Get the award-winning app that extends Schoology’s powerful learning management solution to your iOS device. Manage your classroom, create and submit assignments, participate in interactive discussions, perform assessments, collaborate with your peers, and much more!

With Schoology’s iOS mobile app, you can have rich and engaging academic experiences anytime, anywhere.

What’s New

Version 2021.09.1

• Roadmap features implementation and bug fixes.

Ratings and Reviews

1.3 out of 5
102.9K Ratings

102.9K Ratings

GusSnarp ,

Bad system, worse app

Schoology itself is a poorly designed system that attempts to turn what ought to be like a project management system into a friendly Facebook like interface, resulting in a system that is bad at being either. It is confusing and difficult for students and parents to navigate and actually know what needs to be done when. This is largely because it doesn’t enforce any standardized input from teachers, because it isolated courses from each other too much, and for parents, because they have to navigate to each student and then within each student to each course in a way that far too often requires two steps. For example, clicking on “courses” seems to open a page, but it’s really just a modal. So the user thinks that after selecting a course, they can click back to get to the courses list. Instead, you go back to the page before. The iOS app makes all this worse because it’s not a true native app, it’s a custom web browser that wraps the website. It cannot, however, display certain kinds of content internally like the website can. It tells you the content is unavailable. Most of it you can actually get to if you zoom in and find the external link, but this is very poor UI design. I would recommend school systems not spend the enormous amount of money this system must cost. As for the rest of us - we’re stuck with the schools’ bad decision, but you’re slightly better off going to a computer and avoiding the app whenever possible.

Developer Response ,

Thank you for providing this feedback.
Please consider posting a Feature Idea in our Community Forum with use cases and details to help us better understand your improvements for our mobile app:

spacehead10 ,

Good app, but a few bugs

The website of Schoology is very good. It is useful for school, especially during coronavirus quarantine because we have to learn from home. However, the app is not as good as the website. When I check the notifications, it doesn’t show me the new ones. Even after refreshing, it still just shows the old notifications. Then, after it finally shows me the new ones, the “notifications” section still has a red dot on it. (Even after the most recent update) When I close the app, it still says that there are a bunch of notifications. I also have trouble accessing links sometimes. Also, when a link actually works, the website it goes to always shows up in a pop-up. It never shows up in an actual browser. Another problem is that it takes forever to upload a video, which is a problem when I’m trying to submit a recorded project.

A summary of my review: The website is great, but the app needs some bug fixes.

Edit: Most of the links work, but there are still a few that don’t work. I’m still having problems with the notifications. When I checked the app this morning, it said that I had over 50 notifications. I did the same things: open notifications, refresh, go back to home page, refresh, go back to notifications, refresh. I repeated this process several times and I think I refreshed the page about 10 times, but there were still 50. I had to restart my iPad and then refresh 3 more times to get rid of that 50. There is still 1.

I belive in santa 100 ,

So many things need to change

Now I know kids are rating this app 1 start so they don’t have to use it anymore but I really don’t like the website/app. 1 for your school to have schoology you have to pay, when you could use google classroom for free. 2 website is always crashing, no matter how good my WiFi is or how many People are trying to get on at one time we have all experienced schoology to not load and not work. 3 although it is nice that you can organize with folder and folders in folders it takes way to long to get to something if you do that, I suggest that after the assignment has been completed it goes away and there should be a tap under all classes saying “all materials” and change the one that is all materials now to “assigned” it would be so much easier to get to things. 4 when you open an assignment and hit “my document” it is sooo small, I don’t know if I’m typing correctly and I can’t see what the question is asking it is so annoying. 5 overdue/missing assignments needs to get better, if something is overdue or almost overdue and I haven’t turned it in of course I like to get an email saying “THIS IS ALMOST DUE” instead of “mr. _____ has updated schoology. Also, sometimes I have something overdue and I know I do, and it’s not even on the “overdue”board. Very poor way to have missing assignments. There are many more reasons, schoology please look at these reviews and try and fix it because if you didn’t already know the app only has 1 star.

App Privacy

The developer, Schoology, Inc.
, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • User Content
  • Identifiers

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Usage Data
  • Diagnostics

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You Might Also Like