Four of Deutsche Grammophon’s legendary recordings collected in one exceptional app to give you unparalleled insight into an iconic piece.

Features include:

• Compare the performances: Listen to four recordings of the piece spanning 50 years, and switch seamlessly between them with a touch – at any point in the music – to hear a note start in one decade and finish in another.

• Discover the BeatMap: This groundbreaking visualization of the performances shows different sections of the orchestra pulse in time with the music.

• Explore the music: Beethoven’s 9th Symphony lets you immerse yourself in Beethoven’s late masterpiece – follow the score or the 1825 manuscript, precisely synchronized to the music.

Bonus features available on your iPad:

• Join the experts: Watch over 90 minutes of specially filmed insights from musicians, writers and great conductors including John Eliot Gardiner, Gustavo Dudamel and members of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

• The story of the symphony: The app also features a book on Beethoven and the Ninth Symphony, plus two levels of real-time analysis and commentary by the pianist, composer and broadcaster David Owen Norris.

If you enjoy Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, don’t forget to rate it and leave a review – it really helps!

What’s New

Version 2.0.11

Optimised for the latest iPad Pros

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
34 Ratings

34 Ratings

blue-j ,


This is amazing value: 4 great recordings plus two types of score and a facsimile of the original score that was used for the World premiere of the piece.
I love the video recordings and found the essays really interesting too.
Could we have some more please: Stravinsky’s ‘Rite of Spring’ would be amazing if treated under this kind of microscope.
Messiaen’s ‘Quartet for the end if time’ or Bach’s ‘Brandenburg Concertos’ also come to mind. The interplay between the soloists and the concertante would really come out in an app like this.
Well done guys!

Carlos.P ,


So beautiful l, it will be lovely to have more music with the score at the same time. Please developers will you include more music in your app?

Mr Science tech ,

The best gets better.

Top notch, love it.

In-App Purchases

The Full Beethoven Experience
Unlock the entire symphony and bonus features


Amphio Limited
2 GB

Requires iOS 9.2 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.


English, German, Japanese, Simplified Chinese

Age Rating
Rated 4+
© Classical Apps Ltd
In-App Purchases
  1. Full Experience £4.99
  2. The Full Beethoven Experience £4.99
  3. Full Experience (iPhone discount) £4.99


  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like