Screenshots

Description

Scandy Pro for iOS allows users to capture full-color 3D scans. Compatible with iPhone X, XS, XS Max, XR, 11, 11 Pro. and the new iPad Pro (2018 editions or later). Users can save scans and share files as .ply, .stl, or .obj formats. All rendering is done on-device and there is no need to register or store files in the cloud. Every user is provided with one free mesh save every day. Unlimited saves provided with the purchase of a subscription.

You no longer need to carry a peripheral scanner with your mobile device.

Users can choose to purchase the scans and share the files as .ply, .stl, .glb, .usdz, or .obj formats. User may also upload to Sketchfab directly from the app. Tapping the Viewer Mode icon from Scan Preview drops your scan into Augmented Reality where you can place points on the mesh and measure the distance between them.

PRICE AND TERMS:
Scandy Pro offers the following auto-renewing subscription options, which unlocks the ability to have unlimited saves of 3D meshes captured by the app:
* 1 week of unlimited saves: $1.99 (USD)
* 1 month of unlimited saves: $5.99 (USD)
* 1 year of unlimited saves: $49.99 (USD)
Prices may vary in other countries respecting your local currency exchange rate. Your subscription will be charged to your iTunes account. At the end of the term, unless auto-renewables subscriptions are disabled, your subscription will automatically renew in your iTunes account. You will be charged for the regular price of your subscription within 24 hours prior to the end of the current term. You can turn off automatic renewal in your iTunes account settings at any time, but you must do so at least 24 hours before the end of the current term. Refunds will not be provided for the unused portion of any term.


Notes.
1. Scandy Pro runs on an iPhone X, XS, XS Max, XR, 11, 11 Pro, or new iPad Pro to create scans since it depends on the TrueDepth front-facing sensor.

2. Users may purchase a subscription for unlimited file downloads.

3. If deleted, a 3D model is not recoverable. Scandy Pro does not backup or store any data in the cloud.

4. Scandy Pro is GPU intensive! You may notice a slowdown after your 5th or 6th scan in succession. Your iPhone is smart enough to slow its processing down during repetitive intensive operations. Taking time between scans will offer better performance.

5. All 3D scan data, processing, and storage take place solely on-device in Scandy Pro. Scan as you please, privately.

Scandy Pro Terms of Use: https://www.scandy.co/legal/terms-of-use

What’s New

Version 1.8.0

"New Features
• Updated interface for TrueDepth / ""Object"" scanning
• Updated interface for LiDAR / ""World"" scanning on iPad Pro 2020

Additional Upgrades
• Upgraded Roux to v0.8.0
• Minor bug fixes and improvements"

Ratings and Reviews

4.4 out of 5
947 Ratings

947 Ratings

iFire1991 ,

Remarkable

I’m delighted by the creativity here, genuinely excited for the opportunities that this app gives me, especially since my phone is really all I need.

I’m not an engineer by trade, but I’ve 3D modeled pretty much any project I’ve taken on from small mechanical items to building my first and second house.

Having said that, I’m an avid SketchUp user. Would there be any chance to implement an SKP format to export scans to? Even without textures. For example, in order for me to manipulate scans in software that I’m familiar with I’m importing to Dimension in order to export to glTF for SketchUp plugins to work and it takes a considerable amount of time for both programs to work properly.

Otherwise, great app and fairly priced subscription. Can’t wait for more updates!

Edit: Would also be interested in a turntable, if you manufactured a mirror kit and an adjustable turntable jig that would integrate with the app, this guy would be a very happy camper.

kad3nce ,

Wow. Magical.

This is the first time I’ve ever used a 3D scanner. What a cool experience!

I read a few of the more helpful reviews as well as the app description before downloading. I garnered a good idea of the limitations of the tech and my expectations were well met.

On a tangential note (because I gotta say something about this), I’m saddened to see that this app has another slew of ideologically motivated 1-star reviews.

The process of creating a product is deeply personal; putting oneself out into the world is, I believe, amongst the most courageous of human endeavors.

To those who have (or are about to) leave a 1-star review with accusations of price gouging and the like, please take a moment and dig for some empathy. There are human beings on the receiving end of your words. They were apparently captured by the idea of bringing something new into the world. They then spent a bunch of time (seriously! A buuunch... likely hundreds to thousands of hours pecking away at a keyboard). And they care deeply enough about the work to have continued working on it long after its initial release. How they present it to the world is informed by their own preferences, which likely are quite different from yours or mine. That certainly doesn't make them villains.

To the devs: thanks for giving me an awe inspiring moment this evening. Keep digging into yourselves. You're making great things.

Best,

—Jedidiah

Developer Response ,

Thanks so much for that kind review Jedidiah! We LOVE the fact that you found it a cool experience. That is truly awesome payback. While this is a labor of love for us, we do need to keep the lights on, so we appreciate you voicing your thoughts on the 1-star reviews around pricing. We get it - free is great. That's why we do offer free saves every day. We hope that enough users will find value from using the app and be willing to pay. Thanks for using Scandy Pro and letting us know you had a great experience with it.

markiemew ,

Not the best option

With all of the other free apps that do this same thing much better, it's really hard to justify paying for this sub-par app. It was probably the first, but it honestly feels so unpolished, and after using some other alternatives, this one is no doubt the worst one. It's just a lot less likely to get a usable scan very easily with Scandy Pro, whereas an app like Capture just yields a much better result. You can't charge a premium for something that is built into your phone. It's not some secret method that they're using.

Honestly, as long as you're not looking for direct export to your phone (which is useless and quite redundant imho) or for the wife range of colored model types (which can easily be converted into one another), I would opt for Capture by Standard Cyborg.

Developer Response ,

Sorry you had a poor experience. Please take the time to compare the in-app editing options in Scandy Pro vs those in other apps.

Information

Seller
Scandy LLC
Size
50.1 MB
Category
Utilities
Compatibility

Requires iOS 13.2 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Unlimited 3D File Saves $1.99
  2. Unlimited 3D File Saves $5.99
  3. Unlimited 3D File Saves $49.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like