Fast, detailed and entirely offline maps with turn-by-turn navigation – trusted by over 140 million travelers worldwide.

Save mobile data; no internet is required.

Use driving, walking and cycle navigation anywhere in the world.

Save you time planning the trip and never miss an interesting place with our ready-made travel guides. We've partnered with the best travel content creators to build travel guide catalog for hunderds of destinations around the world. Whether you prefer city travel, car trips or outdoor activities you will find a great choice of guides for a perfect journey.

Directions to points of interest (POIs), hiking trails and places missing from other maps.

Maps are updated by millions of OpenStreetMap contributors daily. OSM is an open-source alternative to Google Maps and Apple Maps.

Offline search, GPS navigation along with optimized maps to effectively save memory space.

Save locations you love and share them with your friends.

Essential for home and travel.

MAPS.ME is free to download and use.

– Search through different categories, e.g. restaurants, cafes, tourist attractions, hotels, ATMs and public transport (metro, bus, etc).
– Make hotel bookings via directly from the app.
– Share your location via text message or social media.
– When cycling or walking, the app shows whether the way is uphill or downhill.

Continued use of GPS running in the background can dramatically decrease battery life.
If you have any questions, visit our Help Center:
If you are unable to find the answer to your question, contact us at:
Follow us on FB: | Twitter: @MAPS_ME

Privacy Policy:
Terms of Use:

What’s New

Version 12.0.3

Search & discover, tourist guides and navigation available offline all over the world.
This update includes bookmarks recovery, offline maps, bug fixes and performance improvements.

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
2.9K Ratings

2.9K Ratings

jalexanderdatkins ,

Really Well Done

This is my new favourite OpenStreetMap client, since I updated to iOS 11 where the last one I was using doesn’t work. Everything is well executed and simple to use, with some thoughtful features. Effort has gone especially into making it usable offline in a foreign country, but I use it mainly for finding extra detail such as footpaths in the city where I live. The only surprise is that you can’t choose between different renderings of the map, although you can add traffic and transport layers.

To people complaining about the ads: you can disable that easily in settings and there is no penalty for doing so.
I’m not sure why choosing a starting point for routing isn’t working for other people. It works for me.

Nev_1 ,

More a bug report than a review.

Review 3rd Jan 2021. Updated again which appears to have rolled back to the good version.
My only problem with this now is that the bookmark back up is not a true cloud backup in my opinion. I wanted to transfer my bookmarks from my old phone to my new phone. However the backup appears to be device specific. I got all my old bookmarks back on my old phone and then backed them up to the cloud. Then using the same phone number I tried to recover them on my new phone but it only allowed me to select a backup for that device. Please fix this and the app will be very good.
The only situation I can see where you would need backup is if you lose or change your phone therefore a device specific backup is pointless.

Latest version as of 22 December 2020.
iPad version is stuck in portrait mode.
I was going to transfer my bookmarks from an old phone to my new phone using the cloud option.
However a lot of my bookmarks where I carefully named them with meaningful names now come up as unnamed bookmark or unknown place.
The bookmark still works but they are now meaningless.
Also features on the map have gone missing. My Marina for instance now has no water in it! I can only imagine what other features are missing that I don’t know about.
Please fix this as I think the program is very good otherwise.

Developer Response ,

Dear Friends, thank you for your feedback and apologise for the inconvenience. We have a New Year’s gift for you - MAPS.ME in the App Store, just the way you’ve always loved it 100% offline. All your bookmarks with the colours you like. All maps and POIs in place Search. OSM data with all the little details (little paths, building numbers, fire hydrants, benches and more). And - Zero advertising for everyone, Fresh colours. After downloading the update, you will be able to use offline maps as before and enjoy even more. We have read each of your comments, studied your suggestions and recommendations. The new version is a result of this. We know how valuable your bookmarks are. These are the places associated with memories and highlights of life. Many of you have 1000s of them. As you will see, all your bookmarks are active again - travel, explore new places, make itineraries and enjoy adding news ones - your way. Thank you for taking with you. Thanks to a community of loyal users, MAPS.ME will continue to be the most user-friendly offline navigation app. In the New Year, we look forward to taking more suggestions onboard from you, our loyal clients and friends. Thank you again for your patience and active participation in creating this update. Sincerely yours and Happy New Year, Team

Headington ,

Good but glitched

I started using this when I had a limited-data contract and still prefer it to Google Maps in many ways: it works with no connection, everything is on-device so no lag, it can tell you a straight-line distance to anywhere instantly. But there are some glitches now: I can’t switch the units to miles for some reason, whatever I do. Also, its function to instantly give you a straight-line distance to somewhere (which used to be hugely useful since it took no time to plan a route) is now broken for really close distances. Looking at some points just a few buildings down my road, they’re measured as 290 metres, then almost next door 570, then suddenly 910, then back to 200 (probably accurate). I only get this for near distances, further distances measure accurately. I’m glad to hear from the developers below-stay safe guys!-and hope they can turn things around.

Developer Response ,


thanks for reporting the issue.

We are aware of these bugs and hope to fix them in the future, but the we can't promise a quick fix, and the timeframes will depend on our resources.

App Privacy

The developer, STOLMO LIMITED, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Purchases
  • Financial Info
  • Location
  • Contact Info
  • User Content
  • Identifiers

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info
  • User Content
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data
  • Diagnostics
  • Other Data

Privacy practices may vary based on, for example, the features you use or your age. Learn More


  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

You May Also Like