Circuit (formerly The Free Ride) and FRED San Diego is a fun and easy way to get around. Best of all - you guessed it - it's free to ride! By using eco-friendly, electric cars and collaborating with innovative municipalities and great sponsors, Circuit offers a fun and useful service at no cost to the consumer.

Users can request rides on-demand, or just wave a car down. Select pick-up and drop-off locations, receive real-time driver ETAs, and have the ability to connect with transportation providers anywhere within the coverage areas. The cars are fun and even come equipped with photo booths. Never has getting around been more interactive or exciting!

For more information, please visit our website at

Service is available in CA, CO, FL, NY, NJ, MA and TX

What’s New

Version 3.0.3

Performance improvements

Ratings and Reviews

3.3 out of 5
97 Ratings

97 Ratings

la la la la la dee dah ,

Love the idea but it’s not without glitches

I think this is such a wonderful idea to help reduce traffic within the areas of downtown San Diego. I’ve had trouble catching a ride using the app and it’s very hit or miss for me. When I catch a ride in a timely manner and I have a pleasant driver it’s the most wonderful thing. However, I have been left with a very bad feeling ever since one of the drivers made an off-the-cuff comment about how local San Diegans are cheap and never tip whereas tourists always do tip. I have to be honest, I didn’t realize tipping was a part of the experience and I awkwardly fumbled for some some dollars in my wallet only to find that I didn’t have any, which made the remainder of my ride incredibly awkward for me. I didn’t want to tell her I was local nor did I want to tell her I was a tourist because either way I would be judged. Quite frankly I haven’t taken a ride since and I used to use it all the time; that is, when I could catch a ride. That experience just made me feel very awkward and awful and I haven’t quite been able to shake it.

Developer Response ,

Hello, we’re sorry to hear about your experience and how it has made you feel, we never want our riders to feel uncomfortable especially due to the actions of our drivers. Our drivers always appreciate tips but they are never mandatory and always at the discretion of the rider, we are unable to encourage or solicit tips in San Diego so this may have contributed to your confusion. If you would like to give us any other information or continue the conversation please don't hesitate to send an email to We hope you will join us for another ride again soon!

piontkowski ,

App still runs in background for no reason

Have used the service from other people’s phones and the rides are good and convenient. This app is still bad though. Just downloaded for myself last night. This morning my phone battery is 1/4 of what it was last night and the battery settings page says this app ran for 10.5 hrs in the background. My settings are the same for this app as other ride sharing apps I have: background app refresh is off and location services are set for “while using”. But while those apps suspend properly after pressing the home button, this one sees fit to keep running in the background somehow. Doing what exactly? Luckily swiping up stopped the bleeding.

Developer Response ,

Hello rpiontko, thanks for the review and for the feedback we're glad to hear from you! thanks for the review and for the feedback we're glad to hear from you! We're happy to let you know we've released an update that should curb battery drain and we are continuing to work on further updates that will increase efficiency. If the issue persists please contact us at We hope to have you along for another ride soon!

SueMentors ,

Great Service for San Diego visitors-and it really IS free!!

Surpassed when or hotel told us about this app and service. It had exceeded or expectations because it's literally 'pick you up wherever you are' and 'drop you off at any place within the service range.' we waited longer for 1 pickup, perhaps because it was lunchtime and we were down at Seaport village. Even so, the app tells you the driver's name and ETA and keeps you updated with alerts as well as on the map.

This service alone has made our downtown SD stay pretty seamless, very efficient, and so pleasant without parking or traffic hassles.


Developer Response ,

Hello SueMentors, thank you for the review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your rides and we look forward to having you along for more soon.


The Free Ride Inc
100.1 MB

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.



Age Rating
Rated 4+
© 2017 The Free Ride, Inc.


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like