Screenshots

Description

Pixelmash brings a whole new approach to pixel art by letting you paint or import high-resolution images, then non-destructively pixelize and apply other layer effects to turn it into amazing pixel art.

This lets you do really cool things like create animations using layer transforms rather than having to paint every frame pixel-by-pixel...

Or make outlines, shading, and dithering easily adjustable by having them applied as layer effects...

Or easily create different resolutions and color variants of the same image...

Or convert photos or other hi-res artwork into pixel art using layer effects and the resolution slider.

It's the perfect tool for game makers, artists, and any lovers of the 8-bit and 16-bit era!

What’s New

Version 1.2.00

- Added tools to draw rectangles and circles
- Holding Shift while rotating in the transform tool snaps to 15 degree rotation increments
- In all brush tools, holding Shift while in line-drawing mode (accessed via right click) snaps to horizontal, vertical, and 45-degree lines
- New custom dither pattern option in dither effect
- New option to position dither patterns relative to layer position
- New outline-only option in outline effect
- Improved speed, particularly on retina displays
- Dragging in image files now prompts for import or open as new document
- Now use Alt+Shift (rather than just Shift) to temporarily enter erase mode in brush tools
- Other bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

4.0 out of 5
5 Ratings

5 Ratings

Scott Stevenson ,

Good ideas, promising start

Fairly polished, stable, straightforward UI. Does a lot more than I expected. The idea that you can work in higher fidelity and see it pixelized live, then choose a final pixel scale at export is interesting. I mostly found myself working in regular pixel mode, but might use these features more later.

The only significant bug is that the layers sometimes get moved around when I select them. It seems like single clicks sometimes get interpreted as drags, and this can end up with having to move slowly than I’d like, but this should be fixable in an update.

In terms of features, the two things I really found myself wanting are more shapes – e.g., triangle, multi-segment line, bezier – and the ability to lock specific layers. Rotation and more transformation options in general, such as perspective, would be a great bonus.

Overall, what’s here works well. If the layer dragging bug is fixed and a few more vector tools are added, this will be a five-star app.

dangw ,

Promising, but a ways to go

Giving 5 stars as this app has great potential and is already my favorite pixel app. That said it needs to continually evolve to keep my 5 stars.

In the short team, this app really needs the ability to import images into layers since I'm having to use another app for creating lines and shapes. You can only import right now into a new single layer project.

Two finger scroll to zoom is weird. Please give the option to use pinch to zoom and 2 finger scroll to pan!

Developer Response ,

We have many updates coming with many new features! You can import images into new layers in an existing document via the menu (File > Import Image) and as of the latest update we've added the ability to draw straight lines by using right-click in the various paint tools. But much more is coming for shape creation, stay tuned and thanks for the feedback!

-Mr. Nay Nay- ,

Terrible and unusable

This program is completely unusable. I create a new project and with the cursor tool the application runs smoothly. I switch to any other tool and I get TERRIBLE lag, making the program unusable. I have emailed support asking for a fix or a refund to no response. I am very unhappy with this purchase.
(2018 15" Macbook Pro i7 2.2Ghz Radeon 555X)

Developer Response ,

Have you tried the new beta (version 1.1.00) available on our site? This build includes some big speedups for several key operations. Most people don't seem to be experiencing this kind of lag so we'd definitely love to figure this out - can you send us an example file or a video or something so we can test and see what kind of slowdown you're experiencing? Send to support@nevercenter.com. Sorry you're experiencing this! If you want a refund you can get that by contacting Apple support, we can't give refunds for Mac App Store purchases ourselves.

Information

Seller
Nevercenter Ltd. Co.
Size
11.7 MB
Compatibility

OS X 10.9 or later, 64-bit processor

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2018 Nevercenter
Price
$24.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer