iPhone Screenshots


• The hottest effects – VHS, Glitch, Grain, Lomo, Cinema, Snapshot and many more
• Amazing live video filters
• Stylish intro & outro visual effects
• Lots of photo filters
• Video trimming
• Video speed adjuster

• Our selfie camera is just awesome
• Lots of beauty tools (real-time & post-processing)
• Whiten your teeth
• Smooth out your skin
• Enhance your facial features

• Choose a unique soundtrack
• Add and place funny sound effects

• Subscribe to get unlimited access to ALL of Prequel's features and tools
• Prequel Premium is available as a subscription with 3 options: weekly for $4.99 after a 3 day free trial, monthly for $7.99 after a 3 day free trial, annual $49.99 after a 3 day free trial. Prices may vary depending on your country of residence and may be converted to your local currency.
• Payment for your Prequel Premium subscription will be charged to your iTunes Account after purchase confirmation. Your subscription will automatically renew and your account will be charged for renewal within 24 hours prior to the end of the current period. You can turn off the auto-renewal at any time in your iTunes account settings but refunds will not be provided for any unused portion of a subscription period. If you purchase your subscription during the free trial period, any unused portion of the free trial period will be forfeited.

• Learn more about subscriptions here: https://aiarlabs.com/prequel-subscription
• Read our Terms of Use & Privacy Policy here: https://aiarlabs.com/prequel-terms

What’s New

Version 1.16.21

Thank you for your support and feedback! It inspires us to work on making Prequel even better.

This updated version has:
• New STOCKHOLM filters collection: radiant light tones to match any aesthetic
• New TORONTO filters collection: bring the energy of a big city to your photos
• Remastered effects covers for easier navigation
• Minor bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
48.1K Ratings

48.1K Ratings

adamgntr ,

Great Application, Worst subscription system

UPDATE: The watermark has been removed for free users!!!!!! Amazinnnng!!! Thank you Developers.
I don’t write that many reviews and much less bad reviews, although this app has some amazing and unique effects you may not find anywhere else, i have to point out to a really turn down fact which is your subscription system, paying weekly with as high price point is probably the worst I’ve came across yet, even if it’s something still affordable but it is absurd to pay such amount weekly for an app that you use once a week. We want to have the feeling of paying for something and not thinking about it much like one time purchases or at least make it monthly and reduce the price point. Anyway if you don’t mind the big water mark than you're fine with the free versions

Developer Response ,

Hello! Thank you for your high praise. There are 3 Prequel Gold subscription plans available: weekly, monthly, and yearly. For information on how to manage your subscription, please go to Settings > About Subscription of our app. If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact us at support@aiarlabs.com or through Settings > Send Feedback of our app. Thank you!

Hollythebird ,

Used to be my favorite app then they got greedy EDIT

Edit September 1st 2019: the developers responded with a super lame canned response justifying their 8+ subscription options. I cancelled mine last week. Over this app and on to another- note: don’t download this app friends they’re a greedy bunch who just had to mess with something they had that was good. 1 subscription tier was enough but to add more so you have to pay the highest amount to get everything is just downright rude. DEVELOPERS I SUGGEST YOU START GIVING REAL RESPONSES AND ACTUALLY READING REVIEWS INSTEAD OF SOME COPY AND PASTE BS. You lost me as a customer and I’m sure many more. I take my rating down to 1 star. AND DON’T respond with “try our free version etc blah blah” the free version is horrid and you’ve made it that way so people have to pay. Disappointed in your company. Don’t fix what’s broke, but you just had to have more $$$.

They used to have a FEW subscription options for premium. Now they have a TON so that you have to pay even MORE than you were for even more filters. Won’t be paying anymore. So sad because this used to be my go-to app. But they decided to get greedy because premium payment wasn’t enough already. If I pay $5 a week I shouldn’t have to pay more for more filters. $20/ month?!

Developer Response ,

Hello Hollythebird!

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with Prequel anymore. We understand your frustration, and we understand why you might have found the previous response off-putting.

If you do not mind, we would like to comment on some points you have made.

Prequel is an app that is currently going through a lot of changes. Our team is constantly working on it, bettering and polishing, listening to user’s requests, and trying to figure out the best features to add. This big list of features also includes the subscriptions. We understand that it may look as if we went overboard with the number of options. The reason for that is our want to learn which ones are the most convenient for our users. There is no pressure to pay the highest amount, in the end the choice to pay for Prequel Gold is totally up to a user.

Sorry you feel this way about our free version. We designed it aiming to let users get the most of our app for the least payment possible. It is an ambitious goal, so it is taking its sweet time to form and become as close to picture-perfect as possible.

Prequel grows and our team grows along. We make Prequel bigger, more functional, bolder. It is imminent that some changes will be made. We take pride in what we do, and we would never want to be idle about it. We want to shape Prequel into something wonderful, and we are happy to share this experience with all our users.

If you have any other thoughts, questions, or requests, please do not hesitate to contact us at support@aiarlabs.com or through Settings > Send Feedback of our app. Thank you again. We are always happy to receive detailed feedback as it helps us to become better.

pristidle ,

i wish you would get rid of this

everything about this app is AMAZING and i’m so happy that you offer users who want to use the limited version so many filters and effects for free, but the only thing that ruins it is the fact that you have to deal with a big watermark on your photo/video when you want to share it. the only way that i can get rid of the watermark is if i pay $5/WEEK and that’s to use everything in the app, there’s no option to just get rid of the watermark. i really wish that for the free version that you could get rid of the watermark because users are so excited once they’re done editing their photo/video and then a big watermark appears that you can’t get rid of. i’m completely fine with the fact that you don’t have access to all do the effects and filters unless you pay, but for me the watermark in the limited version makes this app so useless and not fun to use. i don’t have to money to be spending $5/week on an app i won’t use every single day. please understand and take the forced watermark away..

Developer Response ,

Hello! We will take your request into account.
We would like yo get more reviews from you, contact us via email : support@aiarlabs.com


Prequel Inc.
221.8 MB

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone 6S, iPhone 6S Plus, iPhone SE, iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone X, iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone 11 Pro Max, iPad Pro (12.9-inch), iPad Pro (12.9-inch) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (9.7‑inch), iPad Pro (9.7-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad (5th generation), iPad (5th generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9‑inch) (2nd generation), iPad Pro (12.9‑inch) (2nd generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (10.5‑inch), iPad Pro (10.5-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad (6th generation), iPad Wi-Fi + Cellular (6th generation), iPad Pro (11-inch), iPad Pro (11-inch) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9-inch) (3rd generation), iPad Pro (12.9-inch) (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini (5th generation), iPad mini (5th generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Air (3rd generation), iPad Air (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad (7th generation), iPad (7th generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, and iPod touch (7th generation).


English, Czech, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian Bokmål, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Age Rating
In-App Purchases
  1. Prequel Gold Weekly Special $2.99
  2. Prequel - Premium access $99.99
  3. Prequel Gold Monthly $9.99


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like