Get the award-winning app that extends Schoology’s powerful learning management solution to your iOS device. Manage your classroom, create and submit assignments, participate in interactive discussions, perform assessments, collaborate with your peers, and much more!

With Schoology’s iOS mobile app, you can have rich and engaging academic experiences anytime, anywhere.

What’s New

Version 6.22.0

• Bug fixes and stability improvements.

Ratings and Reviews

1.3 out of 5
61.8K Ratings

61.8K Ratings

GusSnarp ,

Bad system, worse app

Schoology itself is a poorly designed system that attempts to turn what ought to be like a project management system into a friendly Facebook like interface, resulting in a system that is bad at being either. It is confusing and difficult for students and parents to navigate and actually know what needs to be done when. This is largely because it doesn’t enforce any standardized input from teachers, because it isolated courses from each other too much, and for parents, because they have to navigate to each student and then within each student to each course in a way that far too often requires two steps. For example, clicking on “courses” seems to open a page, but it’s really just a modal. So the user thinks that after selecting a course, they can click back to get to the courses list. Instead, you go back to the page before. The iOS app makes all this worse because it’s not a true native app, it’s a custom web browser that wraps the website. It cannot, however, display certain kinds of content internally like the website can. It tells you the content is unavailable. Most of it you can actually get to if you zoom in and find the external link, but this is very poor UI design. I would recommend school systems not spend the enormous amount of money this system must cost. As for the rest of us - we’re stuck with the schools’ bad decision, but you’re slightly better off going to a computer and avoiding the app whenever possible.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for providing this feedback.
Please consider posting a Feature Idea in our Community Forum with use cases and details to help us better understand your improvements for our mobile app:

spacehead10 ,

Good app, but a few bugs

The website of Schoology is very good. It is useful for school, especially during coronavirus quarantine because we have to learn from home. However, the app is not as good as the website. When I check the notifications, it doesn’t show me the new ones. Even after refreshing, it still just shows the old notifications. Then, after it finally shows me the new ones, the “notifications” section still has a red dot on it. (Even after the most recent update) When I close the app, it still says that there are a bunch of notifications. I also have trouble accessing links sometimes. Also, when a link actually works, the website it goes to always shows up in a pop-up. It never shows up in an actual browser. Another problem is that it takes forever to upload a video, which is a problem when I’m trying to submit a recorded project.

A summary of my review: The website is great, but the app needs some bug fixes.

Edit: Most of the links work, but there are still a few that don’t work. I’m still having problems with the notifications. When I checked the app this morning, it said that I had over 50 notifications. I did the same things: open notifications, refresh, go back to home page, refresh, go back to notifications, refresh. I repeated this process several times and I think I refreshed the page about 10 times, but there were still 50. I had to restart my iPad and then refresh 3 more times to get rid of that 50. There is still 1.

1()2()3 ,

An “app”, ha ha

I used all of my dang right information in this app. I double checked it to see any mistakes or errors, and saw none. So then I did all the other information stuff to get in to Schoology, but I come to a glitchy white screen that doesn’t take me anywhere. I needed the app for an assignment on my phone, because I tried to get an example of something so I could get help with my assignment. But I clicked example, and it said I needed to download the schoology app. I went to the App Store. When I saw schoology it had a 1.4 rating. I just downloaded this app without seeing any reviews. So I did my right information, then went back to the schoology place and it said I still needed to get the app. I wouldn’t actually call this a “learning material”, or an “app”. I would call it a trashy scam that needs to be fixed. Just make a HUGE update, like fixing how glitchy the app is, and etc. I un-downloaded the app, and so it was very hard to do my assignment. I had to have two computers in my face looking at a different one about every couple seconds. If the schoology app works, my assignment would’ve been a breeze. So don’t download this app. It’s a waist of you’re phone storage. So just use a, computer because it’s a million times better than the app. And it’s confusing to get on to. Probably we should create a new app that has a big similarity to schoology. But in the mean time, I’m going to call this app a piece of hot garbage, crap, and a scam.


Schoology, Inc
119.1 MB

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.


English, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish

Age Rating


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like