Screenshots

Description

ExplorOz Traveller has earned its reputation as the most popular GPS mapping app for people that love touring, camping, and exploring and is suitable for all on-road and 4x4 adventures, no matter where you go in Australia.

The app includes maps, trek plans, & POIs but also allows you to add more with support to download the very latest 2019 EOTopo maps for the whole of Australia to expand the offline map zoom to enjoy offline mapping at 144K scale (Australia's most detailed offline map complete with campsites, roads, and both street level mapping & 4WD tracks).

App users can also create new POIs as required for navigation or to share, and there is support for GPX waypoint import.

App includes a Snail Trail feature (to display the path you have travelled on the map screen). This assists with backtracking if you get lost. If you want to enable Track Logging (to send your position data and path travelled to a map on the ExplorOz website for family/friends to follow your journey as you travel, then sign up for Tracking via Membership).

MAPS
Maps are included for the whole of Australia. The app features a simple option to view/switch maps from 3 different sources:
1. EOTopo maps are available both online and offline*
2. Streets & Paths maps - online only
3. Satellite maps - online only
The map screen will automatically switch to display the offline map when service is disconnected.

OFFLINE USAGE
The app provides active navigation without the need for internet but requires GPS. The Base Map offline offers Level 9 (overzoom to 10) so if you require additional zoom for more detail offline you will need to purchase/download the EOTopo offline map pack. This will allow you to download the 577K Australia map (provides Level 11, with Level 12 overzoom) PLUS the 144K map packs (144K East, 144K Central, 144K West) for max detail on Level 13 (with Levels 14-16 overzoom).

If you don’t have an EOTopo license, the only offline map you will have access to is the Base Map - max zoom Level 9. This base map covers the whole of Australia at a scale of 1:2.3 million and is intended purely to allow a basic offline operation and basic overview map of Australia without detailed zoom.

The EOTopo 2019 map licence is an additional AU $49.99. EOTopo 2019 requires 4.38GB storage.

TREK NOTES & PLACES
The app includes the full set of 187 Australia-wide ExplorOz Trek Notes. These provide detailed preparation information, driving directions for the route, POIs along the route with suggestions for where to stay, things to see. Includes all the iconic routes such as Simpson Desert, Cape York, Tanami Track, Birdsville Track, Canning Stock Route, Gibb River Road and more. Also included is the full set of verified ExplorOz Places, which appear on the map as overlay markers showing camps, roadhouses, POIs etc.

AUTO-ROUTING
Turn-turn driving directions can be built in the app for Place to Place navigation but only whilst you have an online connection. Once you put more than 1 Place in your nav plan, you will be able to SAVE. Your saved plan becomes stored in the TREKS section of the app as a Private Trek. You can open your Private Treks when offline to enjoy use of the turn-by-turn directions for offline navigation following your planned route.

SNAIL TRAIL
You can activate the Snail Trail feature as an overlay feature in the map. This draws a line on your map showing the path you travel. The Snail Trail will continue to record and display until you clear it.

TRACK LOGGING
This is a background feature that operates when the app is running and tracking is enabled. No internet is required. Position data is collected in real-time and stored in your device. When your device is online, position data is synced to your online account. This allows family/friends to view your tracking map as you travel.

BATTERY USE
Continued use of GPS running in the background can decrease battery life.

What’s New

Version 3.8.2

Updates Applied
- Adjusted Place cluster sizes on zoom 13 and above
- Corrected issue with Navigation (voice and step skipping)
- Additional code refactor in Places services (overlays and photos)

Ratings and Reviews

4.1 out of 5
47 Ratings

47 Ratings

peterg1 ,

A good app to understand and use

I have always believed with apps, that if I can not use the app intuitively within 5 minutes..then I trash it.
This is not one of those type of navigation, explore GPS apps you need a manual and a heap of patience to use.
It is within a few minutes you can understand the processes of this app and how to use it.
It needs some polishing.. it can be expensive to get some in app purchases to gain more detail..but the upgrades are fluid and the body of the app does not lose its simplicity.
Quite a good navigation app.

Redunes ,

Could Be A Great App

This app is quite useable overall, but needs some major improvements. Being constantly told to reset location services to allow 'always' is very very annoying. The app developer has said there is nothing they can do about this problem, but that is nonsense. It doesn't just happen when you open the app. It can happen just about anytime you touch the screen when using the app. Hema and Mud Map apps don't have this issue with location services. If you don't have any background tracking features turned on, why should the app 'always' have access to your location data? A total privacy invasion. If you have allowed location services 'while using app', then why is that never enough? No other map app I have demands this constant access to my location, even when not using the app. Please fix this. The maps included when you purchase the premium pack are quite good and detailed, but the rendering of each level of map scale is only good at one zoom level. Zoom above or below the optimum zoom level for that map scale and rendering of the map is poor and fuzzy. I'm using iPad Air2. With some refinement and location service bug fixes, I would rate the app much higher.

Developer Response ,

Hi Redunes, I do recall discussing this with you and I appreciate your feedback. Happy to further explain each of your comments. As you know, if you accept the request for location services at the time of installation you will not get these constant messages. The reason for the permission request is to ensure that if you take a phone call, or minimise or put the app in the background, that vital processes don't stop - eg. the position manager data recording, snail trail and voice/navigational guidance features all require the location services, not just background tracking. Technically, this is all coupled with battery management and by implementing a foreground only process will have serious impact on battery run time.
The issue with map rendering is that each odd level (eg. 9, 11, 13) is the 100% resolution of that scale, so 144K is zoom level 13. The even zoom levels are an overzoom (so yes there will be a little pixelation visible) but this is to give user access to enlarge without requiring significantly larger file downloads.

Onlynicknamefree ,

A great app.

I’ve used this app for a few big trips now and highly rate it for its detail, information and ease of use. I don’t normally take the time to review apps which in hindsight is wrong as it’s the first thing I look at before most of my purchases. I felt compelled to write this because we all usually take the time to report the negatives. I recently updated to the latest maps and because of my incompetence had a problem. It was refreshing to be able to get onto help to sort it out straight away. So I can add great backup service to the list of positives for this app.

Thank you.

Developer Response ,

Thank you so much for your positive review. Yes you are correct, sadly people generally only feel compelled to write reviews when they are upset.

Information

Seller
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd
Size
32.3 MB
Category
Navigation
Compatibility

Requires iOS 9 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2019 I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd
Price
$59.99
In-App Purchases
  1. Premium Offline Maps $49.99
  2. EOTopo 2019 App Version $49.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

You May Also Like