iPhone Screenshots

Description

Donkey Republic is a self-service bike rental system, available in more than 50 cities, 24/7.

Use this app to find and unlock a Donkey Bike near you. Simply connect to the electronic lock on the bike via Bluetooth on your smartphone. You can take your bike for short trips or even use it for up to 14 days. During the rental, you can lock and unlock your bike as many times as you want, and use it as if it were yours.
If you are done cycling, you must bring the Donkey Bike to an available drop-off location, press 'End rental' and lock the bike. Drop-off locations are shown in the app with dark blue pins on the map.

Some of the features in the app:
• switch bikes with a few taps in case you have issues with your bike
• troubleshooting and customer support
• sign up for a local membership if you need more Donkey for less.

Useful information:
We only need your GPS location to help our system locate the bike - this way helping you, the next rider and us to find it.

In 2018 Donkey riders...

• Rode 2,4M kilometres on two wheels
• That is equivalent to more than 60 times around the Earth
• and three times to the moon and back (with a little detour)

Hooves up for another great year in the saddle!

If you have questions or problems, you are always welcome to contact us at support@donkeyrepublic.com.

What’s New

Version 10.0.2

Chapter six: Not even greedy little Tom
For as long as they could remember, the local townsfolk were used to paying for their Donkey rides with gold and silver--but how safe could one's gold truly be under one’s pillow? The mighty wizards and fairies crafted a spell so powerful that even greedy little Tom couldn’t get his grubby mits on the townsfolk’s gold when they paid for Donkey rides.
For those of mankind who still prefer bullet points:
- Adding SCA (strong customer authentication) to the app.

Ratings and Reviews

3.0 out of 5
70 Ratings

70 Ratings

John T. In Madrid ,

Idea is great, but app needs work.

If you are lucky enough to get a good bike or two on the first try, I’m sure it’s a great app. The problems arise when you get a bike with low tire air pressure or some other problem and need to change it. After walking over to find a replacement bike, the app didn’t allow me to switch them because it never acknowledged the existence of the replacement bike. Also, the app does not allow you to add new rental bikes after your initial reservation, which presents problems for a family of four or more, for example, if you can’t find enough bikes in one spot.

Steven16502 ,

Took 40 minutes to drop off bikes

I used this app in Berlin and when we began the app actually seemed to work well well. We got the bikes because they were slightly cheaper than the others. Once we actually began to bike, we realized that the app was very poorly designed and near impossible to use. The locking function has to be used several times before actually working.

Somehow, getting rid of the bikes was even worse than locking them. It took us over half an hour to get rid of four bikes, and this was compounded because some of the bikes had to be taken to a separate drop off site. The app also tried directing me to a singular drop off site (3 miles away) instead of the dozens directly around. I tried this on several phones, and even reinstalling the app but the problem continued. Very faulty app and not worth saying .5 euros over a day. Just use jump bikes.

missler ,

Worst bike share ever. I’ve used a lot..

DO NOT USE DONKEY BIKE, your return may not register and you may continue to be charged.

I used this bike for 30 minutes yesterday. Arrived at my destination, locked it, received confirmation via app that the ride ended. My colleague parked their own donkey bike at the same location, locked and received the same confirmation. They’ve had no problems, I’ve had nothing but.

Today I received multiple notifications and a text that my 30 minute rental was still active and being charged €30+(!!). I’ve sent multiple messages through the app and replied to their text, no response. I did however receive an automated notice that my card would be charged €180 if the bike wasn’t found.

I actually stopped several people on the street today who were about to unlock their own donkey bikes. I told them about the nightmare issues I’ve had and pointed them toward the nearby MVG bikes instead. No ripoff return issues and they have 8 speed hubs vs the 3 speed hubs on donkey bike. I’ll keep doing that and I’ll also refuse the CC charges from donkey bike until this issue is resolved. I guess the very low rating is no surprise, I should have checked before renting.

This app needs serious improvements. Good luck with retaining users enough to fund those..

Developer Response ,

Hi, more than anything else we would like to express how sorry we are to hear that you had such a bad experience, this situation is the last thing that we would like our riders to go through. Locking the bike and pressing 'end rental' starts the process but it is important to keep the app open until you see the receipt pop up.

We will always happily offer refunds to any rider who has this issue, and kindly ask that you send us an email at support@donkeyrepublic.com so that we can send you a full refund.

Thanks.

Information

Seller
DonkeyRepublik IVS
Size
119.8 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad (4th generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Air Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 2 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Air 2 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 3 Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad mini 4 Wi-Fi + Cellular, 12.9-inch iPad Pro Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (9.7-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad (5th generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9‑inch) (2nd generation) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (10.5-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad Wi-Fi + Cellular (6th generation), iPad Pro (11-inch) Wi-Fi + Cellular, iPad Pro (12.9-inch) Wi‑Fi + Cellular, iPad mini (5th generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular, and iPad Air (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Cellular.

Languages

English, Catalan, Dutch, French, German, Hungarian, Icelandic, Spanish

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2019 Donkey Republic IVS
Price
Free

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like