U by Moen Smart Shower 4+

Moen Incorporated

Designed for iPhone

    • 1.7 • 132 Ratings
    • Free

iPhone Screenshots


• U by Moen shower is a Wi-Fi/cloud-based digital shower system that offers mobile connectivity
• To create a personalized showering experience, U features three ways to control your shower: voice, phone and controller
• With voice activation, you can activate your shower with the sound of your voice through Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit and Siri, as well as Google Assistant.
• Download the U by Moen smartphone app to personalize and control your shower from your smartphone
• Through the app you can:
o create up to 12 personalized shower presets, including name, greeting, outlets, temperature, shower timer and notifications
o turn on your shower from bed and have the shower pause once it warms up to your desired temperature, saving time and water until you are ready to step in
o customize system wide settings such as outlet icons, which Wi-Fi network the system is connected to, language and time zone
• The U by Moen shower system includes a digital valve that offers precise temperature control and a Wi-Fi connected digital shower controller that provides feedback on the shower status through on-screen messaging and notifications in the U by Moen app. It also pairs with Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit and Siri, as well as Google Assistant for a seamless, integrated experience.
• To learn more about U by Moen shower, visit www.moen.com/smart-home/smart-shower

What’s New

Version 3.5.1

Miscellaneous bug fixes to improve App experience

Ratings and Reviews

1.7 out of 5
132 Ratings

132 Ratings

Parachutepilot7 ,

App Disconnected Shower now won’t Reconnect.

Purchased the shower controller and valve about a year and half ago and the app and entire system has worked great until now. It seems there is no option to fix it. It started when we received a new Wi-Fi router. I went into the settings to change the name and password on the app and once that was done, it acted like it was factory reset and now we can not reconnect the app at all. I wouldn’ t complain, we could just turn the shower on and let it heat up using the wall controller like old times, but…….. it only operates about 4 to 5 showers before shutting down. Now every 4 to 5 shower we have to go out in the hall closet where the valve is and unplug the controller from power and wait about 15 seconds before plugging it back in. It will then work for another 4 to 5 showers before repeating the process. The app is broken and freezes when trying to reconnect it won’t let us do anything. Phones aren’t old either. Using this on iPhone 12pro max

Developer Response ,

Hello Parachutepilot7. We appreciate your taking the time to review the U by Moen Smart Shower app. We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd be happy to take a look at this for you and troubleshoot any issues you are currently experiencing to find a satisfactory warranty resolution. For technical and warranty assistance, please contact Moen Plus Support at 1-800-289-6636; our current business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am - 7:00 pm EST.

TigerDaisy ,

Many wasted hours

So I moved into a new home and my UI Moen shower screen kept turning black every two weeks. We called electricians, we called plumbers, and nothing worked, and it kept going out even with a dedicated circuit. Then we called Moen to assist us with troubleshooting and they told me that it was on my end and that it was my problem because I have 5 GHz Wi-Fi box and not 2.4 GHz. so then I was able to change my Wi-Fi over to the 2.4 GHz and go through the protocol 50 times to connect and I always get to step three of three and it times out and does not connect. So it’s not me it is this system and I have an iPhone and the text said to make sure to click on the droid and not the iPhone iOS. She said trust me. This is what works and of course that is not the case and I am getting so tired of calling service people and trying to set the system up myself with no help. I want a new system sent because I am done and this is the only way I can control the water into my shower room. It hadn’t been installed in my brand new house way before I ever moved in, and it wasn’t my decision, I would never get this ever ever….

Developer Response ,

Hello TigerDaisy. Thank you for taking the time to post. We are sorry to hear about your experience with your Moen Smart Shower and connecting to your home Wi-Fi. The router you are connecting to must be compatible with 802.11 b/g/n and the network needs to be operating on 2.4 GHz with WPA/WPA2 security. Make sure the network you are connecting to is not hidden and has a password. Our product specialists would be delighted to continue to work with you and find a satisfactory warranty resolution. You can contact us directly at smarthome@moen.com or 1-844-633-8356.

zbigg2 ,

App works but Alexa integration is very poor

Making the presets in the app is easy and they work great. I’m heavily into smart home integration with Alexa and Alexa routines. I was able to get one preset to work with Alexa. I can say “start R*****n’s Shower” and it starts both heads I have connected at the preset temp just like I want. The second preset I cannot get to work at all. Accept for that one preset that works, it defaults to turning on one shower head at 100degs. This happens outside the presets as well. Even if you ask Alexa “tell moen to turn on the shower to 107 degrees”. It looks like you can try to add the smart home device to an Alexa routine and select the heads and temp you want directly in the Alexa app without a mownpreset. it doesn’t seem to recognize those settings at all and you get the default one head at 100. Hoping the Moen team can teach this thing learn to talk to Alexa a bit better. I tried every command moen tells you to use and it’s always one head at 100deg but for that first preset.

Developer Response ,

Hello zbigg2. We appreciate you taking the time to review the U by Moen Smart Shower app. We're sorry to hear about your experience with using your U by Moen Smart Shower with Alexa. We would love to assist with any issues you are currently experiencing. For technical assistance, please contact Moen Plus Support at 1-800-289-6636; our current business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am - 7:00 pm EST.

App Privacy

The developer, Moen Incorporated, indicated that the app’s privacy practices may include handling of data as described below. For more information, see the developer’s privacy policy.

Data Linked to You

The following data may be collected and linked to your identity:

  • Contact Info
  • Identifiers
  • Usage Data
  • Diagnostics

Privacy practices may vary, for example, based on the features you use or your age. Learn More

More By This Developer

You Might Also Like

Brilliant Smart Home System
Flo by Moen™
Watts® Home
Sub-Zero Group Owner’s App
TaHoma North America