The Social Express II 4+

Your Best SEL Tool‪!‬

The Language Express, Inc

Designed for iPad

    • 2.7 • 22 Ratings
    • Free
    • Offers In-App Purchases

iPad Screenshots

Description

Social Learning Made Easy!

The Social Express® is engaging, educational curriculum for children and young adults with social learning challenges. The curriculum is designed to teach users how to think about and manage social situations, helping them to develop meaningful social relationships and succeed in life.

How It Works
Video Modeling on Steroids!

Help Zack, Emma, Sam, and Katie solve social problems! Each fully-animated, interactive lesson targets one of many skills children and young adults need to learn in order to develop meaningful relationships and successfully navigate our social world.

Who Can it Help?
Our innovative curriculum targets core social deficit areas that stand in the way of school, social, and life success for children and young adults with social learning challenges.

How Will Children with Social Learning Challenges Benefit?
As a safe, controlled, and familiar learning environment, The Social Express provides an opportunity for users to become more socially competent and have successful social interactions.

The Social Express membership includes the following:

81 Animated Interactive Webisodes
Flexible Teaching Plans
Pre and Post-Assessments
eBooks
Game Room
Printable User Guide
Offline Activities
Bonus Material – Enhance Social Skills Learning with our Original Songs and Worksheets


Potential benefits include the ability to:
● Identify feelings in others
● Understand the importance of “eye contact” (thinking with your eyes) in order to figure out what to say or do in social situations
● Read non-verbal social cues
● Identify appropriate coping strategies
● Learn how to start conversations
● Learn how to be part of a group
● Learn about the hidden rules in social situations
● Sequence situations and infer what will come next
● Figure out what to talk about with friends
● Monitor when others are using appropriate social behaviors
● Learn about using figurative language (idioms) in conversation
● Stay on topic when having conversations
● Watch social situations unfold and see how behavior can have negative or positive consequences


The Social Express is based on best practices and programs that feature cognitive behavioral techniques and visual strategies.

Terms of Use: https://www.brightenlearning.com/terms-of-use/
Privacy Policy: https://www.brightenlearning.com/privacy-policy/

What’s New

Version 7.4

• Bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

2.7 out of 5
22 Ratings

22 Ratings

jennasdad ,

Social Express

This app is really good, however for 5.99 a month it is way too expensive since the content rarely changes.

Developer Response ,

The Social Express is a comprehensive social skills program which may be needed for some individuals for 1 month or 1 year until they have gained the benefits from the program. Therefore your monthly fee is to access the content until you no longer need it. You may cancel anytime. We give you the option of a monthly license or an annual so you have flexibility on how much time you need.

specialappssk ,

Susbscription-based apps are a no go

So sad that this is the "replacement" for the Social Express app I purchased, which was then removed from the App Store. This "replacement" equals similar content, except you pay into eternity to be able to access what you once had for a one-time fee. Those of us who used our dollars to purchase the original app (and it was not a cheap app) should have been given a LIFETIME subscription, since the app was removed from the App Store with little warning, and no recourse. Please fix this situation, the content is decent but there is a bad taste in my mouth...

Updated to make it one star instead of two. Your responses to people who purchased and loved this app before it became yet another subscription model are frankly rude. Gross.

Developer Response ,

Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are concerned that your complaint is not validated as you discuss the new content for the subscription, but you have you actually purchased the subscription? The original app featured 16 lessons, the new program has 81 lessons yes the original 16 are included but all else are new. Futhermore, we have created student logins and full data analytics to track progress none of this was part of the original application. WE do offer a lifetime discount of 50% off the new app should you contact us for the promo code. We had hoped our original app would keep working but ios11 killed it and many other apps as well.

Jen2397 ,

Money maker

Back in 2012 I purchased the full app for over $200 and when I needed to update and get a new generation iPad and redownload my apps I find this one has changed to a monthly subscription and I was not allowed the access to even the version I paid for in full. To say I’m irritated is an understatement. It was a good app for me as a speech pathologist and use with many kids but I can see how if only one child the short lessons would not be valuable enough to justify the cost. That being said, I did use the app often but also can not justify paying a monthly subscription for an app that does not add new content often especially when I already spent so much to purchase in the first place.

Developer Response ,

Dear Jen,
Thank you for your review. You infer that the app was effective and you used with many students. That's a good thing right? The reason you are unable to access the original program is somnething that changed back in 2013 due to Apple changing their operating system which effected a lot of apps. Instead of investing into an update for the original program we decided to augement the program. We offered 50% off to past users for many years, somthing you never took advantage of. You mention we don't add new content, that is absoltuely false, since 2012. we tripled the content and added a full curriculum to the program. Something you have not seen as you have not subscribed. What is helpful in reviews is sharing with potential customers the efficacy of a program. The cost is irrelevant if your getting the results. We wish you the best.

App Privacy

The developer, The Language Express, Inc, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info
  • User Content

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • User Content

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

You Might Also Like

Conversation Planner
Education
Say It... Or Not?
Education
Do it... Or Not?
Education
Between the Lines Level2 Lt HD
Education
TeachTown Social Skills
Education
Social Learning Platform (SLP)
Education