Screenshots

Description

Explore with confidence in any Australian location – use for street navigation, road trips, major 4WD expeditions, hiking, cycling and horse trail riding.

See exactly where you are on detailed maps, track your activity, and save the route map where you’ve been to share with others, or retrace your journey again.

Simple to use but loaded with high-tech features and quality content to help you plan and navigate your own way.

Just follow your progress along the map or create a navigation plan and get guided prompts and turn-by-turn navigation whether you are in the city or the bush.

Download the ExplorOz Places & Treks databases for easy access to facts and POI map markers at your fingertips when you are offline.

Your ExplorOz user account ensures that any Places, Treks, and Track Logs that you create in the app will auto-sync for safe backup. You can also download all your personal Places, Treks & Track logs to any other devices you wish to use.

Interactive POI markers on the map help you see what’s around you, even when offline. Ideal for making an exit plan when things go wrong.

Offers both online and offline map sources, all the main app features are fully functional when offline provided the app can access GPS from satellites. iPhones and Cellular iPads have inbuilt GPS but Wifi only iPad will require an external GPS connected via Bluetooth, or Lightning Connector for offline use.

When you open the app for the first time, the Getting Started Guide will guide you to the Data Manager where you will download the ExplorOz Places & Treks databases and the Base Map Pack (whole of Australia offline map). Additional offline map detail is available when you purchase and download EOTopo 2019, cost AU$49.99.

The app includes automatic background position recording anytime the app is running (whether it’s the active open app or running in the background). The app also includes a tracking feature to display the position data as a Snail Trail you can view on the map as you move.

You can create Track Logs when a trip has finished using the stored position data. Track Logs show a map where you’ve been and can be shared with other people or selected to display on the map to retrace your trip another time.

TRACKER
App users with an ExplorOz Member account (12 month subscription from AU $29.95) can enable auto-syncing of the position data to their online account for backup using the Tracker feature in the app. If desired, Members can set up an active tracking map for others to view their trip progress, including numbered overnight stop locations, speed of travel, daily avg statistics etc. Members can also create Status posts with photos and text that sync to the active tracking map.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS:
For use on Wifi iPads you will require an external GPS receiver for offline tracking. GPS usage can decrease battery life.

What’s New

Version 5.1.1

Updates Applied
- Private Place Group filter on Map Layers control missing in 5.1.0
- Speed Panel - removed minus button now minimise via double click/tap
- Position Formats added UTM & MGRS

Ratings and Reviews

4.2 out of 5
114 Ratings

114 Ratings

peterg1 ,

A good app to understand and use

I have always believed with apps, that if I can not use the app intuitively within 5 minutes..then I trash it.
This is not one of those type of navigation, explore GPS apps you need a manual and a heap of patience to use.
It is within a few minutes you can understand the processes of this app and how to use it.
It needs some polishing.. it can be expensive to get some in app purchases to gain more detail..but the upgrades are fluid and the body of the app does not lose its simplicity.
Quite a good navigation app.

Redunes ,

Could Be A Great App

This app is quite useable overall, but needs some major improvements. Being constantly told to reset location services to allow 'always' is very very annoying. The app developer has said there is nothing they can do about this problem, but that is nonsense. It doesn't just happen when you open the app. It can happen just about anytime you touch the screen when using the app. Hema and Mud Map apps don't have this issue with location services. If you don't have any background tracking features turned on, why should the app 'always' have access to your location data? A total privacy invasion. If you have allowed location services 'while using app', then why is that never enough? No other map app I have demands this constant access to my location, even when not using the app. Please fix this. The maps included when you purchase the premium pack are quite good and detailed, but the rendering of each level of map scale is only good at one zoom level. Zoom above or below the optimum zoom level for that map scale and rendering of the map is poor and fuzzy. I'm using iPad Air2. With some refinement and location service bug fixes, I would rate the app much higher.

Developer Response ,

Hi Redunes, I do recall discussing this with you and I appreciate your feedback. Happy to further explain each of your comments. As you know, if you accept the request for location services at the time of installation you will not get these constant messages. The reason for the permission request is to ensure that if you take a phone call, or minimise or put the app in the background, that vital processes don't stop - eg. the position manager data recording, snail trail and voice/navigational guidance features all require the location services, not just background tracking. Technically, this is all coupled with battery management and by implementing a foreground only process will have serious impact on battery run time.
The issue with map rendering is that each odd level (eg. 9, 11, 13) is the 100% resolution of that scale, so 144K is zoom level 13. The even zoom levels are an overzoom (so yes there will be a little pixelation visible) but this is to give user access to enlarge without requiring significantly larger file downloads.

Onlynicknamefree ,

A great app.

I’ve used this app for a few big trips now and highly rate it for its detail, information and ease of use. I don’t normally take the time to review apps which in hindsight is wrong as it’s the first thing I look at before most of my purchases. I felt compelled to write this because we all usually take the time to report the negatives. I recently updated to the latest maps and because of my incompetence had a problem. It was refreshing to be able to get onto help to sort it out straight away. So I can add great backup service to the list of positives for this app.

Thank you.

Developer Response ,

Thank you so much for your positive review. Yes you are correct, sadly people generally only feel compelled to write reviews when they are upset.

App Privacy

The developer, I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd, indicated that the app's privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer's privacy policy.

Data Not Collected

The developer does not collect any data from this app.

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like