Screenshots

Description

SXSW® GO, presented by Showtime, is the official mobile app for getting the most out of attending SXSW 2020. With SXSW GO, you can upload your badge photo, get personalized recommendations, build your schedule, network with other attendees, request SXXpress Passes, see real-time event status and more!

Sign in with your SXSW credentials to unlock these features.



FEATURES INCLUDE:

Abby, the SXSW chatbot– Casual, fun conversational-style user experience and an easy to follow guided menu to help navigate SXSW, find out what’s happening, and get timely answers to FAQs.

Schedule - Browse the entire SXSW 2020 schedule and plan your week. Watch Film trailers, listen to Artist’s tracks, learn more about Session speakers. Star events as My Favorites and easily sync your favorites between devices.

Networking - Search the directory for other Attendees and quickly send direct messages. Boost your networking with personalized recommendations from SXSW Recommends. Opt in to location services to see who’s around you.

What’s New

Version 13.0

New for SXSW 2020:
-Abby the SXSW chatbot delivers inline recommendations. Favorite events and build your schedule directly from Abby’s conversational UI.
-The SXSW Recommends algorithm has been optimized for the 2020 event with machine learning! Get personalized recommendations and opt in to notifications for real-time recommendations.
-Bug fixes and UI enhancements

Ratings and Reviews

3.5 out of 5
358 Ratings

358 Ratings

andrew.hendo ,

Major features don’t work on iphoneX.

Latest Update:
- deleted the app completely. Downloaded again as noticed they had done update for iPhonex. Seems to be working much better now on the issues.

My current list of issues - I run app on iphoneX:
- can’t update profile pic - missing feature
- won’t save favourites of anything as lose it on next sync
- planned schedule on website instead and expected it to sync to app - doesn’t
- filters don’t work - can’t move sliders
- slow performance
- rsvp doesn’t work

Basically app is useless for its most critical purpose and that is helping to plan the experience we pay for at SXSW. I now revert to paper guide and using iCal sync from the website scheduler. The only thing I use for is venue addresses.

Hard to believe given this is a design and engineering conference. This app simple hasn’t been tested.

Developer Response ,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. I am glad the iPhone X update improved your experience. We are always looking for ways to improve our app. I will take this feedback to our mobile dev team. If you have any additional thoughts we would be happy to hear them. Please let us know more at mobiledev@sxsw.com.

Execute ,

Ads compound problem

This app is useful. It’s easier to access than the web schedule.

Although the functionality is limited (hard to scroll, slow response, can’t search by location) it’s actually one of the best conference apps since most conference apps are horrible.

However, the app has many, many ads. Every time you launch, there’s a non -skippable ad. My device is a bit old (6S) and this takes 5 seconds. It’s the same ad for Showtime. I’m already a subscriber. You can’t turn this off. It takes 5 seconds to load and tap “skip ad.”

When you’re browsing the schedule, there’s a non-skippable banner ad with 15-20% of the screen. Again for showtime. With the other navigation wrapper, this means you can only see 3-4 items and scrolling is jerky. This means when you swipe you go past where you want.

This conference is paid. I understand trying to get some ad revenue, but it’s worsening your user experience. Comically, there are dozens of sessions with great designers about design. There’s probably some SXSW employee weeping at having to sacrifice design principles for the release of this app.

I would prefer just a giant pdf and text search (not available).

Oh yeah, the capacity feature is neat, but not very accurate or useful. Although I don’t think this is a flaw in the app. Likely the data capture and estimate.

Developer Response ,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our app. I will take this feedback to our mobile dev team. If you have any additional thoughts we would be happy to hear them. Please let us know more at mobiledev@sxsw.com.

neps ,

Worst part of SXSW...

...is this App.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s great when it works - up to the minute information about the schedule, suggestions about what conferences to attend, up to the minute line “status”

But it frustrating to use a frustrating amount of the time, specially for a conference that is supposed to be for interactives, I’d expect better execution!

Scrolling the list is constantly wonky, going into a detail page and then back to the list you loose your place, or events show up multiple times - creating an infinite scroll affect.

If you’re playing audio in the app, the layering makes some of it unusable.

When loading detail pages sometimes it crashes out within the app and the detail page goes away and returns me back to the start of the app, loosing my place and forcing me to search again.

The express pass is a nice idea, but I only got it to work once after being there for a week and trying at 9am the day prior as instructed.

Easier filtering would be nice - maybe some way to scan the “hotter” discussions than the weaker ones. You’re often deciding between a dozen sessions at the same time that you want to attend - would be great if there was a way to compare them with some metadata to help aid in decision making

Information

Seller
SXSW Media, LLC.
Size
167.5 MB
Category
Entertainment
Compatibility

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
12+
Infrequent/Mild Cartoon or Fantasy Violence
Infrequent/Mild Profanity or Crude Humor
Infrequent/Mild Realistic Violence
Infrequent/Mild Alcohol, Tobacco, or Drug Use or References
Infrequent/Mild Sexual Content and Nudity
Infrequent/Mild Mature/Suggestive Themes
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
Price
Free

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like