Screenshots

Description

Learn how to draw using new SketchAR technology - computer vision and augmented reality merged together to speed up the learning process and make it more entertaining.

SketchAR is for those who have always wanted to draw but have never been able to. The app is also designed for professional artists as a simple and convenient way to trace sketches onto any desired surface (e.g., canvas, a wall, etc.).

FOR CORRECT DETECTION, PLEASE FOLLOW THESE TIPS!
- Make sure the environment is bright enough. All AR technology requires a sufficiently bright room.
- Don’t forget to use a clipboard or some method of fixation so your piece of paper won't move as you sketch.
- Don't shake your smartphone.

1. NO more markers for AR!
We are happy to say we have finally integrated the first version of our computer vision Method that doesn't use any pre-installed markers. Now all you need to do is show a piece of paper to your camera, and the virtual sketch will appear on the surface.

2. Courses with drawing lessons.
Choose between a number of step-by-step drawing lessons. You can start with a beginner set or delve deep into a specific topic of your choice to improve your skills, for example, portraits or anime. Learn to draw animals, cartoons, anime, graffiti and lots of other cool things.

3. Step-by-step drawing tool.
If you don't have paper to try out our main feature, you can practice via the new drawing tool. The distinguishing feature is that the app gives you the right tool at each stage when you need it. (a pencil, a marker or a brush). A time-lapse of your work will automatically be saved in the app profile. You can share your achievements with friends.

If you want to draw on big surfaces like a wall or large canvas, you will need to use a smartphone with ARKit, all iPhones after 6s
For other smartphones, SketchAR will only work correctly on A4/A5 paper.

We always interested in getting your opinion. Remember that you can always message us through the in-app chat or email: support@sketchar.tech

What’s New

Version 6.0.8

Meet SketchAR 6.0!

You know us as the No. 1 innovative app for drawing. It’s time to turn SketchAR into a platform for sharing artworks with millions and unite all the creators from around the globe.

Here are some new things we've been busy working away on recently:

- Contests. Now there is a place where everyone can share their artworks. Show your style to millions. Be inspired by other creators.
- SketchAR PREMIUM. We open special access to all features of the app. An artist with a Premium Account can start contests and much more. To get the Premium Account, you need to be very active in posting high-quality artworks, liking artworks of other artists and sharing content.
- New tab bar. We collect all educational content (lessons, sketches) in one category – School.
- Time-lapse videos. Now such videos of the drawing process are created automatically. Please accept this feature when starting AR for the first time.
- Login with Snapchat. Getting started is even easier.
- General improvements and bug fixing.

Ratings and Reviews

4.2 out of 5
2.3K Ratings

2.3K Ratings

TangledRivers ,

Needs Work

This is a really cool idea and I love the idea of being able to upload your own photos and trace them. For me this helped with getting command of the tablet pen because I’m used to Wacom tablets which have more traction under the pen rather than gliding straight across, which made the pen harder for me to handle. I used this to help me gain confidence in drawing circles and lines evenly with this glossy surface. For that it served its purpose alright. But the problem is that, at least as a left handed user, the way the drawing page is set up is frustrating. For instance, I was constantly bumping the back button and would exit the thing I was drawing partway through and not be able to finish it. Also, any time I drew in a horizontal line, the opacity for the tracing paper would increase or decrease when I was trying to make the line. This would constantly pop up no matter what angle I had it at. It was very hard to press in such a way it would not trigger this pop up. This should not be something that can be triggered by the pen at all, only the button on the right side. This was just really frustrating honestly. I did manage to complete a sketch and it was nice. But I just feel like the placement and triggering for things needs to be reconsidered.

Developer Response ,

Hello! Thank you for your feedback! I've transferred your comment to our developers for they could take it into account. We hope you see positive changes in future updates. Have a great day!

oof leah ,

It needs lots of work.

Use this app because I love drawing, but it has a whole lot of issues. Number one where am I supposed to put the Phone, I understand this app is mostly for adults but, I a 12 year old can’t draw with one hand. Number two I can’t draw with my window open, the lights have too be on for the Image to show correctly. Three is I am a kid, I don’t have enough money too pay for Subscription, and All the free stuff is just cartoons and hard detailed stuff. I find that there’s no Medium level free stuff. I understand that You tried hard on this but it’s not that good. Fourth is that it takes a few minutes for it to detect the paper, and I have pretty ok lighting. I’ve tried to draw even on my wall but it doesn’t work because I cannot Hold the paper, I hate that fact. I’ve grown up drawing always holding the paper with one hand so this bugs me a bunch. I got this app yesterday and All these problems and I’ve seen more problems than these, I would be happy if you explained how to use the app more. I haven’t drawn one thing yet because of the angles and my messy one hand drawings. I understand apps like this take quite a long time to perfect but Your app is kinda on the correct level, just going the wrong way. Anyways! thank you for reading this review!

Developer Response ,

Hi! Thank you for experiencing our app and telling us your opinion! We will pass it to our developers for consideration. Best regards!

Haloman999 ,

Pretty good app but needs work.

I downloaded this app because I am a terrible drawer and I was looking for a way to learn. The app works surprisingly well, but has a few issues. The tracking is very finicky. If you do not hold the phone perfectly still and have near perfect the imagine will jitter all over the page. When using the cross feature, if your shadow touches one of the markers it will also make the image warp all over the page. That means you have to draw at odd angles in order to avoid this. I understand that is an issue with my lighting and not the app, but it shouldn’t happen with such a small amount of shadow. The app is still pretty neat, but is not even close to being worth nearly thirty dollars. Subscriptions don’t interest me, because I would much rather own something and pay for it in full. If the price was lowered to ten dollars for the lifetime ownership that would make up for its drawbacks, but I feel that a 28 dollar app should work flawlessly almost all the time.

Developer Response ,

Hello! Thank you very much for your high rating and detailed review. We're glad that you like the app! There are indeed some extra functions in our Pro-version, but all the main features are available for free. Our developers will be glad to receive your suggestions. Have a nice day!

Subscriptions

1 year
An access to all functions for one year.
Free Trial
1 month
All access to all functions for one month
$4.99

Information

Seller
SKETCHAR UAB
Size
90.7 MB
Category
Education
Compatibility

Requires iOS 12.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Turkish

Age Rating
4+
Copyright
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. 1 month $4.99
  2. 1 year $29.99
  3. 1 year. Special offer $29.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like