What’s New

Version 4.1.0

Bug fixes and performance improvements

Ratings and Reviews

3.3 out of 5
114 Ratings

114 Ratings

la la la la la dee dah ,

Love the idea but it’s not without glitches

I think this is such a wonderful idea to help reduce traffic within the areas of downtown San Diego. I’ve had trouble catching a ride using the app and it’s very hit or miss for me. When I catch a ride in a timely manner and I have a pleasant driver it’s the most wonderful thing. However, I have been left with a very bad feeling ever since one of the drivers made an off-the-cuff comment about how local San Diegans are cheap and never tip whereas tourists always do tip. I have to be honest, I didn’t realize tipping was a part of the experience and I awkwardly fumbled for some some dollars in my wallet only to find that I didn’t have any, which made the remainder of my ride incredibly awkward for me. I didn’t want to tell her I was local nor did I want to tell her I was a tourist because either way I would be judged. Quite frankly I haven’t taken a ride since and I used to use it all the time; that is, when I could catch a ride. That experience just made me feel very awkward and awful and I haven’t quite been able to shake it.

Developer Response ,

Hello, we’re sorry to hear about your experience and how it has made you feel, we never want our riders to feel uncomfortable especially due to the actions of our drivers. Our drivers always appreciate tips but they are never mandatory and always at the discretion of the rider, we are unable to encourage or solicit tips in San Diego so this may have contributed to your confusion. If you would like to give us any other information or continue the conversation please don't hesitate to send an email to We hope you will join us for another ride again soon!

Lotachan ,

The Best drivers + Idea , but “unreliable” App

This is a wonderful idea and when I’ve been able to use it has been life-saving but in the other side the application is not really working. The driver is not always getting notification when you request a pick up. To you It is showing that the request is being done. You can be waiting and see your driver passed in front of you and they have no idear that they have to pick you up. On the other side it’s’s been two days that I’ve been requesting pick ups and I have been receiving a message with no drivers available consistently. When I’ve asked drivers if they were very busy they were surprise and said they weren’t. so I don’t know what happened but it’s really a pity.
Hope they get to tune the App so it works well. All the rest is fantastic, the idea, the service and especially the drivers are all wonderful and they really make their best to accommodate you. I’m using the Williamsburg, NY service.

Developer Response ,

Hi Lotachan, thank you for your kind words and for reaching out to us. We are constantly working to improve our app. If you'd like to, please contact us at with additional detail!

piontkowski ,

App still runs in background for no reason

Have used the service from other people’s phones and the rides are good and convenient. This app is still bad though. Just downloaded for myself last night. This morning my phone battery is 1/4 of what it was last night and the battery settings page says this app ran for 10.5 hrs in the background. My settings are the same for this app as other ride sharing apps I have: background app refresh is off and location services are set for “while using”. But while those apps suspend properly after pressing the home button, this one sees fit to keep running in the background somehow. Doing what exactly? Luckily swiping up stopped the bleeding.

Developer Response ,

Hello rpiontko, thanks for the review and for the feedback we're glad to hear from you! thanks for the review and for the feedback we're glad to hear from you! We're happy to let you know we've released an update that should curb battery drain and we are continuing to work on further updates that will increase efficiency. If the issue persists please contact us at We hope to have you along for another ride soon!


The Free Ride Inc
107.7 MB

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.



Age Rating
Rated 4+
© 2017 The Free Ride, Inc.


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like