Description

As the UK’s leading flatsharing service, we’ve helped over 10,000,000 people to find their perfect flatmate or flatshare. With our apps, you can do it all while on-the-go.

Repeatedly featured by Apple in the categories of Your New Home, Apps for the Weekend, What’s Hot, and Popular Apps and Games. Rated by The Sunday Times as one of the top apps on the App Store.

SUITABLE FOR EVERYONE

Whether you’re starting university, relocating to the UK, tired of living alone, weighing up what to do with an empty room, or, quite simply, searching for another flatmate or flatshare, we’re the service for you.

UNRIVALLED CHOICE

With thousands of flatsharing opportunities to choose from in London, Manchester, Birmingham, Leeds, Edinburgh, Glasgow, and right across the UK, you’ll be able to find your perfect flatmate or flatshare.

OUR PHILOSOPHY

Experience has taught us that flat sharing is as much about the people as it is about the property. To help you find the best of both, we provide unparalleled tools, choice, and support. As a result, someone finds a flatmate or flatshare every 3 minutes.

HELP & SUPPORT

Our award-winning customer support team are here to help you with your search. If you require support, come across a problem, or want to provide feedback, you can get in touch using our new feedback option at the bottom of the home screen.

What’s New

Version 5.43.4

In this update, we’ve introduced two new options to conversations. You’ll see notes can now be added to them. Only you will see what you've written though. You'll also be able to add labels. To get you started, we’ve included a set of our own — like Suitable, Maybe, Viewing Arranged, & Waiting for Paperwork — but you can add others too.

As always, we'd love to hear your thoughts on the things we can do to improve our app. You can get in touch using the feedback option on the Home screen.

Ratings and Reviews

4.6 out of 5
40.4K Ratings

40.4K Ratings

B BM ,

Bold advertising took 1 day

I purchase bold advertising each time I use SpareRoom and I’ve been running a three bed longterm lodging house for a long time. I have never had everyone move out within a month before. This time with SpareRoom within 24hrs I had 7 viewings booked, 6 for my next available day off. I turned one away at the door as I felt they’d mislead me via email, but had four fantastic options from the others that turned up. Three are now signing contracts (with ID and NI proof) to stay; with holding deposits in place for my peace of mind.
Brilliant site helped me improve my home and ongoing life for all of £25.
Thanks SpareRoom you’ve relieved a great weight.

JoshDoctorSax ,

Waste of money & time

This is the worst app I’ve ever used. Spent over two years trying to find a room to rent but being refused by the private landlords, presumably as I had a dog. My dog died before I’ve even managed to find a room to rent and I’ve been searching over various counties, so a huge potential search area. Still can’t find a room, even now not having a pet.
The upgrades I’ve paid, to be able to contact the landlords immediately and not have to wait a week to be able to contact free of charge, are a huge waste of money. I pay the upgrade fee and contact the landlord only to be immediately refused without any reason. The problem with the private housing sector is that landlords can be prejudice & discriminatory. No other business sector is allowed to behave like this. You can’t discriminate and choose your customers. A sad state England is now... the 6th richest country in the world??? And young people have no access to housing and home ownership is a luxury afforded to the wealthy. Ruining peoples life’s as they don’t have access to affordable housing. Hate this app, just constant rejection and it’s a bunch of lunatic landlords that expect you to live in their tiny hideous spare room, but basically pay the mortgage on their entire property for them, whilst having to endure all their stupid rules. What a joke.

Developer Response ,

Hi Josh, thank you for getting in touch and sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear you were denied rooms due to having a dog.

Here at SpareRoom we encourage landlords to rethink their preferences on pets, we even launched a think tank regarding this which you can read about here https://blog.spareroom.co.uk/our-mission-to-encourage-pet-friendly-renting/. Unfortunately, we can't stop a landlord having a preference due to allergies or phobias they may have.

The upgrade service on SpareRoom is optional, you are able to contact Landlords without having to pay, you can contact all Free to Contact advertisers in your area. You can also post an advert for free so others can contact you directly.

We're sorry to hear you've not been successful in finding a room on our site, we're available 7-days a week and would be happy to help you get the most from our service.

Please call us on 0161 768 1162 or email us at customerservices@spareroom.co.uk.

Best wishes,
The SpareRoom Team

DylanPhoto ,

Add Points to Adverts

App & website.
Luck/Kudos Points to Profiles & Adverts

Receive points that rank up your desirability for both people looking for a room and flatmates.

This can work for both really well. Instead of just having ’new’ and ‘new today’ adverts. People that pay can have their popularity shown.
On the map their house pin can go from blue for recently added to green really popular.

People looking for a room, their ad’s can be filtered by popularity. They receive kudos or luck* points from landlords/tenants after a viewing.

These points can only be received if both people giving and receiving them have messaged each other or have both click the ‘interested’ in each other.

THE IMPORTANCE OF THIS FEATURE

It can help sell rooms that might not even of been looked at on the maps because it was just outside of the area a potencial tenants were looking.

And helps landlord/flatmates choose the right people to arrange for viewings based off the hundreds of messages they receive.

Helps people looking for a room that just aren’t getting lucky even though they’re trying really hard and have been looking for months, this helps them have their hard work shown for the efforts. But only if they aren’t twats.

Again this feature is only available to people who pay. You can still receive kudos/luck points if you don’t pay, you just don’t get the ability to see your own points and others.

Developer Response ,

Hi Dylan, thanks for getting in touch with your feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your comments and suggestions of a point system. We'll make sure this is passed onto our Feedback Team.

Best wishes,
The SpareRoom Team

App Privacy

The developer, Flatshare Ltd, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Used to Track You

The following data may be used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies:

  • Purchases
  • Identifiers

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Purchases
  • Location
  • Contact Info
  • User Content
  • Search History
  • Identifiers
  • Sensitive Info
  • Diagnostics

Data Not Linked to You

The following data may be collected but it is not linked to your identity:

  • Location
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data
  • Diagnostics

Privacy practices may vary based on, for example, the features you use or your age. Learn More

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

Featured In

More By This Developer

You May Also Like