A. O. Smith 4+

A. O. Smith

Designed for iPad

    • 1.6 • 164 Ratings
    • Free

Screenshots

Description

With constant remote monitoring and helpful tools designed just for professionals, the A. O. Smith Mobile App features the iCOMM™ connectivity platform, the latest technology for remote water heater management.

Through an easy setup process, connect all your iCOMM™ enabled water heaters to the app. Once connected, you’ll gain access to diagnostic fault notifications, settings for your water heaters and much more.
Whether for your home or your business, the iCOMM platform offers you peace of mind.


Designed for Professionals

XPERT Water Heater Selection Tool
Provides personalized recommendations to help you identify the best options for your customers.

iCOMM™ Connectivity Platform
Stay connected to the water heaters you install to monitor your water heaters remotely and adjust temperatures and settings.

Warranty Check & Product Cross-Reference
Find the warranty status for an A. O. Smith water heater and get replacement suggestions based on the current brand and model.


Designed for Homeowners

iCOMM™ Connectivity Platform
Stay connected to your water heater by monitoring temperature, schedules and more.

Operation Mode
Choose your ideal operating mode depending on how you use your water heater.

Demand Response and Time-of-Use Alignment
Align your water heater to your utility company’s Demand Response or Time-of-Use programs rate plans through the app to save energy.

What’s New

Version 12.3.0

- Predictable Wi-Fi Connection Flow per Device
- Additional Tankless Water Heater Functionality
- Specific Changes for Canadian Users
- General DR Improvements
- General UX Improvements
- Reduced Crashes
- Reduced Bugs

Ratings and Reviews

1.6 out of 5
164 Ratings

164 Ratings

GeneralPatton ,

Mostly Featureless and Unpredictable

First off, our family has used A.O.Smith products since I was growing up. I was always under the impression they made high quality equipment. Unfortunately when I bought a hybrid unit for the first time… This turns out not to be as expected… The app never seems to reconnect to the hot water heater after closing the app. I have to re-enter credentials every time I want to check on the status. It also won’t send an alert if the unit loses power which would be a simple monitor from the server end. It won’t give you the option to be alerted when it’s running or alert when it’s topped off… Speaking of servers, the one they are using to run this app is terrible and has been down for over a week with no access to the controller from the app.

Now hear me out, these are obviously all 1st world problems and in the grand scheme of things very tiny. However when you pay a PREMIUM for a product expecting to be able to use the features you paid for, and then turns out to be as flaky as it is… makes you question whether or not you want to purchase any other product from them.

And don’t get me started on the useless tech support phone number. I called 4 different times before I was able to land a decent technician. If you can read this before purchasing one of these hot water heaters, shop around. Hopefully there are more reliable brands out there.

Stormy150 ,

Very limited use

I had high expectations of both the hot water heater product and the app. Neither have materialized. The app shows hot water usage with 3 bars. The hot water available is in orange and blue is used (essentially not hot). Very limited info therefore on how much used - how long to replenish - energy used etc. You can change the requested temp on the app and change from hybrid to electric and that’s it. Daily, weekly usage etc isn’t available. The electric hot water product doesn’t produce and store enough hot water for general use. Technician has come out 3x and determined it operates as specified but that means we run out of hot water very fast and takes a long time to replenish. Developer: let’s make this app actually useful with good and in depth data, vacation mode, more efficiency, better display of when hot water is available again, etc. I wish I would not have bought this electric hot water heater as it isn’t at all up to the task.

heatherlynn1223 ,

Needs Major Improvement

Maybe it’s because it’s so new, but this app is trash. Unless you have a rate plan with your electric company, you really can’t do much with the app. There’s a “schedule” feature, but all it does is “top your tank off with hot water” at whatever time you set it for. Dumb. Why not create a schedule feature where I can leave the temp at 95° all day when I’m not using it, and then set it to go up to a desired temp at a certain time for bath time, etc. To me, that’s what a schedule feature should do. I try to manually do this, but I’m updating several times a day, and sometimes I forget, then I have colder showers, or I’m paying extra to keep water hot all night when I’m not using it. And half the time, manually changing the temp on the app doesn’t work either. It will say “updating set point” and then when it updates, it’s the same temp I started with. This app definitely needs some hard work. For what I paid for the water heater I know y’all can afford to hire someone to work on this.

Developer Response ,

We appreciate your detailed feedback regarding the app's limitations and apologize for any frustration caused. Your suggestions for an improved schedule feature are valuable, and we'll certainly take them into consideration for future updates. We're actively working on enhancing the app's functionality to better meet your needs. Please ensure you have the latest app version, and if issues persist, contact our customer support at +800-527-1953. Thank you for your understanding and patience.

App Privacy

The developer, A. O. Smith, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info
  • Identifiers

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Usage Data

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

You Might Also Like

HQx Live
Utilities
Rheem
Utilities
VisualSupport - RemoteCall
Utilities
Milwaukee® Pipeline Inspection
Utilities
ServiceTitan Mobile
Utilities
Rheem EcoNet
Utilities