the future. In fact, there are a lot of features that are still lacking. We will continue to improve the app. Please feel free to let me know if you have any needed features or inconveniences. Many thanks! Please enjoy PenCake! :)

Clintasha forever! ,

Wonderful; a few suggestions

This app is fantastic. I paid for the premium almost immediately because it’s so lovely. The design is absolutely beautiful and the functionality is almost perfect. I would like a “tab” button in the hot bar (for indenting paragraphs) because I use the app for novel writing. It would also be wonderful to be able to switch the articles between a chronological view and a manually sorted view. :D

Developer Response ,

Hi, thank you for using this app and for purchasing the premium! :) And, thank you so much for your nice suggestions! We promise you that we will add the function to manually sort articles in the future. Also we will try to add a "tab" button or "indent" function in the future. We will continue to make this app better. If you have further suggestions or any issues, please feel free to let us know. Thank you! :)

Information

Seller
Diffathy, Inc.
Size
124 MB
Category
Lifestyle
Compatibility

Requires iOS 9.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, Japanese, Korean

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Upgrade to Premium $3.99
  2. Upgrade to Premium $5.99
  3. Premium $5.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like